We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    399
    189
    77
    37
See reviews for
193
546
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, especially in restaurant, lovely food. We will definitely visit again. The bed was comfortable and room very clean. Park and ride only a few minutes from hotel. Park and ride bus only £2.70 return and are every 5 minutes.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank janiegrace09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and delighted to read that you would visit us again.
We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to York.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The four of us stayed just after Christmas for two nights. On arriving early, there was no problem at reception and we were given our keys even though 2 hours before check in time. Both the rooms were clean and well maintained. The beds and pillows were comfortable,slept well both nights. Good variety for breakfast and topping up the food continuously. The bar was not overpriced and one evening we had a bar snack which was well cooked and again not overpriced. The public areas are clean and comfortable. We eat once in the pub (Hungry Horse) about 5 mins from the hotel, do not go there the food is absolutely horrible! You are better of eating and drinking in the Hotel. A couple of minutes to the park and ride, would recommend to visit York. The buses were a maximum of every 10 minutes, not once did we wait for a bus. Approx £7.50 for a group ticket for 4. I would certainly recommend and stay in the hotel again. All staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Where possible we do make a concerted effort to provide a room when our guests arrive. On this occasion we were able to accommodate and am grateful that you appreciated our efforts. I was pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings.
We do hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to York and I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of the winter offer and as we were wanting to get away from the busy city, it's location was perfect! Very pleasant welcoming from the reception, unfortunately we weren't the best of customers turning down an evening meal and breakfast as we had already eaten and we wanted to take full advantage on the 12pm checkout and have a decent Sunday morning lye in! We hope on our next stay to purchase both to get the full experience. The room was spacious, slightly better than basic and very clean! We thoroughly enjoyed our peaceful stay and found at the 45 pounds winter offer for two adults in a double room on a Saturday night was excellent value!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlm269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all our guests and the fact that you chose not to use our food and beverage offerings does not detract from the fact that we appreciate your support, met your needs and were able to provide you with some well earned sleep.
We do hope you choose to visit us again on your next visit to York and I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stretford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for a short break as xmas present for my husband as he has never been to York.
We Loved it.
Hotel on arrival was warm & welcoming, All Staff Lovely they could not do enough for you, Rooms, nice decor we had ground floor just off the main reception thought this would be a problem but i was wrong there was no noise at all the hotel was very quite even though it was full on the days we stayed, my only moan "not enough refreshments in room",
Restaurant realy nice, decor fits the surroundings,
Food was outstanding, Breakfast was 10/10, all you could eat, they came out regularly to make sure they didnt run out of anything,
Price in Bar little bit pricey,
Overall, hotel clean welcoming & freindly. 10/10
Places to visit York Centre, about 5 minute drive from hotel, parking in the centre expensive, NO parking down the side streets, would do the park n Ride when we stay again.
I would recomend this hotel, it was a winner with me & My husband

Room Tip: All rooms are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review. What a lovely present to give to your husband. I was pleased to read that we added value to his first visit to York. We are extremely fortunate to have a lovely hotel in a truly wonderful city and it does give us great pleasure when we read that we have met our guests needs.
I would also like to recommend that when travelling into the city centre that our guests make use of the nearby park and ride.
I hope you choose to stay with us on your next return to York and I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We visited Fairfield Manor for a one-night New Year package, as part of a family group of six, and had a wonderful time.
We were allocated rooms on the ground floor (with great disabled access to all facilities for the older members of our group). Rooms were nicely appointed. The hotel has lovely lounges and a bar area, all open plan, and nicely furnished, great for a family get together.
We had a fantastic gala dinner and disco. Food quality and service was excellent. We had preordered a drinks package including wine, beer, vodka mixers, orange juice, coca-cola and water, and this proved to be good value for money. A glass of bubbly was also provided to everyone just before midnight.
Breakfast the next morning was mainly buffet style. Once again, excellent quality and service was provided.
Our only concern was that there was no hot water for showers when we were getting ready for the gala dinner. This was due to the high volume of customers using showers at the same time. We told the manager, who dealt with the problem as best he could. We were given a box of chocolates and a letter of apology. Next morning, the water was hot ( but not as hot as we would have liked).
In spite of this, we still had a great time, and celebrated the start of the New Year in style. We would recommend the hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the food, service and entertainment. I was extremely unfortunate that the issue we experienced with the hot water happened at the time it did but I am pleased to say that this was rectified immediately and the issue is resolved.

I would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014 and look for to you visiting us again on your return to York.

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing