We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect venue for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Friends of ours were married in this hotel on June 3rd and what a lovely venue. I would highly rate this hotel and according to our friends, the wedding coordinator was brilliant the whole way through. The hotel its self is nice. There's an old part and a new part. Be careful if you need a lift though, there isn't one in the old part of the building so you would need to let them know at the time of booking so that they can allocate you rooms in the new part. The room we had was a decent size, the bathroom was nice and clean and fresh towels were given every day. Breakfast was great, served 8am to 12 noon brilliant - especially when you had a 2.30pm wedding which meant you would nt be eating till 4 - 5pm. York center not too far away, £10.00 in a cab. All in all a lovely experience and would definately return.

Room Tip: choose the new wing if you struggle with stairs - no lifts in old part of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. Unfortunately, the manor house of the hotel does not have a lift, as this would detract from its historic beauty and character. It is pleasing to note that you have enjoyed the wedding, and thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

What a fantastic stay at the Fairfield Manor. Me and my partner checked in on the 15 May 2012 for 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday. On arrival we were given our room which unfortunately was not up to the standard I expected. I rang reception to let them know and they rang back a few minutes later to offer us another room. A young man called Mark came to show the other room which was situated in the georgian section of the hotel. WOW! It was a lovely suite with a great four poster bed. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We ate both in the restaurant and bar and I was extremely pleased with quality of the food (which is high praise from a fussy eater). Breakfast was excellent and made more enjoyable by the restaurant staff (especially Josh). My only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer. We used the local park and ride to get into York, which was cheap (£2.50 a day) and very easy to use. I would definately recommend the Fairfield Manor to everyone and look forward to our return trip!

Room Tip: Our room in the georgian part of the hotel was beautiful and very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa160572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to extend our congratulations to you for your recently celebrated birthday. We are pleased that we could accomodate all your needs, and your generous comments will be passed on to the staff members concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this Hotel. It is a converted manor house in beautiful surroundings. Bedroom and bathroom excellent. There was a great choice for breakfast and of good quality. Plenty of parking. Although the Hotel is a few miles from York there is a bus that runs from the Hotel but not very frequently. About half a mile from the Hotel there is a park and ride which runs until about 8.30p.m. but in the evening it is easy to drive into York and find a parking place. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant one evening as it was my husband's birthday and our 40th wedding anniversary but were rather disappointed. We ordered a bottle of wine which did not arrive by the time we had nearly finished our starter. We queried this and the waiter asked someone elkse who should have brought it and she said she hadn't been told and they argued in front of us. A bottle arrived but it was the wrong wine, another argument developed between the staff about handwriting. Finally arrived. Whilst we were waiting for our main course, the waiter arrived and said would we like dessert now. We said can we eat our main course first. Rather disappointing service but the meal was excellent. Did report this to Reception but they made no note of it. We heard another lady the same evening complaining about the service as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the service you have recently received, as it is important to us that each and every guest has an enjoyable stay, as well as having a terrific dining experience. The matter has been looked into and certain training needs have been identified. We trust that you have had an enjoyable stay, and would like to thank you for bringing the concern to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p4tcj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great location just outside the city of York. Breakfast was superb. the only downside was dinner in the restaurant where the staff didn't appear to know what was happening and what needed to be served.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenMillau_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We booked through last minute.com and were a little unsure of what to find. We needn't have worried, the staff were very polite and helpful booking in. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff at breakfast were very attentive without being in your face. The breakfast itself was self service but fresh and hot and replenished regularly, and delicious. We ate in the restaurant on our final night, the food was great, tasty and well presented. The staff were again very attentive, polite, but not intrusive and made the whole dining experience relaxing. We are already planning to return. The hotel is ideally situated to explore York, a short walk to the Rawcliffe park and ride got us in and out of the city centre in a quick and cost effective easy way. Lovely hotel nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo-dave-josh-kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

As we have recently launched a new menu, as well as a new range of fantastic wines, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience. All our staff are very valued, and your generous comments will be passed on to all of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Fairfield Manor Hotel and wished it had been for longer. Easy to find, great location away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. Very easy access to a park and ride facility which could be reached in leisurely 10 minute stroll straight down one road. Staff were all very smart and professional whilst being welcoming and helpful. Exellent breakfast with a great choice (self service). Our room was lovely with a nice bathroom and was very quiet despite the night being a warm one and us having the window open all night.
We would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort in writing a review. As you have correctly pointed out, parking is free and getting to and from town is extremely easy. We hope you have enjoyed the glorious sites which York has to offer, and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,114 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £58 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing