We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible room”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked prestige room, more like a suite, huge room beautiful 4 post bed incredible value for money.
Receptionist very helpful and proactive.
Breakfast quality very good, service was a little slow, was however height of season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the features and character of the accommodation booked, and in addition would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the reception team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    413
    197
    79
    40
See reviews for
203
564
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the many positive reviews, as I wanted a hotel near York, but not in the centre (park and ride about 10 minute walk from hotel). It was a one night stay, for my husband and I, as he was on business in the area. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. I had booked an enhanced double room, but the room we had, far exceeded our expectations. It was room 413 which I understand to be the bridal suite, complete with four poster, Jacuzzi, Nespresso & robes. I don't often go on business with my husband, but I was so pleased I did on this occasion.
The hotel had lots of character, immaculate, and very well decorated. The restaurant was lovely too. The staff (Lauren?) looked after us well, and helped my husband in his dietary requirements.
wine a little expensive (about £4.50 for small glass), but to be expected in a hotel of this quality.
As with a previous guest, I also experienced the unruly child, which was annoying, but nothing to do with the hotel, not quite sure what they can do about that situation.
Checkout was mid day, which was very helpful for me, and I didn't leave until gone 11.00. Would loved to have stayed another night, and if I was in York again, would almost definitely return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for room 413.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with an extremely helpful and much appreciated review. It is such a pleasure knowing that our guests are leaving with a feeling of fulfillment, and hope that your experience has enticed you to return to our hotel. Your positive comments about our reception team, as well the the consistent passion for service delivered by Lauren and her brigade, will be cascaded throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is the fourth time we've stayed at this hotel due to family moving to York. It's an excellent choice - rooms are good-sized, scrupulously clean and well-presented, with plenty of storage and tea/coffee making facilities. The beds are very large and extremely comfortable.
The hotel is on the outskirts of York and has plenty of parking spaces in th4e grounds and is less than 10 minutes by car from the nearest Park and Ride, where buses run every six minutes into the centre of York - by far the best way to get into the city. To be able to walk round the grounds or sit under the trees at the chairs/tables provided and watch the rabbits is a very peaceful way to round off the day!
Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food - however only worth it if booked as part of the deal, as it's pretty pricey to pay separately. Because of frequent visits to a very new grandson who hasn't learned what standard mealtimes are we ate at the Hungry Horse a few minutes down the road which has excellent pub grub and quick service, rather than book dinner at the hotel.
The only downside was a bathroom which looked a little "tired" (although as previously said very clean) - the first time I tried to use the pull-out washing line the whole thing came away from the wall! - and although reported straight away to reception this wasn't fixed during our stay. However, a minor point in an otherwise very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudgeroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued custom and valuable feedback in relation to you recent stay at the hotel. We would like to point out that in addition to a fantastic dinner service in our restaurant, we offer an array of extremely competitively priced food and beverage items throughout the day in our lounge bar. Thank you for a lovely review, and we look forward to your return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

On arrival the Lithuanian receptionist was extremely helpful, however finding the room required navigational skills. The restaurant staff especially Wendy was pleasant and helpful, the only problem at breakfast (adequate no more) was the out of control child on both mornings, an unpleasant start to the day.
The room was reasonably furnished, not looking onto the main Shipton Road, however the entertainment system was dated, old tv poor picture. On the first night the bathroom door jammed, on contacting the night manager an employee arrived within minutes and issue resolved temporarily, the next morning problem resolved by maintenance.
As stated previously bar prices are pricey, however the Hungry Horse is only five minutes walk away, prices are almost half the hotels. Also across from the hotel is a bus stop with a service to and from York, however this stops at 18:00.
The hotel is quirky, pleasant and helpful staff however the decor appears to be in a time warpWould we stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy that the problems you reported during your stay were resolved without delay, and that you have found the service and the friendliness of the staff to your liking. We look forward to your return to York in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on a short break to York, arrived late but greeted by a friendly helpful receptionist who sorted out all the necessary information.

Room was clean and well presented. Bed very good size and duvet comfortable.

Bar area looked welcoming - though bar prices fairly pricey.

Great evening spoiled by other guests arriving back to room at midnight - talking loudly in the hall way.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craggy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with some valuable feedback related to your recent stay. Your review will be shared with our reception team, as well as the other departments who have endeavoured to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My daughter spent hours reading the reviews of hotels in the York area before choosing Fairfield Manor and my wife and I are delighted with her selection,after we stayed there for two nights as a family party of four,earlier this week.
From the moment of arrival to our departure we experienced the true meaning of hotel hospitality exemplified by outstanding service,courtesy and comfort in this hotel of character.
We were impressed by the efficient and diligent staff who went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed our brief stay and I would like to mention Chelsea at reception and Lauren and her team in the splendid restaurant,who particularly impressed with their friendly and professional attitude.
Our rooms were delightful,being spacious,spotlessly clean and providing excellent comfort with every amenity provided....including complimentary beverages,toiletries and even a morning newspaper!
The hotel manager, Mr.Kevin Mcdonald,was charming and welcoming when we met him casually, shortly after our arrival, and we felt that he expressed a genuine desire to ensure that guests at this hotel received service of the highest level.
The cuisine was both varied and excellent value,offering a wide choice and the service was quick and delivered in a friendly manner.
The spacious grounds are delightful and it is evident that there is more work to be done before
it reaches maturity.
We will certainly return to this lovely hotel when we next visit York and congratulate Kevin and his team on providing such an exemplary service....delivered with a smile.

Regards and thanks to you all

David Kellner

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the 'old' part of this hotel which are spacious and full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicaltype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments related to your recent stay at our hotel. We are are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed each and every aspect of your stay. Your invaluable feedback will be passed on to all the hardworking staff, and we look forward to your return to York in the near future.

Kind regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,257 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing