We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and scenic”
Review of Black Rock Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitowaning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Rock Resort
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh and scenic”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our recent visit to Black Rock Resort on Manitoulin Island. The cabin was clean and well equipped. It is set on the end of a farm road on South Bay about 5 km from the town of Manitowaning. The campground includes both cabins and trailers. The swimming included clear water in the bay although the bottom is weedy. A swimming raft is available.

It was a great spot for us to spend some time.

The long-time owner Karen was very welcoming.

It was a first visit to the island. We will be back. We recommend Black Rock.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gandalfnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The correct address is 35 Cowans Side Rd.
Reservation went smoothly.
The location is good.
It was no instructions about the facility upon arrival.
Poor privacy in the campground area.
The recycling, compost area and washrooms need improvement.
See pics attached.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Rock_Resort, Owner at Black Rock Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful location of our resort. Thank you for posting pictures. We always enjoy seeing the resort from the eyes of our guests. The address is 35 Leask Lane which is located at the end of Cowans Side Road if that helps to clear up and confusion. Thank you for the feedback and we will try to ensure better guidance especially for the camp ground upon arrival. We appreciate your comments about the recycling and compost areas. This is new to us as well. Our municipality recently changed the guidelines for recycling and we are trying to get everything sorted based on our new regulations. It is still a work in progress and we hope that you will join us again next year and see the improvements that we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for two nights in August 2013. Our cabin was exceptionally clean and had a great kitchen with every pot, pan, and cooking utensil we could need. The beds were not exceptionally comfortable but we still slept very well.

I am severely allergic to mosquitoes and I did not get bit once during my stay, not even when we were out until 10:30 p.m.!

The grounds are gorgeous and while the cottages are very close together, it was still quiet. It was clear that other families had been to this resort many times and would keep coming back.

We rented a canoe for the afternoon and it was only $20. We also went for a nice 5k run on nearby roads.

We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherbear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Rock_Resort, Owner at Black Rock Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we do have many families that return every year some are even second and third generations. This is the first year we have offered the canoe rental and we are hoping to expand and have more rental options for next year. Hopefully we see you again next summer. It was a pleasure meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitowaning
16.0 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
60 reviews
21.3 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
5.2 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
35 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lodge
Cedarwood Lodge
#18 of 33 in Manitoulin Island
22 reviews
63.5 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Resort

Property: Black Rock Resort
Address: 35 Leask Ln, Manitowaning, ON P0P 1N0, Manitowaning, Ontario P0P 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Manitowaning
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Manitowaning
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hildur and Sverre Kjevik emigrated from Norway and unexpectedly fell in love with Black Rock Resort. In 1963 they purchased the family-run business because the serenity and beauty of the property reminded them of their Norweigian riverside farm. Their daughter, Karen, now carries on their dream by sharing Black Rock with visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Rock Resort Manitowaning, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing