We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Stretford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for a short break as xmas present for my husband as he has never been to York.
We Loved it.
Hotel on arrival was warm & welcoming, All Staff Lovely they could not do enough for you, Rooms, nice decor we had ground floor just off the main reception thought this would be a problem but i was wrong there was no noise at all the hotel was very quite even though it was full on the days we stayed, my only moan "not enough refreshments in room",
Restaurant realy nice, decor fits the surroundings,
Food was outstanding, Breakfast was 10/10, all you could eat, they came out regularly to make sure they didnt run out of anything,
Price in Bar little bit pricey,
Overall, hotel clean welcoming & freindly. 10/10
Places to visit York Centre, about 5 minute drive from hotel, parking in the centre expensive, NO parking down the side streets, would do the park n Ride when we stay again.
I would recomend this hotel, it was a winner with me & My husband

Room Tip: All rooms are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review. What a lovely present to give to your husband. I was pleased to read that we added value to his first visit to York. We are extremely fortunate to have a lovely hotel in a truly wonderful city and it does give us great pleasure when we read that we have met our guests needs.
I would also like to recommend that when travelling into the city centre that our guests make use of the nearby park and ride.
I hope you choose to stay with us on your next return to York and I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    415
    199
    81
    41
See reviews for
206
568
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We visited Fairfield Manor for a one-night New Year package, as part of a family group of six, and had a wonderful time.
We were allocated rooms on the ground floor (with great disabled access to all facilities for the older members of our group). Rooms were nicely appointed. The hotel has lovely lounges and a bar area, all open plan, and nicely furnished, great for a family get together.
We had a fantastic gala dinner and disco. Food quality and service was excellent. We had preordered a drinks package including wine, beer, vodka mixers, orange juice, coca-cola and water, and this proved to be good value for money. A glass of bubbly was also provided to everyone just before midnight.
Breakfast the next morning was mainly buffet style. Once again, excellent quality and service was provided.
Our only concern was that there was no hot water for showers when we were getting ready for the gala dinner. This was due to the high volume of customers using showers at the same time. We told the manager, who dealt with the problem as best he could. We were given a box of chocolates and a letter of apology. Next morning, the water was hot ( but not as hot as we would have liked).
In spite of this, we still had a great time, and celebrated the start of the New Year in style. We would recommend the hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the food, service and entertainment. I was extremely unfortunate that the issue we experienced with the hot water happened at the time it did but I am pleased to say that this was rectified immediately and the issue is resolved.

I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014 and look for to you visiting us again on your return to York.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we went for a short break after Christmas the room was average. Mattress was lumpy and the pillows soft.
No toilet brush in the toilet.
The location was outside of york but there is buses over the road to take you into york.
Breakfast was average self service but maybe old depending on what time you get there.
I had porridge which was very nice but you need to ask for it
Staff were generally friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback and your comments have been noted and changes made where possible. I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for the second time in a couple of months while taking our daughter back to uni, standards still good and staff very pleasant.Booked hotel about 4 weeks prior to stay for a bargin £48 ( not including breakfast), bedroom very spacious for 2 people evening meal and breakfast excellent.Will be staying again later in the year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmiler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was again pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that your expectations had been met. We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us again and look forward to your return visit then next time you are visiting York. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We chose this hotel mainly for its affordability and proximity to York. We had a great time, the hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very helpful and the overall stay was enjoyable. There were only couple of small issues- the tv had a two small red lines across the screen and the shower kept loosing pressure. Other than that is was worth every penny we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcadoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that we met your expectations and that your experience at our hotel added value to your York visit.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit and I would like to wish you and your family a very happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here on our way through England and quite enjoyed it. The rooms were a bit old but nothing to write about. They were exceptionally clean and spacious and the service was very good.

We arrived late and were tired so we opted for room service. The menu isn't extensive and the cost is what you'd expect from a room service menu (overpriced) but the food arrived quickly, was hot and pretty good.

Would probably not choose this hotel for anything other than a bed to sleep in, if we stayed longer than one night passing through we probably would have chosen elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noemitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. It is pleasing to read that we met your expectations and enhanced your visit to York.
We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy 2014.
Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

On entering the hotel everything looked fine, a nice reception area very modern and clean. But then you went into your room, we were in a room facing the A19. It was very dated the widow surrounds were filthy inside the secondary double glazing, also the paintwork on the outside was peeling off. The bathroom was also very dated with no hot water from about 18.00 hours ( it was New Year's Eve so I suppose everyone was trying to have a bath at the same time ) which meant we had to go down to dinner without a bath.
The dinner was excellent and the service was superb the staff were very helpful and efficient as they were in the rest of the hotel. The disco was so loud that many people were sat outside in the lounges to get away from the noise.
The next morning the breakfast was very good with a very extensive buffet.
All in all we had a good evening, but the bedrooms are much in need of a refurbish.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel only minutes from the park and ride for York and don't mind a clean but outdated bedroom this could well be a hotel for you.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 200Peter200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read that we met your expectations and enhanced your visit to York and your NYE evening. Your comments have been passed onto our DJ.
We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing