We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated and a Dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Erie Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Erie Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outdated and a Dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is not some where i would reccomend again. Out dated terrible damp foisty smell. In desperate need for a face lift. As far as good food Not the Erie beach Hotel.. If your looking for a good place to eat at a reasonable price try Schofileds on Main street or the Dairy bar for perch.. Stay away from the Arbor outrageous prices and the foot longs are terrible/

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ski A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    30
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at this local hotel this past weekend after it being recommended by friends. We were not disappointed. This smaller hotel is right in the centre of town and the staff are very personable. Our room was really clean and just steps from the parking area. The mattress was one of the best I have ever slept on. I understood this is a family run operation for the past three generations. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shoppernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

What a dump. 50 years ago it would be nice. Still same furniture and decor from that time. Mold and mildew smell and visible on bathroom ceiling. Carpet and hall way smelled of urine. Stayed for a hockey tournament and parents met in a room to figure out what to do for the evening and told to quiet down or we would get kicked out at 10 o'clock at night!

Room Tip: Find another place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank scottmady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Dover hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel is not good value more like a motel than hotel. The rooms are clean but tired looking. There is no fridge or coffee maker in the room and no coffee at reception, big perk you can have free ice! The hair drier in the bathroom was not working. I was very disappointed with the hotel for what we payed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PearlBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Yes, the perch is delightful but the salad bar trolley car filled with sweet pickled things that even your granny doesn't make anymore, the waitress' uniforms, the paneled walls, the feel of the place, priceless! Check out the cocktail menu, the drink names, to say nothing of the prices, they encourage one to imbibe. And our waitress's name was Laverne! I avoided the Shirley jokes but it was an effort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grahamcares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Although my husband and I live fairly close to Port Dover we seldom get down that way. Today (Monday) we decided to take a sunny drive to the beach and have some lunch. While walking around town we asked 3 or 4 locals the best place to eat. The Erie Beach Hotel and make sure you have the perch, was their response. Although the hotel is an old style (1950's) venue, get over that and have yourself a plate of fresh perch or pickerel. Once again our faith in our memories of good food has been redeemed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We've dined here on many visits to the area and I never quite got round to commenting so....

The food in the Cove Dining room is excellent. It's very retro with the old fashioned salad and dessert trollies however that's part of the attraction for me.

The celery bread is excellent and both the pickled pumpkin and the sour cream marshmallow salad are first class. The hotel happily gave me the recipe for the mallow salad and it now makes a regular appearence at summer events back here in Scotland.

We are a bit boring and nearly always have the perch which is flavourful and fresh.

The staff were attentive and friendly and it has always felt welcoming to me.

Can't comment on the rooms as we have never stayed overnight.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Dover
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Little River Inn
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#3 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Normandale Century Inn
Normandale Century Inn
#1 of 1 in Normandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
14.9 mi away
Tranquil Moments Bed & Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Culverdene House
Culverdene House
#1 of 2 in Simcoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Erie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Erie Beach Hotel

Property: The Erie Beach Hotel
Address: 19 Walker Street, Port Dover, Ontario N0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Port Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Erie Beach Hotel is a family run business spanning three generations. We are located one block from the beach on beautiful Lake Erie and feature a boutique style hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. Best known for our two restaurants, The Cove Room and The Terrace Room, we proudly serve Perch, Pickerel and other homemade, unique menu items such as Celery Bread and Pickled Pumpkin. Our convenient location and amenities make us the perfect choice for your next visit to Port Dover. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Erie Beach Hotel Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing