We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“must have got worst room in hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coldstream
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“must have got worst room in hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

It was a bargain price but it still should be up to standards these days, Room small for a double, roller blind at window which fell down as soon as it was touched, no curtains, bed very uncomfortable, paper hanging off walls, water dripped into room from ceiling,ensuite very shabby,just hard stools to sit on, LCD TV too high up, crick in neck watching it, the list is endless. Good point was easy parking next to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishalice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
18
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

I stayed there for one night but fortunately I had booked a twin room so I could cover myself with an extra blanket from the other bed. The room was cold, the radiator glacial, the floor just as squeaky as the rest of the building and the windows could barely curb outside noise knowing that the room was overlooking the main road.

It was a slightly unpleasant experience despite the nice service, good breakfast and cheap rates.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukeboxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teesside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed at The Castle Hotel while on a golfing break in the Borders in June. Read the reviews after we booked so gave the organiser 'stick' before we got there. On arrival the hotel was warm and welcoming. As for the 'bad beer' the reviewer obviously wasn't drinking the John Smiths or the Guinness. The staff & locals were very friendly even though The World Cup was on & they wanted England sent home early. The food was tasty & plentiful. Tip:- Have poached eggs with your cooked breakfast, superb! Bedrooms were clean & comfortable. If you want big rooms stay in a big hotel but it wont be in Coldstream. Clean towels and plenty of hot water. Comfortable beds and clean bed linen. My golfing buddies all said they would stay there again and we are not easily pleased. I would say for the price, give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finnaTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Room was very small & basic which you expect for the money. What you dont expect is a mouldy shower, a smell of sweaty socks, the drawers to fall to bits, bad beer and to be given toast with mouldy edges for breakfast.
Stay here...... and you'll have a real shan do!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvmanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

No its not the best presented accomadation and if you expect modern this is not for you,but after a long days work a warm room with plenty of hot water and only a walk downstairs to the bar,what more could you want.
Staff very friendly as are the locals,good food in the evenings and the breakfast sets you up for the day.At £30 a night no complaints from me .

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, Tyne and wear
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Stayed at the Castle hotel for one night with friends on a cycle trip with friends this week . Hotel is very tired with old furnishings, tatty carpets and dated decor. Friendly enough staff but we had pre booked the restaurant & were told that the chef had gone home! - no booking in their diary despite e maill confirmation! being a sunday night we had to find something quickly! Rooms were clean enough but tatty. breakfast was ok and served by a nice girl. so ,,,we had asked for secure bike storage ...and had to carry them up a curved flight of stairs to the first floor pool room!! hmmmm. So, overall, poor accommodation,......but should have guesed as only £25 a person. Not recommended...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeefyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

We had a function in the town & booked a room at Castle Hotel in advance, got the last room, twin, Room 5. (Not accessible for anyone with a disability, as old building). Decor in room a lot to be desired, very out of date, like something out of the eighties! Twin beds not matching: headboards, type of bed or headboards! In fact the base valance all stained, not been washed. No remote for portable TV which was too high up on wall. Hospitality tray only had a kettle, & UHT milk! (No cups, tea, coffee, sugar), asked at bar but no joy! Shower wall & tray could do with a good scrub or revamp...disgusting! Breakfast very early - between 8 & 9am, this was well presented, but dining room again needed a good scrub/dust.
We felt sorry for any tourists coming through looking to stay, sad that no effort is put in to boost tourist trade.
Sorry no photos.

Helpful?
Thank G&HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coldstream
7.9 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
16.2 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
10.9 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: 11 High Street, Coldstream TD12 4AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Coldstream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coldstream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Coldstream, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing