We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Valentines treat”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the 15th February, we booked the valentines package which included evening meal, chocolates and 2 glasses of champagne.
Check in was simple and were friendly, unfortunately we couldn't get our heating to work and mentioned it to the man on reception who sent 2 people to look, both could not get it to work and we was offered to move rooms (which we didn't mind) and a bottle of wine for our troubles.
Dinner was nice and we was again asked if our heating was working , when we said no we was offered free cocktails and the man went off to try and fix it again. In the end it worked!

Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and served till 12pm on a Sunday which was great as we didn't want to get up early!

Lovely staff, very helpful, would defiantly return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lydia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are pleased that we were able to resolve the issues you brought to our attention, and would like to thank you for the very positive comments you have passed on to us regarding the service you have recently experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    401
    191
    77
    37
See reviews for
193
551
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I booked this hotel for a single night, on business. When I arrived they thought I was a taxi driver !! very sqeaky foorboards outside my door, a good way of keeping you awake, The room had damp or a strange smell in the bathroom, and a tv without any reception - except the pay tv. Oh and did i mention the ambulance station just a few yards away from my bedroom window. Staff I think had heard it all before.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajax999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We have taken into consideration all the concerns you have brought to our attention, and would like to assure you that had you reported them to us, we would have resolved your concerns. We are naturally disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay, and would like to assure you that your experience is not reflective of the service we strive to attain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here last night. Arrived earlier than expected but our room was ready. A quick check in and we were directed to our room. The reception staff were very nice and friendly and extremely polite.
We were in room 421 which was overlooking the main busy road but the noise wasn't too bad and didn't bother us. The room itself was lovely, it was a family room and being just the 2 of us it felt huge with a separate lounge area,2 TVs tea and coffee making facilities and a nespresso machine. There were lots of lovely lightning and a real oldy worldly feel. It also felt a little spooky but didn't put us off at all. We loved our stay. The bathroom was really nice too with a big bath, amples of hot water and the usual mercury toiletries. The only thing I would say was that our room was red hot which was nice when we first went in but it was like being abroad at night with no air con. We could have rung down to reception and I'm sure they would have sorted it but after a big fat meal and lots of gin and wine to wash it down we just wanted to crawl into bed!! The bed was really big and so comfy.
We didn't eat in the hotel but the menus looked good and a 3 course meal on valentines night with a free glass of wine or beer or soft drink was just £22 I think and the breakfast this morning did smell good!!
The bar area is very quaint with little rooms off it. Drinks were the usual price you would expect to pay in a hotel. A gin and tonic and pint of Stella were £10 I think. If I was being really picky and I'm going to be the gin came with only 2 lumps of ice and no slice but when my husband asked for lemon it wasn't an issue the barman offered me lime or lemon and the next drink I had it came with lemon.

The reception staff were very helpful giving us information on how to get into York. We opted for a taxi as the other option they gave us was the park and ride but as we had had a drink the drive to the park and ride wasn't an option and although only about a 15 /20 minute walk it was absolutely throwing it down so we didn't fancy that. On reading the managers response to previous review he points out that there is bus stop about 100 yards from the hotel that goes into York but we didn't know about this! We ended up getting a taxi which cost us £15 as we had to divert due to traffic problems. All in all we had a great weekend and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaayjaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass on your lovely feedback to our reception team.
While the service of the public transport located 100 yards from the hotel is not as frequent or reliable as the park and ride, this information should still have been provided as an alternative method of transport. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused and certainly endeavour to build on the many positives provided in your review.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to York?

Kind Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I bought the hotel stay as a Christmas present for my mum, as she always wanted to visit York.

We arrived slightly early so the room wasn't available. However the receptionist did order us a taxi so we could go into York and enjoy the rest of our stay. Which was a nice gesture as not being from the area didn't have any telephone numbers.

We came back to the hotel after having the day out and having dinner. The weather wasn't the best, all we wanted was a warm relaxing even, to find the room freezing. There was no way of turning the heating on either. As it was January I would of assumed the heating to be on. We tired to mess around with some switches but nothing. We resulted in getting into bed earlier than expected to keep warm. Also in a couple of the beds we found hairs that did not belong to us. Which wasn't the best. The beds where relatively comfortable.

We work up in the morning and wanted some fresh air as the room was rather stale, only to find out the window did not open. Not even to let a tiny bit of air in. (I wouldn't of wanted to stop here in the summer as it would be far to warm to wake up to). The room above was very nosy and could hear them moving around at a very early hour of the morning, which unfortunately woke a couple of us up.

Overall, it was an alright stay, not sure if I'd stay here again. I can't comment on the food as we didn't have breakfast in the hotel, we went to the local pub down the road as it worked out a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly101090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed that you have not enjoyed the four star service we are renowned for, and will look into all your concerns with sincere interest and endeavour. We have a dedicated team of managers on duty 24 hours a day, and had you brought the matters to our intention, I have no doubt that they would have been resolved. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we trust that you will return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

stayed for 3 days 1st week in Feb
rooms great nice & clean massive beds , wifi free even in room ,
staff friendly ,hardworking & helpful ,especially the lovely Wendy in the restaurant
breakfast beautiful [no black pudding ],evening meals very good
could do with more staff as in busy periods not enough staff to cope with demands
enjoyed my stay & would return

Room Tip: 217 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fantastic review about your recent stay with us. Your kind comments will be passed over to our restaurant staff, and we are pleased that you found the facilities and accommodation to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing