We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends re-united”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We take it in turns to organize a re-union each year, this year it was our turn and we chose the York Fairfield Manor Hotel. If you want a relaxed time whether it is formal or casual you could'nt do better than this hotel. The bedrooms are very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well furbished. Food is excellent plenty of choice including many dishes for vegetarians.
If you need to book a Wedding, or in our case a re-union then the Conference Manager Leanne is second to none and makes everything very easy, she also makes you feel very special and her accuracy to detail is amazing.
The staff overall are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them things seem to get done immediately. There is plenty of parking and just far enough out of the City to have that country feel about it.
Give this hotel a try and see York an amazing City of history and culture.

Room Tip: There is a special adapted room for Disabled which is amazing and one of the best I have used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such an excellent review about our hotel, and Leanne in particular. We are pleased that you enjoyed your reunion, and would like to extend our thanks to you for your compliments regarding our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I went on a spa break with my sister and stayed at this lovely hotel which is just outside York.

We booked a junior suite on the internet for a discounted price which included breakfast - excellent value for money.

Our suite was on the 3rd floor, very clean and a very good size for the 2 of us - large lounge with tea and coffee facilities, TV, lamps and ample seating, a lovely bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and complementary toiletries, a huge bedroom with plenty of storage space, TV, dressing table, hair dryer and a couple of easy chairs, a few nice cushions/pillows would have finished the lounge area and bedroom off nicely.

The breakfast was the best I have ever had at any hotel in the UK - beautiful dining area with a lovely relaxed feel, waiter service or help yourself buffet with good quality food.

Room service is available at a charge.

All staff were very helpful and professional.

Taxi into York cost £10.00 - order at reception.

We went for dinner in a very nice restaurant in the centre of York, LUCIA restaurant and wine bar - very good food and service, wonderful cocktails and a very nice relaxed atmosphere, al-fresco dining also available with heating, reasonably price.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dscam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort in writing a review about our hotel. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We went for a 2 night stay to York for our anniversary and were allocated room 225, This room overlooks a central courtyard area and is on the first floor. The room and the whole of the hotel could do with a little bit of a makeover, along the corridor there was rips in the wallpaper and the bath had some holes in the panel (not really sure how they were made) Although the floorboards creeked when anyone walked down the corridor we were lucky that we were right at the end and it didnt seem like the other rooms were occupied, could imagine it would be annoying with people constantly walking past the room. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and that was satisfactory however I wouldnt reccomend it, we both had the roast beef that was served on a bed of mashed potato, the seasonal vegetables that we were served to accompany the beef was broccoli, red cabbage and new potatoes (these were undercooked and quite how much potato one wants with a meal im not that sure) we both had the apple pie for desert and were both shocked when it came out that it was cold.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were always polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoonToBeMrsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to congratulate you on your past anniversary, and wish you all the best for the future. Naturally, we are disappointed that your dining experience, as well as the accommodation, was not to your liking. As a hotel, we are continually striving to provide all our guests with the best possible service, and with this in mind, the hotel now offers a fantastic new menu with a plethora of choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield Manor on Sat 6th May for my mother in laws 60th birthday!! we were a party of 8 , i cannot say for everyone as we had 4 rooms so just going to give my review on my stay and room!! we payed £75.00 each for the room with no breakfast included which i thought was a little pricey !! on arrival was asked if we would like breakfast it would cost a extra £10 so we booked it!! went to our room and was not disappointed , we were given a very large room with a double bed and a single bed, the room was very modern and comfortable there was a few things niggly like the cold water tap span round when you turned it on, but nothing major!! we headed down to reception for a couple of drinks before heading out! there was a wedding going on but everyone seemed to head off for the speeches when we arrived so the bar area was quite!! staff were fantastic cannot fault them there work very hard!! the reception staff booked our taxi and we headed off out to York for the night!! Breakfast was served until 12 noon as it was a bank holiday weekend, we arrived at breakfast which was hot buffet style, usually im not a fan as everything seems so hard, not at the Fairfield they didint over stack the hot plates so food was not sitting there everything was fresh, and the servers were fantastic very attentive !! i knew when we booked it we were about 15 mins drive from York but there is a park and ride about 2 mins from the hotel which is great so no need to worry about parking your car in York for a tenner!! £2.50 return cant argue with that!! overall we all had a fab stay and would return in a heart beat!! the hotel itself is a stunning building from the outside!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manchesternicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Needless to say, we are very appreciative of your compliments regarding our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the accommodation facilities and the dining experience, and look forward to you returning to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

As it was our anniversary, we decided to visit York. Looking at the hotels on offer we found that the Mercure York was great value and had everything we needed. Well what a nice suprise when we checked it as we had been upgraded to a junior suite free of charge. We also had been left in our room a anniversay card. Nice touch mr hotel manager. 415 Room clean and spacious. Living room with sofa flat screen tv, table and loads of room. Decor was imaculate and furnature lovey. Bedroom had 4 poster flat screen tv dresser and loads of storage.
We booked bed and breakfast and the food was plentiiful and loads of choose.Staff where always on hand and very polite.
Would reccomend to anyone to book here you will not be dissapointed.
Thanks to all for making our stay so enjoyable

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank MDH921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort in writing a review about our hotel and its features. I do appreciate your kind words. Can I also take this opportunity to congratulate you on your anniversary? We do look forward to having you return in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here overnight and found the Fairfield Manor to be a nice country hotel, though a bit far out from central York. Our room was huge, with a good-sized sitting room (with sofa, chairs, tv, table, wardrobe and desk), large bedroom (with king-size bed, dresser and tv) and a spacious -bathroom. The bathroom was well-stocked with toiletries, and it had a large jacuzzi bathtub. Our room, and the rest of the hotel, was clean and pretty comfortable.There was some noise from the road, though we still had a fairly restful night. A lovely hotel that we would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort in writing a review about our hotel and its features. We are pleased that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We look forward to having you visit us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiskersPerthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,143 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £55 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing