We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a lovely location and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rmackey11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were on a short, 2 night break for a bit of rest and relaxation and this hotel is certainly well situated being very near the park and ride for an easy access into York. Staff were helpful and polite and our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable - better on the second day. On the first day, much of the cooked food was getting cold so not very good. We would consider staying there again

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the back of the hotel away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucylocket87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I was pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you found the park and ride to be convenient and that it added value to your stay. I have address your comments with the relevant manager regarding your breakfast feedback and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We do look forward to you staying with us again on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

have no fears staying here....we had a great weekend in York, using the mercure as a base. we wanted to eat out in York with our friends, so cant comment on any food . However, I can comment on very friendly service, very nice room ( clean, tidy and spacious ). we got a taxi in /out to the city centre ( £10 each way ) there is a park and ride along the road but a bit of a walk for women in unsuitable shoes :)
in short, this hotel exceeded our expectations, our friends also liked it and we would certainly stay here again....
there is a pub a 5 min walk from the hotel called the hungry horse,' get what you pay for' pub grub but very reasonable prices spent our first night in there having a quick bite to eat and a good 3/4 hrs drinking, tab came to £104 for 4 of us.....( including food :) )

Room Tip: we stayed on ground floor and the room was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruciem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a pleasant visit to York.
we do look forward to you staying with us again on your next visit to York

Kind Regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Travelling back from the North, we booked this hotel for a night expecting "the tranquil haven" (as described on their website). It was anything but! We were given two ground floor rooms ( there were 4 of us) which were facing the busy road. It was like being in a roadside motel! To get to these rooms, one had to go down some rather tired looking and very narrow corridors. These were very sub-standard rooms, not worthy of a 4* hotel and they should have never been allocated to the paying guests, especially as the hotel rates we were paying were very similar to those of Central York Hotels. The hotel certainly didn't look full and as we turned up shortly after the normal check-in time why we were given those rooms is beyond me. The fire escape door facing the hotel drive in one of the corridors was left wide open -so much for the security! We were looking forward to spending some time in the gym, only to be told that the local gym they have arrangements in place with is not even walking distance from the hotel! When we got there, we were told we had to rent towels as hotel didn't tell us to take some with us! The breakfast was so-so; not a great deal of choice and not the best quality stuff ( this is supposed to be a 4* hotel!),some rather cheap tasting juice from the concentrate and the usual fry-up. The two staff ( there were rather short-staffed that morning) looked somehow out of their depth. One could, however, order from the breakfast menu in addition to/ instead of the buffet at no extra charge which was good. The concierge (or was he the porter?; it wasn't clear!) when asked where to park in York, which was 15 min drive, told us to take a taxi instead, rather than drive as parking was apparently expensive anywhere in York. Luckily, we ignored his advice, drove into town and found underground parking with very reasonable charges. All in all, not the best experience of a hotel stay. Sorry, Mercure!:(

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden and not the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay and for this I would like to offer my sincerest apology. Your feedback will be passed onto the relevant department managers who will address your concerns with their teams. It is difficult for me to comment on your room allocation as you have not mentioned a stay date or room number.
We do hope you would consider choosing to stay with us again on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been meaning to do this review for a while as we got married on August 17th this year
From day one we were so impressed with the Hotel and Leanne who was our wedding co-ordinator
She never failed to answer questions we had as we are a couple of a certain age and needed
much guidance. We were so impressed that we booked the same day as we visited.
Our wedding day couldn't have run any smoother as Randall our"man" for the day was always nearby and helped with everything, always asking if we needed anything and guided us before the
ceremony.He was always putting us at our ease.
The wedding breakfast was superb and although we chose the particular menu we could not have wished for better, all our guests remarked on how much they enjoyed it and everyone was most impressed with the hotel and the staff.
We did have rain but nothing could take the shine off the whole day.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was lovely and some of our guests also stayed and again were really impressed . The breakfast was very tasty and really completed our lovely weekend. Finally yet again we should just like to thank The Mercure and all it's staff for making our special day even more special
We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and especially for weddings. Superb!!!
Mr. and Mrs. Bryan McCabe (York)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I was pleased to read that we added value to your special day and we are grateful that you found the time so early in your marriage to provide us with your feedback. I will communicate your kind words to both Leanne and Randall who I know, will take inspiration from your feedback.
We wish you all the best for the future and hope we get to meet again sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is our 3rd weekend break at this hotel. On this occasion we stayed in a room in the older part of the building. Really nice, comfy spacious room if you don't mind traditional décor, which was ok with us. Four poster bed, plenty of storage, feature fireplace and roomy bathroom but unfortunately no safe or mini bar. Very helpful staff throughout the hotel. Cooked breakfast was good with the usual "English" as well as several fish choices but no cold meat or cheeses for continental goers and a lack of nice fresh bread rolls. Evening meal on our first evening was included in our package and was very nice. Room service evening meal on 2nd night was also very nice and staff went out of their way to meet our requirements. All in al,l a pleasant, clean, comfortable hotel with a professional but easy going atmosphere and handy for the park and ride. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshireblonde99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your support and am glad to read that you have another enjoyable stay. As mentioned, we do not provide a safe or mini bar in the room however, we have safes available at the reception desk and we offer a 24 hour rooms service which includes beverages. We do hope you make use of these facilities should you choose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £58 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing