We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B+B York(York)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
389
445
221
90
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
445
221
90
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridehungry horselovely hotelgood sizebuffet styleminute driverestaurant staffbar pricespublic areasdouble bedstaff on receptionboth morningscity centreone night staywould stay againprivilege roomtea and coffee making facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,006 - 1,011 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Don't understand any adverse comments, we had an excellent stay, the staff were very helpful and polite. The food was excellent and as they had a deal on when we were there it was reasonable,. The room was very quiet and clean , the bed was comfortable. Not far from York but as parking in York was very expensive we would suggest you use the Park and Ride which is about a mile down the road towards York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvin881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with such positive comments in your recent review. The quality of service and the well being of all our guests is of paramount importance to us as a business, and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I were on a tour, joining 43 others, coming from Edinburgh on the way to London eventually.
Mixed reviews on this hotel, formerly Fairfield Manor:
Reception, Waiting Rooms, and Dining area quite good-sized and looks good.
Room was good-sized, with a double and single bed. Washroom was good-sized, but water pressure was not good. Hot water faucet in washbowl needed to be turned quite a lot and then it came out slowly. Shower water pressure affected greatly by other rooms turning on the water! No mat for the bathtub; luckily we brought our own. Directions were needed for the thermostat, and it was not that clear - nothing as simple as simply adjusting the temperature!
And of course, two knows for the shower. One knob is for temperature, the other knob is for strength of water coming out. And the knobs are very hard to grip when your hands are soaped.
Excellent meal: Pork pate and Melon; Roast Pork; Chocolate and Ice cream very good.
Breakfast was good. However, they were short-staffed, and some items such as cereal and juices were out and when we brought it up to the attention of the staff, they were very curt. Had to wait a while before they brought out the items.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with us, and for providing us with a review. All of your comments have been taken into account, and have been discussed with the relevant heads of department who will no doubt be addressing all the relevant issues you have brought to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed over for one night and held an all day work conference here this week. This is the first time I have been here and I was very impressed. Nothing was too much trouble and there was plenty of free parking.
My room for the night was very spacious, nicely furnished and clean. The view was poor but you can't have everything! The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent quality with a very good selection of both cooked and cold.
Our meeting room was well set out and had everything I required. The food all day was again of excellent choice, quality and quantity. Thank you to the chef of the day. Also, a special thanks has to go to 'Dave', our events manager of the day who looked after us so well. With service like you gave you will certainly attract repeat business.

Room Tip: I stayed in 413 - very spacious with a massive bathroom and a separate dressing area and plenty of additional chairs and tables to watch TV, read or relax. Not a great view from this room though, pity as it has a massive '3 window' bay window.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a valued review. Your comments have been well received, and all your positive comments will be communicated to all the staff involved in making your stay, as well as your conference, such a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This was our second visit to the Fairfield Manor Hotel, and once again we had a pleasant stay. While our room was smaller than the one we had during our first stay, it was still spacious and comfortable. Our room had one double and one single bed, a desk, wardrobe, nightstands, a couple of chairs and a table large enough to make a good workspace. The bathroom was a bit more modest in size, though it was still large enough for a full-size bathtub. It was modern, clean and well-stocked with toiletries. The only complaint was that the mattress wasn’t the most comfortable, though we slept reasonably well. The Fairfield Manor’s public areas like the lounge/bar are nicely decorated and comfortable. We found the staff helpful as well. In terms of access to York, there is a park and ride close to the hotel, but if you don’t have a car, it’s a pricey taxi ride to the city centre. Overall, a nice hotel that we would stay at again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. All your comments have been extremely well received, and we look forward to welcoming you to York in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews