We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff can't make up for cold bedroom”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coldstream
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Arrived late afternoon and were greeted by girl behind bar. She is great, informative and friendly. The stairs from the bar are a little steep, and lead to a floor with a dark breakfast room. The nest floor up has the bedrooms. The floor on his level is carpeted, but even the most light footed child will make the floorboards creak whenever they move. The rooms appear now to be all ensuite, but this has been done, in the room we had, at the expense of room around the bed. The mattress was far too soft for us and the radiator never reached hand warm, even though there was snow on the pavement outside.
Next morning, we ate breakfast there... And this was cooked freshly for us and was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

We arrived at teatime and were welcomed by the.friendly staff. We had booked online so we just said our names and the woman gave us our keys and showed us to our rooms. We were shown where to go for breakfast and where the fire exits were.
The room was freezing when I first got in because the window had been left wide open and the radiator was off but it didn't take too long to warm up! The bathroom was quite small and the floor and wall tiles were cracked and splitting away from the surfaces. Also, all the toilets were powered by small bore pumps which were very loud and somewhat annoying as you could hear others being used in neighbouring rooms.
The road outside and all the pub's nighttime patrons could be heard from the room because it was only single glazed but it wasn't too bad andstopped at around 11:30pm.
We are dinner in the restaurant and had two courses. Main courses were great but the desserts weren't the best. Breakfast the next day was good; choice of cereals with tea/coffee and juice followed by cooked meals.
Hotel was really good value at £100 for dinner bed and breakfast for two people.
Conclusion: alright for an overnight stop but maybe not any longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The bed linen was clean, as was the bathroom and the breakfast was very nice. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The room was very dated and in need of a renovation, however it was very clean and adequate for an overnight stay.

I would not really call this an hotel but a pub with rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catcoachyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed at the castle on our trip of Scotland!

We arrived a little after tea time to be treated by a lovely, well mannered and polite young girl who introduced herself as Gemma...... There must be two of them that work there as the one we met was nothing like the one in the terrible review!!!

We were shown to our room which in all honesty is a bit dated but was exceptionally clean.

We decided to stay in the Hotel to eat as there wasn't much choice in the town other than an Indian restaurant and another pub that I wouldn't let my dog go into ( very rough)

The food was beautiful and well presented, there was plenty of variety in the menu!

The staff were very friendly and all of them polite, made us feel like they had known us years

The breakfast the next morning was beautiful, full Scottish breakfast only criticism would be that I would have liked Tattie scones!

All in all Cheap, Cheerful and Clean - what more do you want???

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Ignore the bad review, Gemma couldn't be any nicer, the hotel is great and don't forget the price, Gemma and the staff couldn't have made our stay any better. The breakfast was great and set us up for the day ahead, the bar meals had plenty of choice and were varied, hot and well presented.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Percherondriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location with shops surrounding and other pubs. Food was good. Quite a busy pub nice locals but only let down to the place was the barmaid who i believe to be called Gemma, she was really rude when she was serving at the bar. acting as if she owned the place bossing people around and was really blunt when showing us to the room, seemed to be annoyed about something! Felt intimidated by her. But all in all everything else was reasonable. Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelchecker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Booked 5 rooms for one night.There were no complaints about the rooms.......everbody slept well.Ate supper in the hotel and were very impressed with the range of the menu,the quality and quantity.Lovely full scottish breakfasts all round the following morning.Gemma and the team made us most welcome and we look forward to using the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coldstream
13.1 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
325 reviews
12.7 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
430 reviews
11.6 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newcastle Arms
The Newcastle Arms
#6 of 12 in Coldstream
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: 11 High Street, Coldstream TD12 4AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Coldstream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coldstream
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Coldstream, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing