We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“York weekend”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Visited with 2 other couples mid Feb. Have visited this hotel before, and sadly the hotel does now really need a bit of an update, However having said that the 2 night deal which included breakfast and dinner on the first night was good value. The staff are friendly, and happy to help, and the location which is close to the Park and ride is handy. Temperature in the rooms is a little to warm, for my liking and we couldn't seem to change this, if you like to be toasted you will be fine .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soocoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is extremely pleasing to note that you have found the location of the hotel, as well as the services to your liking. We have taken your comments about the heating into consideration, and would like to thank you for providing us with such valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    407
    196
    79
    37
See reviews for
197
558
12
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was booked as a secret hotel through lastminute.com.

Reasons for not staying here again:
Too far out from the city centre
We were put in a room directly opposite a staff/utlity room and next to two doors so it was constantly noisy
Window view was of a brick wall
Room service for two horrible sandwiches was £15
Misinformed about bus routes and timings
Dirty blanket on the bed
Bed was extremely uncomfortable - particularly the pillows
We asked to be put in the same type of room on another floor but the request was denied.
We walked 2.5 miles to a lovely B&B to avoid spending another night here.
Really disappointing for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuddlyPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a review. We are currently in the process of looking into the concerns you have raised with us in relation to your recent stay, and would like to ensure you that the service you were provided is not the service we are renowned for. It is important to us that the feedback we receive from all our guests is dealt with in a swift manner, and would like to thank you for taking the time in providing us with your views regarding your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple if nights while on a trip to York and I have to say it was extremely lovely. It looks amazing from the lobby and outside so I was slightly disappointed with a tiny room. But the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic with loads of choice, however drinks at the bar were quite pricey. Overall though great hotel in convenient place. I would definitely stay again. Thanks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AceHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you very valuable review regarding your last stay with us. We are constantly looking at new ways to improve the quality of our service, and would like to thank you for your much appreciated insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Outside and reception area nice. Booked in with a group of ladies for one night and a few of us had booked to be on our own in a room, I thought we paid £64 for a double room. Was disappointed when I went into my room (319) it was very small with a single bed but it was clean. Had problems with the hot water (there wasn't any) so had to to have a tepid bath. Next morning the shower started off nice and hot then dropped tepid again so had a cool shower (notified reception). Bit disappointed as the bar in the hotel shut at 11.00pm so when we arrived back to have a drink and chat at 11.15pm couldn't get a glass of wine. Must say though the breakfast next morning was lovely, plenty of choice. Overall review would be ok for a night, taxi to York was about £12.00 for a car, £17.00 for a 6 seater.... Room 319 might want to replace the pillows, like a couple of bricks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles131170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a review regarding your recent stay. We offer a 24 hour bar service, and would like to assure you that had you requested drinks upon your return, we would have gladly provided you with a multitude of offerings from our night service bar. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the breakfast and the service, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay here with my husband for a weekend in York. Got to say on first impression we were impressed. Got the key to our room 405 and again pretty impressed as we walked into a lounge area with TV, sofa and plenty of tea/coffee making supplies, it wasn't very warm in this area though. We then walked through into the bedroom area which again was lovely and warmer in there too, another TV. So far so good!! When we went into the bathroom, although it did have a jacuzzi bath, it was rather grubby, some of the grouting was filthy and the bath was chipped. Only for one night and we weren't sleeping in the bathroom so we thought wed manage. Well after a not so good sleep, the plumbing was very noisy, all you could hear all night was toilets flushing, really loud though and we were also near the main rd so very noisy traffic all night. Looking at the website I DONT know if we were just a little unlucky with our room as some of the others look lovely. It was really only the bathroom that let ours down but wouldn't stay again just because of the noisy plumbing, it was horrendous sadly. The staff were all very friendly

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are naturally disappointed that certain elements of your stay was not to your liking, and would like to assure you that we have corrected the concerns brought to our attention in your recent review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback, and we certainly hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We got the room for £45 as a part of a winter offer so I couldn't really complain.
The noise leaves were great and the bed was really comfy. However there were a lot of sneaky tricks like having to pay extra for the tv and the free wifi was awful.
Good value for the price we paid tho and not too far from York.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is important to us that each and every guest receives the desired service they have come to expect from a four star hotel, and would like to assure you that there is no charge for watching television in our rooms. There is, however, a charge for watching blockbuster movies on offer. We have taken your comments into consideration, and would like to thank you for providing us with the valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my other half stayed her for 2 nights in mid Feb. We got it for £156 plus a 'special gift' on arrival..... I've got to admit, I was pretty put out when our 'gift' turned out to be 2 bottles of water and 1 standard sized bar of chocolate haha!
Our room was gorgeous and absolutely huge. The bed was so big I think we forgot we were even sharing it with someone! It was also warm and clean with a standard sized TV with a good selection of films.

Drinks are your standard expense like all hotels but there are so many sofas and places to sit around the bar and reception!

The park and ride is a 1 minute drive down the road, almost not worth driving there but it is on a main road/roundabout so not that easily accessible on foot! Buses are there literally all the time and it's only £2 or so.

Would 100% come back, we adored our stay and the room service were even happy to serve us at midnight when we were very, very drunk! :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmmaTabitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and for telling us about the experience you have recently had. We are extremely appreciative of any feedback we receive, and look forward to your return to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,070 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing