We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place for a quiet getaway with very good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northridge Inn & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundridge
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK place for a quiet getaway with very good food”
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Enjoyed ur stay at the Northridge. This is about an average 3* hotel\inn. The rooms are a little dated and tired but kept clean. There is only 1 sink in the bathroom area. Carpets are tired. It is a great place to chill out & the food is 4.5 star standard (great Elk, Venison etc.). Not much to do in the area though and after 3 days we were glad to move on. Probably a nice place to stay in Autumn (Fall) & just cruise around.

Trevor & Lusia. London UK.

  • Liked — Very good food
  • Disliked — Tired rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Duckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    43
    18
    5
    9
See reviews for
67
104
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Rooms: We stayed in a cabin. It was sufficiently large, but was in dire need of a update. The carpet was very old and really needed to be changed. The washroom had mildew on the wall tiles around the bath. There was a nice jacuzzi tub, but mildew was present around the base of the outside of the tub. We were invited to another cabin and found they had the same problem. The shower in the washroom also had very little pressure. The whole cabin was musty our whole trip despite opening the windows day and night. The beds were comfortable, but again in dire need of attention. The frames on all three beds were partially broken.

Food: Only ate at the restaurant once. It was a buffet and was just ok. It was $35.00/person. They had chicken ,beef and salmon. Beef and salmon were overcooked. The desserts were delicious. There were 2 large groups at the resort when we were there so that is probably the reason for the buffet.

Property: FYI, definition of resort changes once you get north of Hunstville. Resorts north of Huntsville are much more rustic. The property was nice. They had a nice beach and it was sandy and shallow, great for kids. They had a few kayaks and a couple of canoes. It is a large lake, but has no little inlets or islands so canoeing is done along the shore, somewhat scenic, but not terribly interesting. Being a large, deep lake it is not advised to go out in the watercrafts if it is windy. They have a outdoor pool that was warm, but not super clean. The water was clear, but lots of bugs around the inside rim of the pool. . There was a tennis court and I saw lots of people playing. My kids enjoyed chasing frogs and chipmunks are plentiful and friendly.

If you are interested in star gazing this is a great place. We all went out on the dock/pier and enjoyed the clear sky and view of all the stars.

Overall i would not return. The resort really needs a re-vamp.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DyeKap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My wife and I desperately needed some quiet time away from everything and we found exactly what we were looking for at Northridge. The owners, Michael and Brenda were wonderful hosts and always helpful. The package we got included breakfast and dinner and the food was excellent, each morning a cooked breakfast to order and beautifully presented dinners from a rotating menu. I recommend the elk. A very restful and relaxing holiday by a beautiful lake in a wonderful part of Ontario. I highly recommend Northridge as a place to stay for couples or families.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank b-bank0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2008

My husband and I just returned from a four day stay at the Northridge Inn & Resort and can't stop talking about it. NR exceeded all of our expectations in terms of location/grounds, room, food, amenities, and more. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat, this is the place to go!

Room: We stayed in the Eaglesview room (110) - request it if you can. We looked out onto the beach, right next to the outdoor hot tub and sauna. Room is basic (rustic pine walls/carpet) but clean, comfortable and spacious.

Location/Grounds: Absolutely beautiful! Surrounded by trees, clean, private beach w/ soft sand and shallow walkout, amazing dock that extends far out into the lake (perfect for watching sunsets), tennis court, volleyball nets, firepit, etc., etc.

Food: Now, we are definite foodies and found the cuisine excellent! We opted for a package that included breakfast (tons of choice) and dinner (three courses) throughout our stay (well worth it) and were impressed by the selections provided. My hubby loved the Elk (their signature dish), stuffed chicken wrapped in prosciutto and Venison medallions. I thoroughly enjoyed the mandarin orange/spinach salad, flatbread pizza, and the duck breast. Portions are just right and all served w/ fresh grilled vegetables - delicious. Wine list is good and desserts (if you can handle it) are lovely for sharing.

Amenities: Tons to do at NR. Aside from what was mentioned above - the owners, Michael and Brenda have an extensive DVD collection and invite guests to help themselves in the case of a rainy day. Also, various board games are available in the bar if you so choose. There is a pool as well (although we did not make use of it as we opted to stay on the beach).

Other perks: The staff are incredibly warm and friendly. Housekeeping had our room spotless by the time we arrived back from breakfast. The waitress' in the restaurant pace your meal perfectly, are attentive but not overbearing and pay considerable attention to detail. It is obvious the chef loves what he does and is passionate about food - his plate presentation definitely reflected this :) Michael and Brenda really made us feel at home and we are grateful for their hospitality.

We will definitely return to NR. It truly was a relaxation retreat for us and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigitte5113
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2007

What a charming, cozy and well kept inn. The owners strive to ensure your stay is outstanding. The attention to details surpasses that of most. The location is picturesque and beautiful. Would definetely return and recommend this wonderful inn to all. Not to mention their restaurant, named Adrian's ~ top cuisine.

  • Liked — the attention to detail and courtesy from the owners
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigitte5113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2007

Big rolling grounds that lead to a beautiful sandy beach, spacious room with a fire place overlooking the lake. Rooms were clean and the food was excellent. Mike and Brenda were very helpful and hospitable. Would make a great spot to have a wedding or reunion.

  • Liked — Room size and lakeview
  • Disliked — The drive to get there from niagara
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marko9998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

Our stay at the Northridge Inn & Resort was very enjoyable. The attention to detail was outstanding...from the cute bar called Adrian's to the formal dining room dinners...the dining experience was superb, as was the eloquent food that was served.

Brenda and Michael are very charming hosts that give their resort the finest in country charm. A devoted family owned and hands on business that demonstrated how enjoyable country living can be! The lakeside view from the chalet gave us a peaceful and quiet tranquility.

We definitely will be returning to Northridge and highly recommend the large, spacious chalets with an immaculate level of cleanliness and large convenient kitchenettes complete with dishwashers!

Thanks to Michael, Brenda and Adrian for a very wonderful stay!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and lakefront property and dining experience.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank catherinelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundridge
8.8 mi away
Algonquin Motel
Algonquin Motel
#1 of 1 in South River
39 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
#1 of 2 in Magnetawan
21 reviews
24.0 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#12 of 18 in Huntsville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#11 of 21 in Huntsville
41 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Whitestone
The Whitestone
#1 of 1 in Dunchurch
57 reviews
12.4 mi away
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
#1 of 2 in South River
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northridge Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northridge Inn & Resort

Property: Northridge Inn & Resort
Address: 712 Lake Bernard Rd S | Ontario, Sundridge, Ontario P0A 1Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sundridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northridge Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate lakefront Ontario resort just 2.5 Hours north of Toronto. Specializing in weddings and four season getaways. Exceptional dining and lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Northridge Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northridge Hotel Sundridge
Northridge Inn And Resort
Northridge Hotel Muskoka
Northridge Resort Muskoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing