We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place”
Review of Algonquin Motel

Algonquin Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algonquin Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South River
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We arrived very late, retrieved the key from the office, and were awed by the feel of the place. From the bikes on the roof, to the painted rainbow above the office door, and groovy glass beads, plus beautiful murals inside the room. We stared at a grizzly bear from our bed, and there was a black bear somewhere else in the room. Most important the beds and mattresses were excellent, and we had a great night of sleep. This is a place I would glady return to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobcatnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehul T, Owner at Algonquin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you very very much Bobcatnorth :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

i stayed in room no 6 and it was nice jacuzi and fire place in it.The nice view of lake...omg...awsm experience...will come again such a nice place...good service

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rushit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehul T, Owner at Algonquin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you very very much Rushit G :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Links that don't work. No pictures of rooms. Are you right on a snowmobile trail? How about a map? What's in the area? Rates? Less 'cool' talk and more information. Thanks.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank regboulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehul T, Manager at Algonquin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Hi Dear,
Thank you very very much for let us know about links and other improvement about our website
we are working to get better
without our customers help we really cannot get it better
thanks again
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Love this place. The management is amazing and we always feel like we are well taken care of. Stayed twice and a third time this coming week. The walls murals are different in every room and may be weird but gives it a certain character you aren't about to find anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Good value, convenient, clean, good customer service: what's not to like? Stayed here twice, for three nights each time. Our hosts in the area were leery of the place, both because of its unusual decor and new, untested ownership/management. It was fine. Spare, simple, plain, dated, few amenities, and the weirdest wall art & exterior office decor you'll ever see. It appears that the previous review about cleanliness was a previous management. I'll be back, both because it's less expensive than the alternatives and because it's close to my work there (the alternative is an extra hour each way, each day!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

From the first smile of your front desk employee ( Owner) to the final smile of your front desk employee (Owner), this was the perfect stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff both PM and AM were friendly, helpful and a joy to converse with. Although this is not one of the newest examples of Algonquin Motel, it is a refreshing example of what originally brought us to be repeat customers of your brand.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhaveshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My father passed away and family members came and they made accomidations for all the family . They even made sure all the rooms were side by side. In our time of grief they were there for us. Friendly in every way . I would recomed people to stay here . the rooms are unique and memorable . they are clean. Thankyou so very much.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondies1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South River
19.8 mi away
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
#1 of 2 in Magnetawan
21 reviews
8.8 mi away
Northridge Inn & Resort
Northridge Inn & Resort
#1 of 1 in Sundridge
267 reviews
10.1 mi away
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
#1 of 2 in South River
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Motel

Address: 81N Highway 11 | halfway between Hunstville and North Bay, South River, Ontario P0A 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > South River
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South River
Price Range: £64 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Algonquin Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A groovy funky Motel! Summer or Winter, we are at the heart of your next outdoor adventure. Our rooms are very well appointed and extremely well maintained. Your comfort is our first concern. Come and enjoy the best of the 'Great North Woods' from your room with us. We know all the spots to see, even the ones that know one else will tell you about...... Yup...... even there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Algonquin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Motel And Restaurant
Algonquin Motel & Restaurant Hotel South River
Algonquin Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing