We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab birthday weekend”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is our second stay at this superb hotel. Great staff who are very attentive, polite, service with a smile. We had a meal in the restaurant off the Brasserie menu which was really lovely and so tasty. We went here for a relaxing afternoon in the bar with friends for birthday celebrations, to chill and then have a meal in the evening. The hotel is lovely and spacious, lots of relaxing sofas to chill out around the reception area and in the bar. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. A very good standard!!!! Highly recommend for whatever occasion it is for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40TraceyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fantastic response with regards to your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the services available to you, and would like to wish you a happy belated birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    412
    197
    79
    40
See reviews for
203
564
12
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is an absolutely lovely hotel. Gorgeous grounds, room was comfortable and clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. Receptionist was lovely and friendly, always helpful. This is a short taxi ride out of York and is half what you'd pay for a much less luxurious place in town! If you can, I'd stay here instead! If I have one fault, it's that drinks in the bar aren't cheap (but still - when are they)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very kind comments you have provided us with in your recent review. We are very pleased with your opinion of our hotel, and would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Brilliant, Staff where really friendly and would do anything for you. The hotel was gorgeous very spacious. The room was big and lovely very clean. Would stay again without a doubt. Food was nice as well evening meal and breakfast. The grounds where nice and a little lake at the bottom of the garden was nice to walk down and have a look. Its not far from the centre. I have only put terrible on fitness centre and swimming pool as my partner had booked this for me so not sure if it had one. If it does we didn't use it and there was no option to put didn't use. Would HIGHLEY recommend.

Room Tip: " Suit at the front. "
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely appreciative of your recent review, and would like to thank you for complimenting the services which were made available to you during your stay. We would like to point out that we do not have a fitness centre, but we do offer complimentary access to a Gym and Spa centre approximately 1.5 miles from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming on arrival on a horrible wet night. Room on first floor was comfortable and quiet despite over-looking the car park. The radiator was located behind a heavy curtain, so the curtains had to be open to warm the room. But it worked!.Rooms probably need an update. Wi-fi in room did not work, but very speedy downstairs. Snack I had in bar was excellent, if a little pricey. The restaurant was a little formal, and I noted a few families were eating in bar area, I suspect as a result, A more relaxed atmosphere/style in the restaurant and a simple menu choice would be a great bonus to the hotel. Staff at breakfast had to be chased to make an order for porridge and did not seem entirely happy with their jobs. But again, check out was a joy and I left with an overall good impression. I would not recommend this hotel if you were planning a week-end in York itself, but for a business traveller it is great as you don't need to go into the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warfarinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It would appear that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We trust that you will return to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Visited with 2 other couples mid Feb. Have visited this hotel before, and sadly the hotel does now really need a bit of an update, However having said that the 2 night deal which included breakfast and dinner on the first night was good value. The staff are friendly, and happy to help, and the location which is close to the Park and ride is handy. Temperature in the rooms is a little to warm, for my liking and we couldn't seem to change this, if you like to be toasted you will be fine .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soocoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is extremely pleasing to note that you have found the location of the hotel, as well as the services to your liking. We have taken your comments about the heating into consideration, and would like to thank you for providing us with such valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was booked as a secret hotel through lastminute.com.

Reasons for not staying here again:
Too far out from the city centre
We were put in a room directly opposite a staff/utlity room and next to two doors so it was constantly noisy
Window view was of a brick wall
Room service for two horrible sandwiches was £15
Misinformed about bus routes and timings
Dirty blanket on the bed
Bed was extremely uncomfortable - particularly the pillows
We asked to be put in the same type of room on another floor but the request was denied.
We walked 2.5 miles to a lovely B&B to avoid spending another night here.
Really disappointing for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuddlyPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a review. We are currently in the process of looking into the concerns you have raised with us in relation to your recent stay, and would like to ensure you that the service you were provided is not the service we are renowned for. It is important to us that the feedback we receive from all our guests is dealt with in a swift manner, and would like to thank you for taking the time in providing us with your views regarding your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple if nights while on a trip to York and I have to say it was extremely lovely. It looks amazing from the lobby and outside so I was slightly disappointed with a tiny room. But the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic with loads of choice, however drinks at the bar were quite pricey. Overall though great hotel in convenient place. I would definitely stay again. Thanks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AceHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you very valuable review regarding your last stay with us. We are constantly looking at new ways to improve the quality of our service, and would like to thank you for your much appreciated insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing