We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mercure just outside York!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Mercure just outside York!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, we stayed three nights no complaints. Restaurant was very good on site and breakfast was good. Small bar area reasonably priced. Park and ride just on the junction 2mins away which takes you into York or 5 mins into York centre by car, beware parking is expensive 2.30 per hour or Nunnery Lane 11.50 for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Whilst the prices of certain parking facilities in York are compatively steep, we do offer complimentary parking for all our guests at our hotel, with the added benefit of using the Park and Ride which is just a short stop away. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    399
    189
    77
    37
See reviews for
193
546
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had our wedding here and stayed from the 21st to 23rd March. I can not recommend this hotel enough. The staff are amazing and so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The bridal suite is wonderful and the food was wonderful. Breakfast is great I had room service one morning and ate in the restaurant the other morning and they were both fantastic. The meals are great and portions are good size too. The hotel is ideally located for those wanting to go into York for the day as well as it is close to a park and ride and there is also a bus route that runs right outside. The 2pm check in time and late 12pm checkout is great as is the 8-12 breakfast times on a Sunday, no need to rush around. Thank you again to all the staff at Fairfield Manor for making our wedding such a dream come true.

Room Tip: Suites 413 & 414 are worth splashing out on, standard room 419 is also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Rosey16,

We are extremely pleased that you found the hotel and everything else on offer to your liking. All the staff will be extremely happy with your very kind comments, and we would like to extend our wishes to you on celebrating such a wonderful day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here over the weekend with my friend. The hotel is a bit of a trek out of York - the Taxi cost us almost £12 - not the £7 that it suggested on the website! Hotel was nice, big rooms and massive bed - was comfy and had a good sleep until rudely awakened by super noisy pipes from a nearby room (not sure if above or next to us) It was so noisy. Did not eat at the hotel other than a pizza at the bar on the friday night - took a long time to arrive but looked tasty! Bathrooms could do with being updated and although tea and coffee making facilities available a biscuit wouldn't go amiss!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. The average price of a taxi within a 3 mile radius anywhere in York would normally average at around anywhere between £10 and £12. We have a fantastic new menu on offer in our restaurant, and would kindly like to invite you to sample our cuisine on your next visit to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on the 29/03/2014 as went to see a show in York that evening.

On arrival to the hotel got parked ok but on arrival to the check in desk there was nobody present until i had waited there for 5 minutes to then see a member of the hotel staff. There was also a conference ongoing in which was rather disruptive as this made the check in lady quite apprehensive with checking me in and she mentioned that there is nothing she could have done or said. (the noise from the conference party was somewhat very distributing to other guests in the hotel)

I eventually got checked in, the rooms are quite dated compared to other places i have stayed room size was good, but the bathroom is in need of an update. The TV's where quite dated too as seen better TV's in Premier Inns!

The price was a special offer offered online through lastminute.com in which i paid around £76.00 for the room but i still feel this was over priced for what you got. (maybe this is why it came up cheaper than on their website to try and sell a room im unsure?!)

I enquired about the breakfast on check in but no details where taken from me apart from that they can order it at a special rate of £10.00 but there would be additional charges for this to be served in your room. I found this a little disappointing as i had travelled alone and felt penalised for wanting to eat alone in my room rather than alone in the main area downstairs. I agreed to the breakfast to be ordered but no procedures on what to do where really explained so i just assumed that reception had this sorted.

On the next morning i woke to find at 8.30am people talking very loudly outside my room and there was also a beeping sound to which i can only think this was the service lift? I was also disturbed several times that morning by housekeeping waking me up, do they not realise people on a sunday don't check out really early and also do they not check with main reception which rooms are empty ready for cleaning rather than disturb guests?

I got a telephone call at 10am to ask about breakfast in which i would have thought this had been brought to my room but it was then only explained to me that I SHOULD have filled out a card in my room for the breakfast choices. This wasn't made clear upon arrival. By this point i decided i didn't want the breakfast after all of the ill management and confusion from the hotel staff.

I checked out and had to be back home for Mother's Day so i didnt get chance to really let the gentleman on reception know about everything but i trust the hotel will read this review and take this seriosulyt.

One plus is that there is a local bus route the Number 19 route which takes you into the centre of York and it only takes 30 mins and its £2.00 for an adult ticket.

I wont be staying at the hotel again in the future as i think the hotel need to re-train or look at giving better customer service and updating their rooms to compete with neighbouring hotels that offer this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GazM_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. The service we provide our guests is something which we very much pride ourselves on, and we would like to assure you that the matter has been taken into serious consideration. It is important to us that the comments on this website reflects the service we are renowned for, and we would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very pleasant staff. Good food for dinner and breakfast. Lovely smoked haddock or kipper fillets at breakfast.
Easy to catch the bus across the road into the city centre, and easy for taxi return in the evening.

Room Tip: Walk in accessible showers available. Room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It is extremely important to us that our service and attentiveness is appreciated by all our guests, and would like to thank you for complimenting our food and the service you have received during your recent time with us. In addition, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A cozy hotel and not bad for the price. The rooms were good, spacious, clean. Bathrooms quite old though and worn down. Sleep quality was ok. Room was warm. TV didn’t work. A few minutes drive into town and plenty of free parking at the hotel. The best part was the staff is very friendly and helpful. Didn’t try their breakfast. However, I still haven’t received my le accor points despite it being 2 months since I stayed at the hotel and called them to follow up too, disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jraja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for noting some very interesting points. It is our intention to ensure that your comments are taken on board, and we would like to thank you for the kind comments about the service and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff were good, helpful and polite. The main areas were fine, quite grand and clean, foyer, bar etc. But the rooms we were given (had to change from first room, as window broken and traffic noise horrendous) were obviously the oldest in hotel, as not like the other review pictures. In room 404 the toilet didnt flush, the sink and bath didnt empty properley, the towel rail fell off the wall when I touched it. The bath plug was rusty and the linoleum stained. A shame as the other reviews for hotel are good. very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Every concern brought to our attention is dealt with in a way in finding a positive resolution to ensure corrective measures are put in place. We have taken into account all the points you have mentioned, and would like to thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing