We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wouldn't stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 18 January 2012

When it was Fairfield Sanatorium there was probably better service here ! When we arrived there was no one on reception, no one answered the phone and we had to track down reception staff. We booked a room with three single beds, yet the room offered to us had one double bed. The woman who came to reception was very unhelpful. No rooms with three beds were available and so as a compromise my daughters and I stayed in separate twin rooms. In my room the bathroom smelled. There was mould and dirt around the bath and the water in the shower came out scalding hot, scalding my face. I was woken by the sound of hoovering at midnight. When I advised the reception staff that we had not had a good stay and the water was scalding hot, she just looked puzzled and said "The water was too hot, sorry, have a nice day." We left having had a bad experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London_lass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear guest,

After offering compensation when chatting to you during your check out. I do not feel you have portrayed a true impression of how this incident was handled by the hotel. There was no doubting we let you down however, no mention was made at how we went about to correct your stay at the hotel. I agree we are all entitled to our own opinions and whilst we do respect this, it would have been honourable to have mentioned this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was our first visit to the Mercure York. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We walked through the door to be greeted by a manager who took time to book us in, explain everything we needed to know and once we had been in our room a short while telehoned to make sure everything was satisfactory. All of the staff we met were friendly, helpful and courteous.
The room was excellent, smelt fresh and was cleaned to a high standard. It had comforntable bedding, plenty of additional pillows and bedware plus complimentary water. The bathroom was well equipped, hot water was plentiful as were the towels.
The breakfast in the morning was very good with plenty available. The sausages and bacon were very tasty and the fried eggs pleasanty surprising ~ oil used did not over power the taste. The chef obviously also knew how to cook black pudding well! The breakfast room staff were pleasant, helpful and attentive withour being pushy.
The hotel is also close to the efficient park and ride so no inner city expensive parking when touring the city. Overall an excellent experience which we would recommend if you are visiting York. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here in december with a dinner included package. If you have stayed here before when it was a Ramada, like us you will be bitterly dissapointed. The evening meal was 'coach food' - infact there was a coach staying the night we were there. There is no al a carte menu just a set menu with a very limited choice. No muse buouche any more as well ! Overall the evening meal was very poor quality with no taste at all. I had sliced beef in gravy which had been microwaved - just very poor food. The breakfast was ok - still a buffet - although some items have changed such as the jams, etc to a cheap brand.
They also made a mistake with our booking - we booked a twin room and they tried to give us a double room in the old part of the hotel which has steep steps to it and no lift - be aware of this if you have limited mobility. They did eventually find a twin room - although the reception said there were none left due to the coach being there. (I bet the coach didnt pay as much as I did for the room !) .
The rooms are also a bit tired now !
Overall this is still good value if you get a deal and I suppose if you have never been here before you would think it was ok.
It has changed though - so beware !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westie6692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend and had a really nice relaxing break. Although the hotel was busy (wedding party booked in) the staff at reception, in the bar and in the restaurant were very friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough to make us welcome. The hotel is clean and tastefully decorated, and the hotel room very nice. The bedroom was a standard double, spacious, clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, ironing facilities and hairdryer.I found the bed slightly too hard for my liking but that is personal preference and it wouldn't stop me booking again. The breakfasts are fantastic, and when we booked a bar meal of sandwichs , to 'put us on' until an evening meal, the plate was so full we didn't want anything else to eat for the rest of the day, great value. Can't wait to visit again soon

Room Tip: Smokers tend to congregate outside the front enterance and our room was at the front, so we did get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

my husband and i stopped here for new year last min couldnt get into york centre so we stopped here 3 mile out and we booked a junior suite absolutely lovely had a good night sleep too ! staff very helpful and a good breakfast will definately stop again !!

Room Tip: the suite was 2 rooms with a jacuzzi very spacious very nice for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seacroft38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel for a 3 night New Year break as it was hosting an event that appealed. It is 2 minutes drive from the nearest York Park & Ride so is also ideal for stress free journeys into the city.

Check-in was both efficient and friendly. Shortly after arriving in our room we were contacted by reception to enquire if everything was okay. It was. The room was clean, well furnished and comfortable. The ensuite facilities all worked although maybe getting a little long in the tooth. However it was clean and well equipped.

The restaurant was quite impressive and on our first night, deserted. The service was excellent with all the staff treating us efficiently and in a very friendly manner. The food quality was very good and was well cooked.

Breakfast was the usual mix of hot buffet, fresh fruit, cereals and breads. Kippers and porridge were available on request. Service by the restaurant staff was very good with crockery removed from the table as soon as it was finished with and hot drinks provided promptly.

The New Year Eve event was very good with a good mixture of entertainment from both the ceildh band and the disco. The 5 course meal was served promptly to all 20 tables and again the quality of the food was excellent. We considered the event to be reasonable value for money and were not disappointed by any aspect.

In summary, we were delighted by the service and quality of the hotel and will certainly return on our next trip to York. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IHW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

One of the many installments from our trip to the UK. This property is so quaint and pretty - I swear, we had a great sleep on this place! ;) As we were coming from the Yorkshire, I think it was fitting that they sent us to this place to cap the night. The pictures on the property are accurate - I think this is that hotel that has a huge piano where the pianist was doing classicals, and has that smallish (almost exclusive) restaurant for us to have dinner into.

As it was also previously a Ramada property, we were able to get free internet access on the common areas.

One downside is, this seems like in the middle of nowhere (not in a bustling place) but maybe that adds charm to those who don't like the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerdrumsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £58 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing