We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshwater Fish done right!”
Review of Knechtel Foods

Knechtel Foods
Ranked #11 of 42 Restaurants in Port Dover
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Freshwater Fish done right!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Knechtel's is a local favourite, so be prepared to stand in line for a few minutes. The crowd is après beach, so no need to dress up. This is a diner, so expect deep fried food. The perch and pickerel is out of this world good! We ordered the Dover combo--comes with perch, pickerel, fries and salad bar, but if I were to go again, I'd order the fish platter--fish only. The fries are OK, the salad bar isn't good, except for the dilled cucumber salad--just skip all that and go for the fish. Price is very reasonable. Our kids don't like fish, so they ordered hamburgers, which were also excellent. The service was great--as would be expected in this great little town. We will definitely go to Knechtel's again--I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    54
    24
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohsweken, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I were here last week, looking for some good fish and chips. Love the way the restaurant is set up. Nice wooden tables and lots of character. The server was very attentive and quick to take care of us. I ordered the 2 piece haddock & chips. Once our order was placed, we were told to help ourselves to the all-you-can-eat salad bar. It's not big like most, but the salads are home made and very fresh. Love the cucumber salad, and the pickle tray.The food came up quick, and was very hot. Some of the tastiest haddock I have had in some time. We will most definitely be returning again real soon. It doesn't hurt that the beach is right there, either!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish and Chips mmmmm”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great fish and chips! Close the the lake and you can eat outside a picnic tables provided.Too bad about all the styrofoam waste though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cyclists10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dover, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Fish and chips, anyone?”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I love Port Dover and almost always there every summer weekend, cycling or sailing on Lake Erie. The town is cute and has its own distinct ambiance. It does get to be ultra busy in the summer! And it becomes a hub of activity every Friday, the 13th, when more than 20000 bikers converge in this place and the town gets packed with over 200,000 visitors. Crazy, indeed.

Close to the beach is Knechtels, well known for its perch and pickerel fish and chips. Personally, I think the chips are not that greasy. I've had worse.

What I don't like is that the restaurant is dark and hot, the salad bar is always messed up, and not enough attention is given to cleaning it up often. The salad plates are just so teeny-tiny, smaller than saucers, and people are people. They tend to mound all the food up on this small plate.

The wait staff, though, are friendly, despite the busy-ness of the place.

Despite the minuses I listed above, this place seems to be very popular. Expect long line-ups at peak hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathleenR_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Eh?”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

There is nothing particularly outstanding here. food is served with plastic untensils (if you are eating in the inside). Prices are almost that same as the establishment across the street without the view.

At one time Port Dover had various fish and chips kiosks around- long gone. The crop of restaurants around the beach, including this one barely meet the quality the kiosks had.

But for a brief outing at the lake, this is passable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank huronhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knechtel Foods also viewed

Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 

Been to Knechtel Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing