We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Indian food”
Review of Rajdhani Spice

Rajdhani Spice
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Coldstream
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Nice little place, very simple lay out and not over the top décor,which I prefer to some Indian places.

Food is superb and great value, much cheaper than city prices.I would say the curries are as good as I have had anywhere and ive tried a lot.

Always get great service and a cracking pint of Kingfisher beer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We were dubious about going on a Monday night after reading the previous report but OMG are we glad we went. It was not the usual chef but it is the best Dansak I have ever had and the nan bread was to die for. When all the food arrived we wondered how we would get through it all but it was not a problem as everything was so fresh, hot(temp) and delicious. Marked value a 4 for the first time ever - come on guys a can of beer should not be £3.
The service was excellent even in the bosses absence - an all round well done to everyone.
I am now totally assured that no matter what day of the week you want to go you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too greasy! And my chicken was under cooked”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hi rang up to place a takeaway order, told 20 mins, I came and picked it up, it was the wrong order! I ordered chicken vindaloo and Lamb rogon and tandoori chicken. But when I opened the container it was full of creamy currys not what I ordered, I rang again on a Monday night, the waiter said he was the bosses brother, and he was very sorry he would replace the meal! And I had to wait another 20 mins, so I once again travelled all the way from Duns! And swapped the bag with him, it was the most disgusting food I ever ate,, oily, chewy, and salty not cooked by professional chef, I have eaten many times before, so I rang up, again to complain they offered me a 50% discount on the next order and said the main chef is off work Monday, Tuesday, and I should order on a Thursday! Lmao that's the worst excuse I have ever heard, my landlord at the guest house, recommended berwick for Indian food, should have listened! Would have saved £25

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevorsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Six of us went to Rajdhani Spice after being told how good it was - and we weren't disappointed. We had to wait a bit for our meals but this is because they are cooked from fresh - and it really shows. There was none of that pooling of excess fat and oil you sometimes get with Indian dishes - everything was brillant, tasty and a delight. The service was excellent and the prices very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Once again a culinary delight”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

My last curry there was superb - this time it was superlative - Spicey without being too hot. It was called a Southern curry and the description on the menu did not do it justice. It was tastier than it sounded.
Attentive service and well priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rajdhani Spice also viewed

 

Been to Rajdhani Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing