We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oldest rooms available.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oldest rooms available.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff were good, helpful and polite. The main areas were fine, quite grand and clean, foyer, bar etc. But the rooms we were given (had to change from first room, as window broken and traffic noise horrendous) were obviously the oldest in hotel, as not like the other review pictures. In room 404 the toilet didnt flush, the sink and bath didnt empty properley, the towel rail fell off the wall when I touched it. The bath plug was rusty and the linoleum stained. A shame as the other reviews for hotel are good. very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Every concern brought to our attention is dealt with in a way in finding a positive resolution to ensure corrective measures are put in place. We have taken into account all the points you have mentioned, and would like to thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    400
    190
    77
    37
See reviews for
193
549
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding aniversary 15.11.13. We booked to stay 2 nights in york for a relaxing weekend with our relatives. On arrival we noticed a 60 seater coach outside and told our room was not available. Yet the coach party were all catered for! Last minute booking? Then we had a 30min drive to an alternative hotel far from york, which changed our plans and meant we couldn't meet up with our relatives... But hey what else could happen? Well then the following night we are allowed to stay in Fairfield manor hotel and we found some lovely blood stained bed linen.. Please see ebay item 191111620034 I have contacted the managers of this hotel and others to get a response but it just fell on deaf ears. I feel I have been forced to write this to warn others before booking. Disgraceful from such a large company!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D4rren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Could we kindly request that you send us some more information regarding your concern to the following e-mail address, gm.mercureyork@jupiterhotels.co.uk, as we would personally like the opportunity to respond to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel at a reasonable price range but requires you to have transport. Situated just north of the York ring road it is convenient for many of York's attractions without getting involved in the traffic of inner York unless you want to. Although generally quiet, if you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the bar area and lifts, but this applies to most hotels anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank richardthebrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Located just outside the hotel is a bus service that takes you in and around York, in addition to a very reliable and popular Park and Ride service within walking distance from the hotel. We would like to thank you for your comments, and trust to see you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, only a few days ago, we had upgraded to a suite which was well worth the extra. Everything was most satisfactory, ranging from the actual building/accommodation, the location of the hotel, the most helpful staff members, the quality of the food both, the breakfast and evening meals the cleanliness, size of the rooms the furniture and equipment, with a bathroom that was absolutely great. Would not hesitate to recommend a stay here to anyone visiting York. Warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a very grateful recommendation of the hotel and it's facilities. It is important to us that everyone staying at our hotel has a very enjoyable time, and we are thankful that we have not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was looking to stay in York for a couple of nights, and came across this gem. Basically the rules seem to be, the closer you stay to York City Centre the more expensive hotels appear to get regardless of rating. Saying that, the Fairfield is not remote but neither is it within walking distance. However, with the Park & Ride a few minutes up the road ( Which is a must unless you want to pay £11 a day car parking ) and the Hungry Horse pub on its doorstep for good value pub meals in the evening after a days sightseeing, what more do you want? Comfortable Clean rooms...you can tick that box too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is pleasing to note that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, and we look forward to your return to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is our second stay at this superb hotel. Great staff who are very attentive, polite, service with a smile. We had a meal in the restaurant off the Brasserie menu which was really lovely and so tasty. We went here for a relaxing afternoon in the bar with friends for birthday celebrations, to chill and then have a meal in the evening. The hotel is lovely and spacious, lots of relaxing sofas to chill out around the reception area and in the bar. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. A very good standard!!!! Highly recommend for whatever occasion it is for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40TraceyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fantastic response with regards to your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the services available to you, and would like to wish you a happy belated birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is an absolutely lovely hotel. Gorgeous grounds, room was comfortable and clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. Receptionist was lovely and friendly, always helpful. This is a short taxi ride out of York and is half what you'd pay for a much less luxurious place in town! If you can, I'd stay here instead! If I have one fault, it's that drinks in the bar aren't cheap (but still - when are they)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very kind comments you have provided us with in your recent review. We are very pleased with your opinion of our hotel, and would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing