We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful weekend!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Ground floor layout
Bedroom Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sedgefield, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorna1985...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend!”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great weekend here for my sister's hen do. Great location and lovely house. Ample space inside with lovely finishings and comfy beds. Every detail had been thought of meaning it was a very hassle free stay. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you had a great time at the house. We hope you have a fantastic wedding!

Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
1 review
“Great space for mates weekend”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stopped March 10th-13th with some mates for a weekend away. Great location, situated near football golf, bars and other sights. Could not fault the service provided by all staff. The house was immaculate and the games room was a huge hit. Nice big bath and bar. Would recommend for anyone.Thanks for a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you had a great weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mckeith7
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow! 👌🏻”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed here in March for my partners birthday with our friends. Had a great time loved the bar and pool table facilities. All the rooms were clean and decorated lovely- beds were comfortable!
Defiantly going to book up again with family and friends in the near future!
Well done pictures do not do it justice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thanks for the great review and we are pleased you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again for your next celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melmc37
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for large get together.”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

As a group of 18 we stayed here and it was just great. The house has everything you need as if you were at home but with a bar area it felt like we were in our own pub and made our own entertainment. The house is decorated and furnished to a high standard and staying here as a group would suit all ages. The owners are very helpful and we have already made plans to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We're delighted you had a great time and pleased you enjoyed the bar facilities. We look forward to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veron
cumbria uk
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Handy to A1 for people travelling South and North and to the A66 for people travelling East. We were there for a family gathering for a special birthday that was a surprise. The property well catered for our needs, 5 children and 8 adults plus dog. Children enjoyed playing at being bar staff which was great for the adults . The dining room had to be seen to be believed and we never felt crowded. Beds comfy , ample crockery cutlery and glasses. Even 2 dishwashers! Great to know once the main gate was shut children and dog could be let loose safely. Would like to visit again when there is racing on locally. The family had also engaged a local chef to cook and serve Saturday evening meal. He too coped well with the kitchen

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review and We're so pleased the birthday girl had such a lovely family birthday. We are delighted you found the bar such fun, next time you'll have to have some real kegs fitted! The gate is perfect as it means that you can relax knowing the animals and kids can't wander too far and the car park is perfect for kids who have bikes or a ball to kick about! There are plenty of opportunities to watch the racing at Sedgefield and you can easily walk from the house. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aud1809
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Durham House was everything we needed and much more - AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here on the 20th January for 3 nights, a large family group and friends. What a delight to stay in such a beautful house. All of the rooms were furnished to a high standard, the decor has been well thought out with quality furnishings, fixture and fittings. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, the dinning room and lounge areas were beautiful and having your own bar area ... dream come true! Everything we needed was provided which made our stay comfortable and enjoyable, well done to the owners!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Thanks Edwina for such a great review. It's lovely to hear that you had a fantastic time and I hope you all gave the hen a good send off. And what makes it even better is that you only had to travel down the road, so no traffic jams! We loved the addition to the kitchen artwork, but I don't think Tracey Emim will be losing any sleep. It was a pleasure to have such lovely guests and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour65515...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Year stay with the extended family in a fabulous converted pub”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is a lovely family-friendly holiday house and easily accommodated our large extended family of 13 adults and 6 children. We particularly loved the bar, pool table and massive dining room. The location is great too and we enjoyed days out to Beamish, Durham and Hartlepool Marina. We all had a great New Year holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Durham House and that you were able to enjoy all the facilities that the house has to offer. We are delighted you had a great New Year and hopefully you will have the chance to use Durham House again for a family get-together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing