We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Erie Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Erie Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel is not good value more like a motel than hotel. The rooms are clean but tired looking. There is no fridge or coffee maker in the room and no coffee at reception, big perk you can have free ice! The hair drier in the bathroom was not working. I was very disappointed with the hotel for what we payed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PearlBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    30
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Yes, the perch is delightful but the salad bar trolley car filled with sweet pickled things that even your granny doesn't make anymore, the waitress' uniforms, the paneled walls, the feel of the place, priceless! Check out the cocktail menu, the drink names, to say nothing of the prices, they encourage one to imbibe. And our waitress's name was Laverne! I avoided the Shirley jokes but it was an effort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grahamcares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Although my husband and I live fairly close to Port Dover we seldom get down that way. Today (Monday) we decided to take a sunny drive to the beach and have some lunch. While walking around town we asked 3 or 4 locals the best place to eat. The Erie Beach Hotel and make sure you have the perch, was their response. Although the hotel is an old style (1950's) venue, get over that and have yourself a plate of fresh perch or pickerel. Once again our faith in our memories of good food has been redeemed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We've dined here on many visits to the area and I never quite got round to commenting so....

The food in the Cove Dining room is excellent. It's very retro with the old fashioned salad and dessert trollies however that's part of the attraction for me.

The celery bread is excellent and both the pickled pumpkin and the sour cream marshmallow salad are first class. The hotel happily gave me the recipe for the mallow salad and it now makes a regular appearence at summer events back here in Scotland.

We are a bit boring and nearly always have the perch which is flavourful and fresh.

The staff were attentive and friendly and it has always felt welcoming to me.

Can't comment on the rooms as we have never stayed overnight.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

You want a excellent fish dinner this is the place to go we love it and always have a good time at the Erie Beach.The menu has a great variety to pick from,i love there hot roast beef dinner.A must try is the celery bread yum yum.When in Port Dover this is place to go,there may be a wait for the food when there very busy and they will tell you so,just relax the food makes up for wait.We Recommend it too all,you will go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, On
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My friend and I stopped by for a late lunch and thought it would be fun to have a "girls" week end and go to the summer theater. We went down to reception to inquire about the rooms and the man at the desk was rude and not very forthcoming with any information about events around the town. We left there and proceeded to another hotel and was greeted much better and given the info we wanted. Needless to say we will stay at the other hotel in the summer.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank TinkDundas_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Dover hotels

London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

As a child my parents took us to this exceptional restaurant at least once a year. We always dressed up as this was an upscale restaurant and we dressed accordingly. Now almost 40 years later I still make it a point to travel down to Port Dover to enjoy The Cove Room restaurant. Granted I don't dress up now as times have changed but the exceptional service and the atmosphere here has not. Much of the decor in the restaurant is the same giving it an elegant feel. The tables are still done in cloth table clothes and live flowers adorn each one. The waitresses wear pristine white uniforms while the waiters are in black and white giving the a formal impression. The food is excellent always. I have never had a complaint once in all the times I have eaten their. Their lake erie perch is the best, but everything on the menu is good. The salad cart and celery bread are signature trademarks that have been around since my childhood. I highly recommend their pickled pumpkin! It is delicious and now you can purchase it to take home! The salad cart has all the classics, coleslaw, bean salad, cucumber salad, marshmellow salad, pickle tray, and another signature classic of theirs horseradish jello. Should you enjoy any of the salads they have cards with the recipes to take home as well as on their website. You even get the recipe to make your own pickled pumpkin. Their celery bread is an excellent accompaniment to all their meals and I love it. I always leave satisfied and planning my next trip back just to eat here. I don't mind the 2 hour drive. It is so worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IamTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Dover
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Little River Inn
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#3 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Normandale Century Inn
Normandale Century Inn
#1 of 1 in Normandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
14.9 mi away
Tranquil Moments Bed & Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Culverdene House
Culverdene House
#1 of 2 in Simcoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Erie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Erie Beach Hotel

Property: The Erie Beach Hotel
Address: 19 Walker Street, Port Dover, Ontario N0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Port Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Erie Beach Hotel is a family run business spanning three generations. We are located one block from the beach on beautiful Lake Erie and feature a boutique style hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. Best known for our two restaurants, The Cove Room and The Terrace Room, we proudly serve Perch, Pickerel and other homemade, unique menu items such as Celery Bread and Pickled Pumpkin. Our convenient location and amenities make us the perfect choice for your next visit to Port Dover. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Erie Beach Hotel Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing