We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in our little village.”
Review of Highlander Brew Co

Highlander Brew Co
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Highlander Brewery is located in South River, in the Almaguin Highlands just north of Muskoka - making Highlander one of the most northerly craft breweries in Ontario. A five-minute drive from the Highway 11 exit will bring you straight to our new brewery on the main street in South River.
South River, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“A gem in our little village.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband has particularly enjoyed the Highander Brewing company. We live in the small village of South River and are always proud to help promote and introduce this ale to new people. We have taken the tour from Brian or Pat and are fortunate to get some advance tastes sometimes of a new brew. Made with pride in South River but more and more people are discovering yet another special thing our village has to offer! Try a bottle!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Curious about what goes into the Twisted Spruce and went to find out.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wasn't sure about it from the outside but the open sign on the door let us know we were at the right spot. Popped our heads in and was welcomed by an employee named Pat who gave us a wonderful and informative tour of the workings of the brewery while we enjoyed a couple of tastings of their offerings. We were glad we made the detour off the highway and made sure not to leave South river without some souvenir bottles of beer to take home

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wishuwereherewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small but mighty!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Cooped up in a cottage on a rainy day we made a great escape to visit this small brewery. Driving up I was a little taken aback by the humble building that housed Highlander, but tamped down my skepticism and parked in their lot. We were immediately greeted by the host, owner and Brew Master Brian Wilson --and given a intimate look at how they brew their particular brand of ale. I had several teens with me and they were skeptical about coming with, but even they enjoyed our time spent there--they may have even learned something:) The time spent was fun and informative and our host was outstanding! I recommend you call ahead--on the days they are bottling they need all hands on deck and can't have tours walking through. Their ale is available at the local LCBO and though I am by no means a connoisseur of ale--even I enjoyed the sample provided! Thank you Brian!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Small Brewery With A Big Heart”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We visited Highlander Brew Co in mid June. Although it is readily apparent that it is a small craft brewery you will not find an owner that takes more pride or interest in his product and in his industry. Brian gave us the tour, patiently answered our questions, and then let us tap off our own free samples. The Scottish Ale produced on site is second to none. A lovely copper coloured ale with a good dose of taffy malt sweetness and hopped in appropriate balance. Because the brewery is limited in staff and growing in popularity you might want to call ahead to make sure that Brian and staff are there and available for the tour. What a lovely treat to find a brewery to visit in such a small town. I would recommend that anyone in the area interested in craft beer, and wanting to support truly local business, drop by for a visit. Most importantly bring some home with you on the way out too! Good luck in the future Brian!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldlevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highlander Brew Co also viewed

South River, Northeastern Ontario
South River, Northeastern Ontario
 
South River, Northeastern Ontario
South River, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Highlander Brew Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing