We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

On arrival the Lithuanian receptionist was extremely helpful, however finding the room required navigational skills. The restaurant staff especially Wendy was pleasant and helpful, the only problem at breakfast (adequate no more) was the out of control child on both mornings, an unpleasant start to the day.
The room was reasonably furnished, not looking onto the main Shipton Road, however the entertainment system was dated, old tv poor picture. On the first night the bathroom door jammed, on contacting the night manager an employee arrived within minutes and issue resolved temporarily, the next morning problem resolved by maintenance.
As stated previously bar prices are pricey, however the Hungry Horse is only five minutes walk away, prices are almost half the hotels. Also across from the hotel is a bus stop with a service to and from York, however this stops at 18:00.
The hotel is quirky, pleasant and helpful staff however the decor appears to be in a time warpWould we stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy that the problems you reported during your stay were resolved without delay, and that you have found the service and the friendliness of the staff to your liking. We look forward to your return to York in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    399
    190
    77
    37
See reviews for
193
548
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on a short break to York, arrived late but greeted by a friendly helpful receptionist who sorted out all the necessary information.

Room was clean and well presented. Bed very good size and duvet comfortable.

Bar area looked welcoming - though bar prices fairly pricey.

Great evening spoiled by other guests arriving back to room at midnight - talking loudly in the hall way.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craggy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with some valuable feedback related to your recent stay. Your review will be shared with our reception team, as well as the other departments who have endeavoured to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My daughter spent hours reading the reviews of hotels in the York area before choosing Fairfield Manor and my wife and I are delighted with her selection,after we stayed there for two nights as a family party of four,earlier this week.
From the moment of arrival to our departure we experienced the true meaning of hotel hospitality exemplified by outstanding service,courtesy and comfort in this hotel of character.
We were impressed by the efficient and diligent staff who went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed our brief stay and I would like to mention Chelsea at reception and Lauren and her team in the splendid restaurant,who particularly impressed with their friendly and professional attitude.
Our rooms were delightful,being spacious,spotlessly clean and providing excellent comfort with every amenity provided....including complimentary beverages,toiletries and even a morning newspaper!
The hotel manager, Mr.Kevin Mcdonald,was charming and welcoming when we met him casually, shortly after our arrival, and we felt that he expressed a genuine desire to ensure that guests at this hotel received service of the highest level.
The cuisine was both varied and excellent value,offering a wide choice and the service was quick and delivered in a friendly manner.
The spacious grounds are delightful and it is evident that there is more work to be done before
it reaches maturity.
We will certainly return to this lovely hotel when we next visit York and congratulate Kevin and his team on providing such an exemplary service....delivered with a smile.

Regards and thanks to you all

David Kellner

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the 'old' part of this hotel which are spacious and full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicaltype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments related to your recent stay at our hotel. We are are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed each and every aspect of your stay. Your invaluable feedback will be passed on to all the hardworking staff, and we look forward to your return to York in the near future.

Kind regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

After scouring the internet for many hours i decided on this hotel for a two night stay for myself,my husband and my parents.I could not have chosen any better.From the moment we checked in we were met with efficiency and politeness.How charming to be booked in by someone who actually took the time to genuinely inquire about our journey and our day so far,not as a well rehearsed spiel,but as someone who was actually interested.I work in customer services,i know a false smile when i see one!The hotel itself is charming,spotlessly clean with nice grounds and communal areas.Everyone we encountered was charming personified,we felt relaxed and at home immediately.The restaurant serves wonderful,well priced meals and the service is superb.Breakfast is a self serve affair and you have waiting staff serving your tea,coffee and toast.The hotel is located near to York city centre,do take advantage of the nearby park and ride as we did.The bathroom was spotless,with fluffy white towels and a good array of toiletries.The bedlinen was first class cotton with soft plump pillows and a wonderful mattress that ensured a good night's sleep.A special mention to Chlesea the receptionist who was wonderful.We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsay f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It is extremely rewarding to know that our guests are leaving satisfied. I am sure Chelsea with be really happy to read you comment and I have to agree with you, the team are very committed to providing a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. I am sure there are some occasions where we do not live up to this standard but your comments reassure us we are heading in the right direction.
Thank you for your lovely review and we do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I booked Mercure in York, to meet up with an old flame, it does look impressive on the outside and probably booked it on the basis of this rather than the inside of the hotel. To be honest as others have mentioned it could do with a bit of a spruce up internally. The room itself seemed little different from what you would expect to get from a Travelodge, in fact I've certainly had larger rooms at Travelodge so for £150 a night I was expecting something a bit better room wise. The breakfast which we had to pay extra for, was reasonable and value for money. We had a bit of a problem with the access key card but this was resolved by the pleasant reception staff who were always helpful and polite. The hotel grounds are quite impressive and great if you like to watch rabbits and wildlife. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would quite happily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate the interior might not be to everyone's liking but we think it is in keeping with the style of the manor house. I was please that this did not have a negative influence on your stay and was glad to read that we delivered on most of your expectations. Our grounds do add value to the property and we are pleased that the wildlife has returned now that we have reclaimed the pond area, just need some rain to top up the water level but I am sure that comment will not be well received by most.

Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and i booked in here for an overnight stay on a visit to York. We stayed on a midweek night as we normally find many hotels we stay at for a 'relaxing break' have wedding parties staying at weekends, which can be quite noisy.
We were really impressed with the hotel which was clean, and the staff from checking in at reception, in the bar and to the restaurant, were really pleasant and helpful. We had a room that was spacious and clean on the first floor. The food was really nice and they has a special 3 course (inc. drink) on the menu for a good price. The hotel is ideally located for York, and close to one of the park and rides and a small retail park up the ring road.
Would we recommend this hotel and stay again.....yes we definitely would.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I was really pleased to read that your stay with us met your expectations. Our team are a great asset to our hotel and I have to agree, the 3 course Tasty Meal offer is of exceptional value. The park and ride does add value too as finding parking in the city especially over the summer season is extremely challenging.

Thank you for your kind word of encouragement and we do hope you will visit us soon.

Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing