We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Erie Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
HAMILTON
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“nice small hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

stayed a few weeks ago had room # 13 small rooms but were not in the room often
enjoyed Port Dover tried different places all were great

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
24
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for one night. I booked the room mid week for the following saturday and was fortunate enough
to get a room as they are generally booked solid through the summer weekends.
( and you must reserve 2 nights for these weekends). Okay here we go.....
ROOM: we had a queen bed with a comfortable mattress and basic run of the mill
furniture. Nothing fancy here....after all it is a motel ..probably intended for fisherman
and families years ago. Basic and clean bathroom, plenty of hot water, no soaker tub
just your average. Television was a newer flat screen but small 20" so bring your glasses. We had a window that would open for a breeze, but it was hot and humid so the AC was on most of the time and it is an older style unit and noisy, but it does the job.
This is not a very big motel, there are 2 floors. We stayed in room 15 which is at the far corner next to the fire exit. You can exit here for faster exit to the beach and facilities.
Plus you feel safer in the event of a fire or emergency. If I went back I would book the main floor because you can sit right out in front of your room and people watch and enjoy
the scenery. I believe all rooms are non smoking. If you smoke, its best to book the main floor,as to sit and puff.Book facing roadside! There is a huge golf green class lawn right in front of you and it is elevated. bring your boce ball game..its perfect for that.
RESTAURANTS: We had dinner at the COVE in the motel. It is good. 3.5 star. Go here if you want pickerel or perch. It is very good and it is deep fryed. Most of the fish is breaded and fried. They do offer steak and roast beef, but I think most people go here for
fish. Nice ambiance and white table cloths....we spent $80 with half litre wine.
The TERRACE: Same as the COVE but totally different atmosphere. Bring your kids
go for a pint of beer ,dress casual,.Huge round wooden tables, so good for large groups.
Outside of these 2 restaurants, most of the establishments seem to be basic burgers,
fries, fried fish, hot dogs , ice cream etc. Go up the hill and try and make your first right
and look for a CREPE restaurant....it is fantastic! Most main crepes are $12 ...we had a chicken avacodo,cherries,carmelized onions, covered in a maple syrup sauce...AMAZING!
Opposite this restaurant and across from the park is JUSTINES...had excellent eggs
benedict and regular breakfast. $7.50 not bad for this calibre of food.
All in all a good stay, but a tad pricey for the room $124.00 including taxes. But it is prime
time and this place is right in the hub. You can walk everywhere and they have parking which is a bonus .There are not that many places to stay, so I think this is your best bet
if visiting Port Dover. The beach is steps away and the water was warm and shallow.
Great for kids. the beach was crowded , I must say.
This is part of the main draw. Beach, water, family,boating,sight seeing, and LOTS of motorcycles...everywhere. Would I go back to this hotel? NO. Not worth over $100 in my books. I would go back for a day trip no problem. ..as I only live in Hamilton..45 minutes
away. And because there are just too many other places to visit along the coastline....maybe Turkey point next?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle River
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean, but the rooms are very tired and out of date and very over priced. Not even a coffee machine to make a pot in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fallcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Dover hotels

Toronto Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

During a southern Ontario road trip a friend and I stayed here for a night, having been to Port Dover several times and loving the beach town feel, we figured it would be great to just stay one night and take it all in. On top of having a really fun retro 70's dinner in the Cove room dining lounge..complete with waitresses in what appeared to be retro nurses white uniforms, the little hotel was wonderful...this place is CLEAN...as in sparkling..our bathroom that appeared to be recently updated was sparkling, and the rooms although very 'old school' are super clean...considering the price is a steal and the hotel is so convenient to be in the heart of the action in Dover this place is great....You don't have to stay at a modern upscale hotel to have a fantastic vacation. The people are super friendly, easy going and willing to help you in any way they can. This hotel is the essence of Port Dover...stay here and find out!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener,ON
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

True the decor is totally 1972, and I'll go back for that anytime. But the fish dinner was absolutely outstanding. Was there with friends and we all ordered a fish dinner of some sort. Rave reivews from all in our group, including the always popular celery bread. The salad cart is a riot, 5-6 different salads, the jello and horseraish salad was the best!

See you again soon !!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregnkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

First, before I do any sort of review, let me just say this one thing: The bathrooms in the restaurant "sparkled"!! Not just clean, but shining clean. So unusual, and so pleasant. Now: The Erie Beach hotel in Port Dover Ontario has many wall plaques with information and awards. One says it was started in 1946 by the Schneider family and is still run by them today. What makes the dining rooms unique - aside from excellent food - is the decor. One room (I don't have the name) still has long banquettes in gold satin. Really, it looks like a 1950's movie but still in excellent and beautiful condition. The other dining room - The Cove Room - which is where we usually eat has the following: White linen tablecloths, waitresses and waiters in uniforms - white for the women, black pants and white shirts for the men, real flowers on the tables. But neat, casual dress is all that is expected of the patrons. Service is quiet and efficient.
As to the food, first, they have this unusual small, covered salad bar cart which they wheel to your table and leave there for the meal. Like the decor, it is old-fashioned. Ours contained: horseradish jello salad (the recipe is on their website), a vegetable/pickle tray including their own pickled pumpkin, spiced apples, vegetable salad, coleslaw, coconut marshmallow salad, and cucumbers in sour cream. They also have a delicious "celery bread", which has been cut into large squares and is then lightly pan fried.
The menu leans heavily toward fish, especially yellow perch and pickerel, shrimp, scallops and whitefish. They are famous for their perch dinners, and they are excellent.
We never get to dessert after this salad bar and main.
All in all, we go to the Erie Beach restaurant at least 3 times a year (it is 2 hours away from our home) and highly recommend this unusual period piece of a place. Can't speak for the motel rooms, but the restaurant is really "one of a kind". Get a reservation, it is often full on weekends or in the high summer.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We didn't stay at the Erie Beach Hotel, but we dined in the Cove Room, which is exceptional for perch dinners. I just love how your dinner comes with every kind of salad your Grandmother would have served, including marshmallow and jello! Just loved the coconut cream pie for dessert and they make a fantastic martini! There were 9 of us that celebrated my dad's 74th birthday, they even put us in a private room. The service was outstanding, I really can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Dover
7.1 mi away
Best Western Little River Inn
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
89 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#3 of 3 in Simcoe
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clonmel Castle Boutique B&B
Clonmel Castle Boutique B&B
#2 of 9 in Port Dover
18 reviews
10.0 mi away
Long Point Eco-Adventures
Long Point Eco-Adventures
#1 of 1 in Turkey Point
25 reviews
4.7 mi away
Culverdene House
Culverdene House
#1 of 3 in Simcoe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Erie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Erie Beach Hotel

Property: The Erie Beach Hotel
Address: 19 Walker Street, Port Dover, Ontario N0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Port Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Erie Beach Hotel is a family run business spanning three generations. We are located one block from the beach on beautiful Lake Erie and feature a boutique style hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. Best known for our two restaurants, The Cove Room and The Terrace Room, we proudly serve Perch, Pickerel and other homemade, unique menu items such as Celery Bread and Pickled Pumpkin. Our convenient location and amenities make us the perfect choice for your next visit to Port Dover. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Erie Beach Hotel Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing