We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“pleasent stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we went for a short break after Christmas the room was average. Mattress was lumpy and the pillows soft.
No toilet brush in the toilet.
The location was outside of york but there is buses over the road to take you into york.
Breakfast was average self service but maybe old depending on what time you get there.
I had porridge which was very nice but you need to ask for it
Staff were generally friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback and your comments have been noted and changes made where possible. I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    414
    198
    81
    41
See reviews for
206
566
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for the second time in a couple of months while taking our daughter back to uni, standards still good and staff very pleasant.Booked hotel about 4 weeks prior to stay for a bargin £48 ( not including breakfast), bedroom very spacious for 2 people evening meal and breakfast excellent.Will be staying again later in the year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmiler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was again pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that your expectations had been met. We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us again and look forward to your return visit then next time you are visiting York. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We chose this hotel mainly for its affordability and proximity to York. We had a great time, the hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very helpful and the overall stay was enjoyable. There were only couple of small issues- the tv had a two small red lines across the screen and the shower kept loosing pressure. Other than that is was worth every penny we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcadoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that we met your expectations and that your experience at our hotel added value to your York visit.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit and I would like to wish you and your family a very happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here on our way through England and quite enjoyed it. The rooms were a bit old but nothing to write about. They were exceptionally clean and spacious and the service was very good.

We arrived late and were tired so we opted for room service. The menu isn't extensive and the cost is what you'd expect from a room service menu (overpriced) but the food arrived quickly, was hot and pretty good.

Would probably not choose this hotel for anything other than a bed to sleep in, if we stayed longer than one night passing through we probably would have chosen elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noemitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. It is pleasing to read that we met your expectations and enhanced your visit to York.
We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy 2014.
Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

On entering the hotel everything looked fine, a nice reception area very modern and clean. But then you went into your room, we were in a room facing the A19. It was very dated the widow surrounds were filthy inside the secondary double glazing, also the paintwork on the outside was peeling off. The bathroom was also very dated with no hot water from about 18.00 hours ( it was New Year's Eve so I suppose everyone was trying to have a bath at the same time ) which meant we had to go down to dinner without a bath.
The dinner was excellent and the service was superb the staff were very helpful and efficient as they were in the rest of the hotel. The disco was so loud that many people were sat outside in the lounges to get away from the noise.
The next morning the breakfast was very good with a very extensive buffet.
All in all we had a good evening, but the bedrooms are much in need of a refurbish.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel only minutes from the park and ride for York and don't mind a clean but outdated bedroom this could well be a hotel for you.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 200Peter200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read that we met your expectations and enhanced your visit to York and your NYE evening. Your comments have been passed onto our DJ.
We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The room was spotlessly clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only few things that stopped this being a 5* review are that the TV didn't work properly in the room, and the facilities provided were not what I've come to expect from 4* hotels. Having said that I booked this stay on a superb deal so I can't really complain, it was a good stay and I would. Definitely consider it again on my next trip to York!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. It is pleasing to read that we met your expectations and enhanced your visit to York.
We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As with an increasing number of Mercure hotels, this one feels like is on a really tight budget; all the pretentious of a four star, but the reality is a tired, tacky environment.

Having booked for a two night stay over New Year, including the gala dinner (which was a normal dinner in the restaurant, but with the world's worst DJ).

Everyone was encouraged to "dress to impress" - so dressing up in one's finest was the name of the game... Normally preceded by a shower or bath, except at 6.30pm there was no hot water. At 7.00pm we were told the the boiler had been restarted (!) and would take a few minutes to heat up. At 8.20pm, with no hot water still, we had boiled kettles to heat water so as to wash in the sink... I would stay in a nice third world country hotel if I wanted to do this.

This was the top of the iceberg... Why would you not check to see if TVs worked in rooms; why would you serve a Weetabix for breakfast with no milk on a plate; why would you serve a pot of tea with no cups; why would you serve uncooked bacon; why would you find all of the the roughest, unpalatable wines ever made and charge over 20 quid a bottle for them. What a mess this place is.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the stores - the staff like to congregate and have a good (loud) chinwag at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was extremely disappointed to read your feedback especially after receiving numerous compliments regarding the entertainment and our NYE event in general. While we did experience an issue with the boiler, this was immediately rectified and back to normal in a reasonable length of time.

I can also confirm that we meet all the AA 4 star requirements and therefore regard our hotel to be of a 4 star quality establishment.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing