We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn York North Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Noir(Clifton)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,230)
Filter reviews
1,230 results
Traveller rating
396
462
231
91
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
462
231
91
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridehungry horselovely hotelgood sizebuffet stylerestaurant staffminute drivepublic areasone night stayboth morningscity centrewould stay againdouble roommain roadfour poster bedfamily roomfull english
Filter
Updating list...
1,052 - 1,057 of 1,230 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and i stayed for 4 days and explored all York had to offer. Located close to the 'park and ride' station that offered free parking and a cheap UKP2.50 return ticket into town. The hotel is located in beautiful parklike grounds. The rooms are large and bright, ours was on the ground floor at the rear (best rooms and away from any road noise) The staff were wonderful, the rooms clean and well appointed and the breakfasts fantastic. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the best choc chip biscuits I’ve ever tasted (now i must admit i took a few extra's off the trolley in the corridor as they were so YUMMY) Locally there is a great selection of restaurants and pubs plus one of the best Chinese just around the corner! You will enjoy your stay here, we certainly did!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are bright and very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozteam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Guest,

You sincere comments have certainly brightened the day to an otherwise wet and flooded York. We are pleased that you enjoyed your four day stay, and trust that in enjoying your recent experience, we will be seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Staff were friendly, and the food in the restaurant was actually a nice surprise - excellent value for the 3 course meal deal that we had included in the room booking.

However, the decor is tired and our room was facing the busy main road where heavy traffic rumbled on all night which meant we did not sleep one bit. When I complained to the hotel afterwards they said it's "my own fault" for not asking to change rooms, apparently they would have happily given us another room even in the middle of the night. However, being tired retiring to the room fairly late after dinner, we just went to bed hoping the traffic would die down (it didn't). The hotel was not busy at all, I don't see why the reception staff allocated that room to us which is most exposed to the traffic noise. The other side of the hotel faces their private grounds. I disagree with the management's response, and feel insulted having been allocated the worst room in the building out of pure cheek or ignorance by staff. It is not what you expect from a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't stay on the side which faces the main road.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing the above feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the food and that my staff provided you with good service. Regarding you comment about the decor, this has to be equated to personal taste. The section of the hotel where you were located is part of the original manor house and the decor is in keeping with this period. Allocations of rooms are decided solely on room types booked by our guests. We have a variety of rooms available and not all the rooms in our hotel are the same. Unfortunately as you have not provided us with details, I am unable to comment on the occupancy of the hotel at the time of your stay. I would nevertheless like to thank you for providing us with the feedback regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

After one night we asked to extend our stay, this was at breakfast time. We were told by two staff members this would be no problem for 3 nights but they weren't sure about the fourth night and would confirm later if they could accommodate us in another room. When we returned in the evening the staff on the desk demanded to know why we had left our bags in the room although it was clear from things they said subsequently that they were perfectly well aware of their own mistake and were trying to pretend that it was we, and not they, that had done wrong. Then they demanded to know what we had signed to confirm our ongoing reservation. On satisfying themselves that there was nothing in writing they continued in the same vein for sometime. There was eventually a loud and resentful apology because the hotel was already fully booked and we should never have been told we could stay. They then called in a heavy to escort us to our room to remove our luggage. Their attitude was appalling. They sought to blame us even though the error was clearly theirs. They had our contact details mobile phone and email but didn't have the necessary consideration or manners to call us as soon as they realised their mistake so that we could make other arrangements. Just before we arrived back at the Mecure York, the news announced that people should only make necessary journeys due to the serious flooding particularly bad in North Yorkshire. Indeed their own grounds were severely flooded. If you want to be treated like dirt on the bottom of a receptionists shoe stay here!!! The result was a woman and two children had to then travel for an hour in appalling weather conditions to get home followed by another hour back to York the next morning. If they had done the decent and honest thing and notified us as soon as they realised we would have had a good chance of securing alternative accommodation in York. We have travelled extensively on business staying in a wide variety of hotels but NEVER before have experienced such callous, rude, dishonest and appalling standards of customer care. In fact the phrase 'customer care' isn't even relevant in this place. Everyone makes mistakes and admitting them and apologising for them is always the best course of action. It was absolutely gutless and cowardly to ascertain that I had not signed anything and then to blame us for their error.

Room Tip: Choose one but there's no guarantee it will be available when you arrive and if it isn't expect the receptionist to be be extremely rude to you and to seek to blame you rather than accept responsibility for her own mistake, apologise and help you find somewhere else to stay even if it is pouring with rain and severe flood warnings have been issued.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank TashiLooLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in bringing your concerns to our attention. The safety, security and welfare of all our guests is extremely important to us, and hence is considered a top priority in our industry. We would like to point out that the majority of all our reviews are reflected in a positive light, specifically pertaining to the attitude and approach of all our staff. Having personally investigated the details pertaining to your stay, it certainly appears that there has been a breakdown in communication. Needless to say, we trust that you can appreciate that there was no malicious intent on our part, and trust that your experience will be considered a case in isolation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Mercure York for easy access to a wedding we were going to during september.
The hotel was very easy to find, and very close to York and also close to a shopping retail park with a Tesco.
When we arrived we were offered breakfast at a discounted rate as we didn't have it with the room, which was ideal. The room was very spacious, it had a modern flat screen tv and a bathroom with a bath, which is always a must for me when I stay in a hotel! The staff were really helpful, when I asked for an iron it was there promptly and when we lost a cuff link they were more than happy to help. The only downside was that the bar closed very early on both nights, even though it was a weekend!
I would stay again if I was visiting York.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass_G_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is extremely satisfying to note that you have enjoyed your recent stay, as well as the size of our rooms and the service delivery of the staff. Our main bar closes at 11:00 pm, but we have a 24 hour drinks service which is available to all our residents. Your kind comments will be communicated to all our hard working staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Three of us shared a family room here last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A wedding reception was taking place when we checked in and we were concerned about noise when we learnt our room was on the ground floor near the function room. Once we were in the room we couldn't hear anything, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean the only negatives were that it got quite hot at night and there wasn't enough hot water for a shower on one morning.
The service was very good at reception and at breakfast. One of us had forgotten our toothbrush and we were impressed with the free toothbrush and tiny little toothpaste reception gave us.
There was a lot of choice at breakfast and it was all tasty and good quality.
The location of the hotel is good as it is so close to the park and ride (a taxi into York cost £10) and it is definitely somewhere we would stay again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank AlRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We trust that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, as is confirmed in your review. Unfortunately, due to an overnight power failure within the hotel, our main boiler was affected which had an impact on the supply of hot water for a very limited period. As you have enjoyed all the elements of your stay, we would like to thank you for providing us with your recent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews