We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel, and would have to say that it is possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Rooms are outstanding, and the steaks in the rib room are amazing. Staff are very helpful, and I would recommend walking around the lake.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antp492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    274
    109
    56
    36
See reviews for
190
321
18
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

What an excellent hotel. Stayed for 2 nights (Thurs and Fri) and everything about the hotel was quality. Great building, decor, and service. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Couldn't find fault with anything and its position overlooking the Hardwick Park lakes was a real treat. Really recommend this hotel. :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the park (on the front). The rooms on the bottom floor (100's dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We could not have chosen a better venue for my Daughter's wedding on February 22nd. The whole event was perfect from start to finish. From the welcoming drink to the wedding breakfast to the disco and evening buffet, the staff were all so pleasant and attentive, Matthew Jacobs covered as MC and managed the day without a hitch, any ask was never a problem to him. The food was great, served hot and plentiful. My bedroom was very clean, well appointed, lovely bathroom, and a brilliant view over the park and the lake. Our many wedding guests who also stayed the night were in awe of the Hotel as a whole. As the mother of the bride, my Daughter's Wedding to me was always going to be such a memorable day, but I cant thank you all enough for making our day with you, so special. Many Thanks!

Room Tip: Ground floor to left of reception, end of corridor, beautiful views over park and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 243ElizabethH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your daughters wedding so much and i have passed your comments on to Matthew and all staff involved on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Lovely room, so quiet that I was surprised! The view was great. Services were ok, good restaurant and good wine list. Will definitely come back. I haven't try the spa but the park is ideal for a morning run.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0T_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

It was through trip advisor I made my decision to stay at this hotel overnight for a business trip, and this hotel has inspired me to write my first review. This Hotel comes highly recommended the views from the rooms and grounds a breath taking. The rooms were perfect, staff very pleasant and helpful and food was to die for. I strongly advise anyone visiting to try one of the steaks at the rib room restaurant.
I would like to offer a strong thank you to all the staff and management.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waynecarr1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
On behalf of the staff and management i would like to thank you for posting such an excellent review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here for my birthday and have to say it was a lovely treat. The hotel was excellent and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We had a deluxe room which overlooked the lake at the adjacent country park. Room was large, with everything you could need. Fridge, safe, tea/coffee complimentary bottles of water and fruit, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, even some sweets! The bathroom was huge with a large bath and walk-in shower.
We ate at night in the Rib-room restaurant and enjoyed perfectly cooked steaks.
The only thing that could improve the hotel would be a swimming pool & spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cullercoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We decided to have a family lunch at Hardwick Hall to celebrate Mothers Day. Previously having a good experience we felt sure to have a good time.

When entering there were about 3 different rooms where lunch was being served one of which being a huge events room filled with people easilly 100+ in one room. Initial order was fine unfortunately it generally went down hill from there.

Starters were pretty poor, the main course however was one of the worst we have come across. The food wad cold, the vegetables were a bizarre concoction sitting in a pile of water. The veg looked good enough for bubble and squeak and that's about it. One soup bowl of vegetables was for 7 people.

You would think you can't go wrong with desserts...well wrong think again. Break and butter pudding had no bread to be seen with what looked to be a raw mixture. Even when the deputy manager came over and was asked would he eat it his reply was no.

The end result was that we didn't pay for a single thing and quite rightly so the management handled it well, having said that we probably weren't the first to complain that day.

This establishment clearly overstretched themselves without the capacity to deliver. I have grave concerns around their chefs because nobody in their right mind would send food out of their kitchen in such a state without losing all credibility.

Think twice before going for a special occasion as you maybe sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Beehive83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Mothers Day lunch recently. We did serve over 300 lunches that day and yours was the only table who were not fully satisfied. As a result, we did indeed remove all charges from your bill as the food served to you fell below the high standards that we expect. I was therefore a little disappointed to read your comments on this site as we felt that we had made every effort to fully apologise and rectify your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
9.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
487 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,142 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,045 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Hall Hotel

Property: Hardwick Hall Hotel
Address: Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England (Formerly Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
Hardwick Hall Hotel Sedgefield, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing