We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed over for one night and held an all day work conference here this week. This is the first time I have been here and I was very impressed. Nothing was too much trouble and there was plenty of free parking.
My room for the night was very spacious, nicely furnished and clean. The view was poor but you can't have everything! The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent quality with a very good selection of both cooked and cold.
Our meeting room was well set out and had everything I required. The food all day was again of excellent choice, quality and quantity. Thank you to the chef of the day. Also, a special thanks has to go to 'Dave', our events manager of the day who looked after us so well. With service like you gave you will certainly attract repeat business.

Room Tip: I stayed in 413 - very spacious with a massive bathroom and a separate dressing area and plenty of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a valued review. Your comments have been well received, and all your positive comments will be communicated to all the staff involved in making your stay, as well as your conference, such a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    415
    199
    81
    41
See reviews for
206
568
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This was our second visit to the Fairfield Manor Hotel, and once again we had a pleasant stay. While our room was smaller than the one we had during our first stay, it was still spacious and comfortable. Our room had one double and one single bed, a desk, wardrobe, nightstands, a couple of chairs and a table large enough to make a good workspace. The bathroom was a bit more modest in size, though it was still large enough for a full-size bathtub. It was modern, clean and well-stocked with toiletries. The only complaint was that the mattress wasn’t the most comfortable, though we slept reasonably well. The Fairfield Manor’s public areas like the lounge/bar are nicely decorated and comfortable. We found the staff helpful as well. In terms of access to York, there is a park and ride close to the hotel, but if you don’t have a car, it’s a pricey taxi ride to the city centre. Overall, a nice hotel that we would stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. All your comments have been extremely well received, and we look forward to welcoming you to York in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We only stopped one night whilst there was a wedding in progress. We specifically requested a quiet room. The duests including the bride and groom were down the side of the hotel on the grass in the pitch black, with staff shouting and making more noise than thought possible. When I opened the window part of the frame fell from the top on my head. The wedding party made no attempt to keep the noise down even at 2-3am despite them being outside the bedroom windows and no where near any other part of the hotel.

The plumbing had a major problem. Everytime someone on the first floor used anything in the bathroom it was followed by the continuous sound of a fog horn. The bed mattresses was very poor quality, you couldnt move without sending the person next to you swaying up and down. Both my wife and I woke up with a bad back despite us never suffering before.

Charging extra for the Internet in your room despite our room being over £100 per night is pretty tight.

Despite this, the rooms were a good size and the breakfast was hot, tasty and had a good variety. There should be some basic dress code even at breakfast as there were people from a wedding party wondering around the restaurant in pyjamas and rediculous outfits. It made it feel like a cheap bed & breakfast but for an astronomical price.

Room Tip: I don't think there is such a thing in this hotel as a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porsche996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Whilst it is our sincerest intention to ensure that every guest experience is enhanced by our service and product offering, It is apparent that certain aspects of your stay were not positive. The large majority of all our guests, and certainly respondents on this website, have been extremely complimentary about the hotel and the service it has to offer. Unfortunately, due to the inconsiderate nature and behaviour of one or two individuals, it can spoil it for the rest of us. We would like to apologise for the fact that you have not enjoyed a good night's sleep, but trust that all the other aspects of your stay was enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had a fantastic weekend in York, and this was mainly due to the fantastic Mercure hotel. I booked this as a surprise for my husband's 30th. I booked through the website, and got a great deal (£198 for two nights). I put in the comments that this was a special weekend, and could they give us a room with a nice view? And they sure did!

They gave us a suite, room 301, which included a spa bath, a super king bed, a huge bedroom and a cosy livingroom. We were at the stairwell end of the corridor, but we didn't really hear people moving about at night. Only on the Saturday night we got a few kids running up and down the corridor (they were at a wedding), but that all stopped after 10.30ish. It is on a main road, but we didn't hear the traffic at all. Our room looked over the carpark, but from our bed, all we saw were the tops of the trees! We've been to a few hotels in our time, but this was by far the best for size, and general quality.

There is a bus stop right outside that takes you right into the centre of York, and costs about £1.90 for a single. The park & ride is about 15 minutes walk 2 minute drive, and costs about £2.50 for a return. So really well positioned, which is essential for York.

We were offered dinner for £20.12 for 3 courses + drink on the first night, and as we had been driving for about 4 hours, we were very grateful. The restaurant had great staff, got some good banter and the food was nice We even got a complimentary raspberry sorbet. I got the vegetable tempura and he got sausages and mash, and both meals were really good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, as they did everything to made it really special for us. Brilliant country location with like-city transport links, and a great hassle free stay. My only down-point is that we had to come home to our normal, tiny double bed!!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 or 2 are good, but you might get disturbed by passing people. Ask for something a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity in making your weekend a special one. By highlighting all the key elements you enjoyed, it is clear that your experience was extremely enjoyable. Your positive comments have been well received by all the staff, and we would like to thank you for taking the time in writing such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night during the summer. The hotel is not located close to town, so driving is required. The decor is older and needs updating. The rooms were clean and large enough to feel comfortable. The restaurant was ok - nothing special, but edible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Guest,

In response to your recent review, we would like to point out that our hotel offers an array of menus that are consistently enhanced and improved to the requirements of our guests. We trust that you have enjoyed most of the other aspects of your stay, and trust to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast.
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and i stayed for 4 days and explored all York had to offer. Located close to the 'park and ride' station that offered free parking and a cheap UKP2.50 return ticket into town. The hotel is located in beautiful parklike grounds. The rooms are large and bright, ours was on the ground floor at the rear (best rooms and away from any road noise) The staff were wonderful, the rooms clean and well appointed and the breakfasts fantastic. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the best choc chip biscuits I’ve ever tasted (now i must admit i took a few extra's off the trolley in the corridor as they were so YUMMY) Locally there is a great selection of restaurants and pubs plus one of the best Chinese just around the corner! You will enjoy your stay here, we certainly did!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are bright and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozteam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Guest,

You sincere comments have certainly brightened the day to an otherwise wet and flooded York. We are pleased that you enjoyed your four day stay, and trust that in enjoying your recent experience, we will be seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Staff were friendly, and the food in the restaurant was actually a nice surprise - excellent value for the 3 course meal deal that we had included in the room booking.

However, the decor is tired and our room was facing the busy main road where heavy traffic rumbled on all night which meant we did not sleep one bit. When I complained to the hotel afterwards they said it's "my own fault" for not asking to change rooms, apparently they would have happily given us another room even in the middle of the night. However, being tired retiring to the room fairly late after dinner, we just went to bed hoping the traffic would die down (it didn't). The hotel was not busy at all, I don't see why the reception staff allocated that room to us which is most exposed to the traffic noise. The other side of the hotel faces their private grounds. I disagree with the management's response, and feel insulted having been allocated the worst room in the building out of pure cheek or ignorance by staff. It is not what you expect from a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't stay on the side which faces the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing the above feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the food and that my staff provided you with good service. Regarding you comment about the decor, this has to be equated to personal taste. The section of the hotel where you were located is part of the original manor house and the decor is in keeping with this period. Allocations of rooms are decided solely on room types booked by our guests. We have a variety of rooms available and not all the rooms in our hotel are the same. Unfortunately as you have not provided us with details, I am unable to comment on the occupancy of the hotel at the time of your stay. I would nevertheless like to thank you for providing us with the feedback regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing