We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Venue!!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Ground floor layout
Bedroom Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sedgefield, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin R
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Venue!!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

An absolutely fantastic venue for any family / friends gathering. This house is very spacious, beautifully presented and well equipped to cater for large numbers. We used both Durham House and The Hay Loft which was ideal. The grounds are safe and the 'beer garden' is a perfect suntrap, equipped with BBQ.s and picnic tables. Table tennis, table football, darts and pool table kept both children and adults entertained, not to mention the bar which was set up with a barrel of ale! The owners, Lesley and Neil are very friendly and hospitable and should be proud of their wonderful accommodation in Sedgefield.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Thank you for the fantastic review. Our cleaner was also very complimentary of you as well! We are so pleased you had a great family get together and hope to see you soon. Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday accommodation with bonus bar on site!”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A large group of us stayed at Durham House for just over a week at the end of March 2018. We hired the main house and the Hayloft, so it felt spacious and homely for the whole period. As a group, we have a lot of experience of these kind of holiday rentals, and this was definitely one of the best ones we've stayed in.

As far as location is concerned, it feels nice and quiet even though it's in the middle of a town, and unlike some rentals we've stayed in, it was lovely to have shops et c on the doorstop, so we didn't need to rely fully on getting groceries delivered. It's well located for trips to Durham, driving days out to the North Pennines/Yorkshire Dales/North York Moors, day trips to Whitby for the fish and chips et c. Members of our group also visited Hardwick Hall, Beamish, Hadrian's Wall, Barnard Castle and Locomotion railway museum.

The rooms were all really nicely finished, with good quality linen et c, and it was lovely to have so many en suites (no queues for the shower!) The beds were lovely and comfortable and the layout worked well (although it took a bit of extra time to plan who would stay in Nags Head as it is accessed through another room).

In the kitchen, we really appreciated two kettles, two ovens and two dishwashers. On a big holiday like this, when we cook for the whole group each night, the washing up backlog can often be a problem, but not here!

The reception rooms were good - having such a big dining room is lovely, as it meant one end could also be used for board games/work as necessary (as we weren't the full 22 people), and the lounge is a really nice relaxed space that easily seated most of our party at once.

It was also really great to have such a big car park - often large holiday houses in towns are really limited on the parking, which is a problem for a group coming from all corners of the country! So it was really lovely not to have to worry about that with Durham House.

However, the thing that sets this place apart by a long way is the bar! We spent a long time deliberating how much beer we would get through during the week because we expected the pint-pulling novelty to wear off pretty quickly - but it definitely didn't! We got through the keg we ordered so quickly that we had to get another one set up half way through the week! The space is really great - the pool table got used *a lot*, and the blackboard was really handy for keeping track of how much beer everybody drank ;) We've been to places before that have had a games room downstairs, or maybe a separate lounge with loads of board games in (plenty of board games here also!), but this was by far the best onsite entertainment we've ever had!

Just a quick note for future visitors - at present, hand towels aren't included, so you will need to hire some extra towels to make sure that everybody has access to one in their bathroom.

All in all, a really great stay, so thank you to Neil and Lesley :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Thank you for such a great review. We have put a lot of thought into making Durham House an ideal venue for friends and family to meet and our fantastic reviews suggest that it is paying dividends. We also appreciate any feedback and always take it on board to ensure that the next set of guests are equally as happy. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickAllan...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome converted Pub”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Have just returned from a long weekend for my 50th Birthday. Durham House (the old Nags Head public house) did not dissappoint one little bit. Great conversion that easily accommodated 17 of us for the weekend. We also hired the Hayloft so we all had a little extra room. The bar area seemed to be the most popular and the opportunity to have a barrel of ale went down a storm (plus we drank all of it) The house is very well equipped with everything you need (with the exception of a dustpan, there may have been one but I couldn't find it) All the rooms are airy and spacious with en-suites. The furnishings are of high quality, as were the bed linen. We would love to come back and have a longer stay. Sedgefield has all you need in a village and we enjoyed a decent pint of Guinness in the Hardwick Park Hotel.
A highly recommended luxurious holiday let, Thanks to Neil and Lesley for everything

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Thank you for your review ans we are delighted you enjoyed yourself. We definitely have a dustpan and brush, (usually under the sink!) so we get a new one if it has gone walkabout! We are pleased you enjoyed the barrel of ale - it always proves popular. We look forward to seeing you again for your next significant birthday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milsos
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had an amazing time at Durham house, 20 of us stayed for my brothers 40th Birthday. The house is in a great village location which has everything you need.
The house is well equipped with everything you could need. We had great communication from Lesley, who happily answered my (many) questions.
The rooms are all bright and airy and spotlessly clean.
We will definitely be booking again for our next get together.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
We're so pleased you had an amazing time and look forward to seeing you again soon. Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph A
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, comfortable and spacious”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We hired this former pub for family Christmas get-together and it didn't disappoint. All the six bedrooms in the main building are roomy and en-suite, they are well decorated and with very comfortable beds. In addition there is an annex with two bedrooms available for larger groups.
Durham House is clean, comfortable and spacious, and was already warm when we arrived. It is decorated tastefully and was especially homely with it's Christmas decorations when we visited. The bar was a welcome addition as it kept drinks storage and preparation out of the kitchen and the pool table added to the fun. There was plenty of crockery, cutlery etc in the kitchen as well as two ovens and two dishwashers.
Outdoor space is also good with a large carpark, which is gated enabling our dogs to run about safely, I only wish we had had the opportunity to enjoy the outside seating area, but December isn't really the time!
Sedgefield village has pubs, cafes and restaurants to suit everyone and nearby are the grounds of Hardwick Hall, lovely for a stroll at any time of year and there are other places of interest a short car ride away.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would recommend it to large parties looking for space and comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that Durham House was able to accommodate you all and keep everyone entertained including the dogs. Sedgefield is a great village and we love welcoming people to our village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Braselton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway ”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We arrived at Durham house on Thursday and the house was ready to go for our family get together. All the rooms were nice and en suite. The dining room had a huge table to fit everyone while eating and the bar area was where we could have fun playing pool. Obviously being November the weather wasn’t great but this house made the trip. Middlesbrough and Hartlepool are not far for driving and there are some good walks for the dogs and pubs for anyone that doesn’t want to use the in-house bar. In the summertime this place would be great as the seating area looked fab too! For big family/friend get together this is the place to rent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you for your fantastic review. It is great to hear such lovely words and that you and you family had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again (with some sunshine next time!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous for family gathering.”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Had a fantastic weekend with 17 family members and dogs. Spacious dining room, lovely lounge and comfortable beds. The bar and pool table provided great entertainment. Fabulous location within easy distance of local shops. Had a great weekend here celebrating my brothers special birthday. We also had the Hayloft which provided us with more space. Would definitely book this again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a good stay, and that your brother enjoyed his birthday. The house is ideal for family events and is perfect for all ages. We look forward to seeing you again soon for the next significant birthday! Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing