We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely few days at the Fairfield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely few days at the Fairfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from spending a relaxing few days at this hotel :) Can I just put a special mention in for the breakfast staff please? Whilst we were there - these wonderful ladies and gents were rushed off their feet and at times, were having to deal with rude guests but they never once lost their smiles. They are a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was a joy - plenty of tasty, hot food.

Our room was lovely, we have stayed here before and requested the same room - a request that was honoured - more brownie points to the hotel :) Everything in the room was clean and in working order.

The only down side was that others in our party had very noisy neighbours - they were woken at 6am by the children in the next room shouting and banging about - the hotel staff did have a word with the parents of these children but sadly, the parents could not or would not keep their off spring under control :( This made for a sad end to what had been a lovely break - def not the hotels fault though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outoftowngirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very supportive comments, as well as for your continued custom and support. It is extremely satisfying to have guests return to the hotel, and we would like to thank you for your consideration in providing us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    395
    188
    77
    36
See reviews for
192
539
11
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my girlfriends birthday weekend having seen an offer for the nights bed and breakfast plus an evening meal for £150. Our meal allowance was around £46 so essentially we payed £100 for our b&b for 2 nights which was brilliant value. It has a good location near the park and ride with easy access into the city. The room was very nice and clean sort of like a nicer premier inn but with worse beds. We really did find the beds uncomfortable but we got a bit drunk and it stopped being a problem. Restaurant was average and so was breakfast if you don't have food as part of your package I wouldn't really bother eating there. There is much better food on offer in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSpaldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding your recent stay. Our sincerest intention is to address anything negative regarding your review, and we would like to thank you for all the positive feedback regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Whilst not in the centre this hotel's location is easily accessible to get to the city as the park and ride is a 5 min walk away. The hotel bar and restaurant is good and there is a reasonable pub a short walk away if you want to have a good value meal. The hotel grounds are impressive and I always find this hotel peaceful and clean with very friendly staff and secure parking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashirelass002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us feedback about your stay. We are extremely pleased that you find the hotel and all it's services to your liking, and would like to thank you for once again choosing our hotel as your preferred destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is situated a few miles outside York, set in extensive grounds. It is a quiet and restful place to stay and it's well worth the taxi fare to get into the city, since you'll save yourself a fortune in parking fees.

The staff are genuinely friendly and welcoming and go about their business with quiet efficiency. We found the breakfast in the restaurant to be as good as any buffet-style breakfast you're likely to encounter and if you order the kippers or smoked haddock and poached egg from the menu it will come to you freshly-cooked. The dinner we had was outstandingly good, which is not something you can often say about hotel food in general.

The rooms were comfortable and quite spacious and kept scrupulously clean and tidy. In general the hotel was kept in good repair and we would not hesitate to stay there again when we next visit York.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, and your very complimentary comments about the food, service and the total experience you have enjoyed. We look forward to your return to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, we stayed three nights no complaints. Restaurant was very good on site and breakfast was good. Small bar area reasonably priced. Park and ride just on the junction 2mins away which takes you into York or 5 mins into York centre by car, beware parking is expensive 2.30 per hour or Nunnery Lane 11.50 for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Whilst the prices of certain parking facilities in York are compatively steep, we do offer complimentary parking for all our guests at our hotel, with the added benefit of using the Park and Ride which is just a short stop away. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had our wedding here and stayed from the 21st to 23rd March. I can not recommend this hotel enough. The staff are amazing and so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The bridal suite is wonderful and the food was wonderful. Breakfast is great I had room service one morning and ate in the restaurant the other morning and they were both fantastic. The meals are great and portions are good size too. The hotel is ideally located for those wanting to go into York for the day as well as it is close to a park and ride and there is also a bus route that runs right outside. The 2pm check in time and late 12pm checkout is great as is the 8-12 breakfast times on a Sunday, no need to rush around. Thank you again to all the staff at Fairfield Manor for making our wedding such a dream come true.

Room Tip: Suites 413 & 414 are worth splashing out on, standard room 419 is also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Rosey16,

We are extremely pleased that you found the hotel and everything else on offer to your liking. All the staff will be extremely happy with your very kind comments, and we would like to extend our wishes to you on celebrating such a wonderful day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here over the weekend with my friend. The hotel is a bit of a trek out of York - the Taxi cost us almost £12 - not the £7 that it suggested on the website! Hotel was nice, big rooms and massive bed - was comfy and had a good sleep until rudely awakened by super noisy pipes from a nearby room (not sure if above or next to us) It was so noisy. Did not eat at the hotel other than a pizza at the bar on the friday night - took a long time to arrive but looked tasty! Bathrooms could do with being updated and although tea and coffee making facilities available a biscuit wouldn't go amiss!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. The average price of a taxi within a 3 mile radius anywhere in York would normally average at around anywhere between £10 and £12. We have a fantastic new menu on offer in our restaurant, and would kindly like to invite you to sample our cuisine on your next visit to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing