We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the worst place I have ever stayed, especially for the price $110.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Erie Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This was the worst place I have ever stayed, especially for the price $110.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The room was very smelly, mildewy and very musty. The carpets were stained and looked like they have never been cleaned other than vacuuming. The room and a double and single bed in it. There was no room. The TV stations kept cutting out and my kids were very upset. I would not recommond it to anyone. Place needs a real overhaul. It is extremely outdated. The doors opened outward and we were unable to open the door and keep it open to let in fresh air. There was a window, but that didn't help much. Breakfast was expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kmh1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
21
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed at the Erie Beach Hotel during Memorial Day long weekend. The town was sleepy so we were fortunate to have ground floor room facing the front. Can definitely see that the owner puts a great deal of care into the grounds. The flowers are already beautiful and should be stunning. Maddie at the front desk was extremely welcoming. The room was well equipped. If I had one criticism it would be the satellite tv stations but you don't visit Port Dover to sit in your room watching tv. Go out and explore. The beach and pier are a block away. Have a perch dinner. Play mini golf. Have ice cream cone. Then back to your room for a restful sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Erie Beach for a long weekend every summer. Yes, it's dated and is more of a motel than hotel, but you can't beat the location and we look forward to sitting out front enjoying a cold beverage, watching our daughter run around on the beautiful huge lawn. Port Dover is a pretty sleepy town, but the beach is fine, the people are friendly and the perch is fabulous!

Give it a miss if you are used to staying at the Hilton, otherwise, give it a try!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freezer_feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is not some where i would reccomend again. Out dated terrible damp foisty smell. In desperate need for a face lift. As far as good food Not the Erie beach Hotel.. If your looking for a good place to eat at a reasonable price try Schofileds on Main street or the Dairy bar for perch.. Stay away from the Arbor outrageous prices and the foot longs are terrible/

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ski A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Dover hotels

Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at this local hotel this past weekend after it being recommended by friends. We were not disappointed. This smaller hotel is right in the centre of town and the staff are very personable. Our room was really clean and just steps from the parking area. The mattress was one of the best I have ever slept on. I understood this is a family run operation for the past three generations. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shoppernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

What a dump. 50 years ago it would be nice. Still same furniture and decor from that time. Mold and mildew smell and visible on bathroom ceiling. Carpet and hall way smelled of urine. Stayed for a hockey tournament and parents met in a room to figure out what to do for the evening and told to quiet down or we would get kicked out at 10 o'clock at night!

Room Tip: Find another place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank scottmady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel is not good value more like a motel than hotel. The rooms are clean but tired looking. There is no fridge or coffee maker in the room and no coffee at reception, big perk you can have free ice! The hair drier in the bathroom was not working. I was very disappointed with the hotel for what we payed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PearlBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Dover
7.1 mi away
Best Western Little River Inn
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#3 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dover House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Clonmell Estate B&B
Clonmell Estate B&B
#2 of 8 in Port Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
4.7 mi away
Culverdene House
Culverdene House
#1 of 3 in Simcoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Erie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Erie Beach Hotel

Property: The Erie Beach Hotel
Address: 19 Walker Street, Port Dover, Ontario N0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Port Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Dover
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Erie Beach Hotel is a family run business spanning three generations. We are located one block from the beach on beautiful Lake Erie and feature a boutique style hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. Best known for our two restaurants, The Cove Room and The Terrace Room, we proudly serve Perch, Pickerel and other homemade, unique menu items such as Celery Bread and Pickled Pumpkin. Our convenient location and amenities make us the perfect choice for your next visit to Port Dover. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Erie Beach Hotel Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing