We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very convenient, a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Mercure York for easy access to a wedding we were going to during september.
The hotel was very easy to find, and very close to York and also close to a shopping retail park with a Tesco.
When we arrived we were offered breakfast at a discounted rate as we didn't have it with the room, which was ideal. The room was very spacious, it had a modern flat screen tv and a bathroom with a bath, which is always a must for me when I stay in a hotel! The staff were really helpful, when I asked for an iron it was there promptly and when we lost a cuff link they were more than happy to help. The only downside was that the bar closed very early on both nights, even though it was a weekend!
I would stay again if I was visiting York.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass_G_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is extremely satisfying to note that you have enjoyed your recent stay, as well as the size of our rooms and the service delivery of the staff. Our main bar closes at 11:00 pm, but we have a 24 hour drinks service which is available to all our residents. Your kind comments will be communicated to all our hard working staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    414
    198
    81
    41
See reviews for
206
566
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Three of us shared a family room here last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A wedding reception was taking place when we checked in and we were concerned about noise when we learnt our room was on the ground floor near the function room. Once we were in the room we couldn't hear anything, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean the only negatives were that it got quite hot at night and there wasn't enough hot water for a shower on one morning.
The service was very good at reception and at breakfast. One of us had forgotten our toothbrush and we were impressed with the free toothbrush and tiny little toothpaste reception gave us.
There was a lot of choice at breakfast and it was all tasty and good quality.
The location of the hotel is good as it is so close to the park and ride (a taxi into York cost £10) and it is definitely somewhere we would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We trust that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, as is confirmed in your review. Unfortunately, due to an overnight power failure within the hotel, our main boiler was affected which had an impact on the supply of hot water for a very limited period. As you have enjoyed all the elements of your stay, we would like to thank you for providing us with your recent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Fairfield is a regular stopover for us on visits to York as we find the location and quality of the hotel perfectly meets our needs. It is handy for the park and ride and only a short drive from York town centre.
On our last visit the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed.
The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice of hot and cold food and a highlight of our stay.
I notice there is some criticism because of the location of the hotel not meeting expectations as it is not in the countryside and has been described as a ‘corporate hotel’. It is on the A19 and whilst undoubtedly some business people stay there and the outlook could be better, overall the hotel more than makes up for this with its location, good food and service. If you want a country house hotel this is not for you but if you want a great hotel near York this hotel offers excellent value for money. And we intend to stay again soon.

Room Tip: If you are not taking meals at the hotel, try the Hungry Horse a few hundred yards away, good qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with such a positive review regarding our hotel. As you have correctly stated, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the Park and Ride, and only 3 miles from the city centre. It is pleasing to note that the hotel has conformed to all your requirements, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed at the Fairfield Manor with my husband and 3 year old son on a recent visit to York. The hotel is two minutes from Rawcliffe Bar Park and Ride and the perfect base to explore local areas. A fabulous welcome was received from all and the mother and daughter team in the restaurant could not do enough for us (hold on to these two!). Our family room was huge with comfortable beds and lots of room for my little boy to play in (not just an extra bed squeezed near the radiator like some hotels), a good choice of TV and radio channels (including CBeebies for you parents) and great toiletries that you actually want to use. We ate in the restaurant for evening meal and breakfast and were impressed with the quality and value for money of both, the kids menu is also a bonus and well appreciated by my little one. Would I stay here again ...most definately.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy30031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that all the aspects of your stay was enjoyed, and your comments regarding the food and service will be communicated to all the staff involved in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I have just come back from a 3 night stay at Fairfield Manor to celebrate our ruby wedding. For a hotel chain, we were very satisfied. Rooms were well furnished and clean, the location was perfect to explore York (park and ride half a mile) and surrounding area, and the food was excellent - good value and high quality. The staff should be singled out for special praise, though. Josh in the restaurant struck the perfect balance of being professional and very friendly - a very likeable young man; and we were treated to a tour of the old library by another guy who was clearly proud of his hotel which was really good to see. All staff had a smile on their faces and were very friendly. Niggles? Well, I would have liked a local beer on draught to be available other than John Smiths and although I emailed to ask for a nice room for our ruby celebrations, I think it was pretty standard. But all very minor - we had a great time and would recommend it to visitors to York.

Room Tip: Any room facing the back would be quiet with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very generous comments. Your feedback will be passed on to Josh, as well as all the other staff. We would like to extend our belated congratulations to you with your recent celebration, and trust to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a perfect base for York centre as two mins from park and ride.Staff are knowledgeable and helpful and hotel is quiet and clean. Breakfast was superb too.Lovely gardens to sit in after breakfast and plenty of parking. We booked an executive double and it had everything in it. My only complaints...cheap toilet roll and sloppy pillows and as have stayed in a few Mercures it is the same in all and really lets it down but apart from that I now won't stay in any other chain of hotels if a mercure is available in my chosen destination.

Room Tip: The executive is worth that little bit extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have enjoyed all the aspects of your stay, apart from the two recommendations which you have brought to our attention. Your comments have been taken on board, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding and the reception was just down the road , so the location was perfect . On arrival the check in was easy and the staff friendly and helpful . The room was a good size and bed was nice and large - and comfy .Our first impression was that this was good value for money a we had secured a deal through Laterooms that was room + breakfast for a price cheaper than the room only through the Mercure's own website. Unfortunately in the morning there was no hot water to have a shower . We had a barely warm wash before going to breakfast. We mentioned the lack of hot water at the front desk and the staff apologied and advised that the fault was now rectified and if we let the water run for a while the hot water would come through . So after breakfast we returned to our room to have a shower but there was still no hot water - no matter how long we let it run . This was a real shame as it spoilt was was proving to be an enjoyable stay at this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay. Occassionally, we have to face instances in our line of business which are not instantly rectifiable. Unfortunately, due to the nature of the power outage, and considering the time of day, we were fortunate enough to prevent this problem from affecting the majority of the guests. We do however apologise for the fact that it has affected your stay, and trust that it has not ruined all the other aspects of your weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing