We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If creaky floors = character......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The website states the Fairfield Manor Hotel is an 18th century Georgian manor house set in its own grounds. This would explain the creaky floors. It certainly has an imposing entrance and reception but the rooms themselves are a little dated. We stayed here for a three night stay so we could visit York and chose this hotel as parking was freely available (in York it is either very expensive or just not available). Each morning we drove the short distance to the Park and Ride which was very cheap and easy to get into the centre of York without the hassle and expense of driving the car in and looking for somewhere to park. We chose not to eat in the restaurant in the evening but we did have breakfast each morning. Food was OK but the staff were somewhat disorganised and failed to check that all the food items were refreshed as they ran out. It was also an exercise in patience and persistence to get tea and toast. Having said that the stay was reasonably priced through one of the hotel search/booking websites and we would probably stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veteran75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

The hotel is certainly unique in its features and characteristics, and for that matter is one of the most popular hospitality destinations for people visiting York from all parts of the world. Thank you for your recent review, and we look forward to your return to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent Easter weekend there, the hotel and rooms are quite dated (old box TV, dated fixtures, etc.) and in need of a refresh. The rooms were clean so no complaints on that part though. It was quite pricey over the Easter period so my expectations were higher given the cost. Location wise it is outside York, but walkable, however a car is probably needed. The breakfast buffet was good, excellent selection and well stocked. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyMikeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Your feedback will be very important to us in improving our service, and we would like to thank you for taking the time in providing us with a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The rooms are a little dated, but the public areas are lovely. Great breakfast and very well situated for the park and ride into York.
For those complaining that the hotel needs a complete renovation you must need your eyes testing - seriously?T he rooms are a little dated but when staying in such a lovely city how much ime do you actually spend in your room?
Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: room 209 was fine, no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review about the hotel. Your positivity and support is really appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just got back from a one night stay at this hotel, I have to say I am glad it was only 1 night. We checked in and went to the room which was very spacious and extremely comfortable. Then we went to York, upon our return to the hotel and after getting ready for bed we noticed that the ceiling was dripping. It had been pouring with rain however there was a room above us. No one could explain the leak and so they moved us to a different room.
The lady moving us was lovely but she didn't tell us that we were moving to the other side of the hotel until we had left the 1st room. We had to walk through the hotel in our PJ's (rather embarrassing as it was a busy Saturday night) Also my daughter asked her if the hotel was haunted and the lady didn't answer her which resulted in a rather scared young girl for the rest of the night

The new room was also very small in comparison to its predecessor and it was boiling hot. The bed was small for a double and the pillows were very uncomfortable also for a double room there was only 1 towel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraceieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience you have recently had during your stay with us, but we are pleased that we were able to move you to a room which was problem free. As with all things in life, we occassionally have to deal with problems which are not in control by us, but we would like to assure you that the problem has now been rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed here in a previous trip to York and decided to return as the staff were great and the hotel in a fantastic location !!! On this trip we did have a few issues with hot water but they were addressed by the manager who I must say acted in a very profession and fair manner ..the bar staff very much made us feel welcome ... Josh is a credit to your team !!! We ate here one of our nights and found the food good for the price !! The hotel is in a fab location for using the park and ride into York .. Parking is so expensive in York centre so would highly recommend using the park and ride .... We would certainly return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated, and will be communicated to all our hard working staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and i stayed here last weekend for 2 nigths as we were going to a convention in York.
To be honest the only reason we chose this Hotel was because it accepted Tesco points.
I was very dubious about staying here as there were some recent bad reviews.
The hotel was definately very dated and needed a total refurbishment in our opinion. There was a loung area that was the nicest part of the hotel but our room was very dated. It appeared to be mostly clean but the carpet looked very grubby. We booked a double room but were given a family room with a double bed and a single. I didn't mind this as it meant i could have the double to myself and spread out (i know- very romantic!) I found the bed to be comfortable even though it felt cheap if that makes sense? My husband said there was a stain on his bed.
Our room wsa very large and had a nice view. The bath was very narrow and i think anyone over a size 10 would struggle to fit in it.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and i chose to ahve the same vegetarian option both nights as it was so nice. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and attentive. The young man on reception (Wayne) went out of his way to chase after us and tell us we were going the wrong way, he was very friendly and helpful too despite working until 1am and then being back on duty at 6am.
There was a wedding going on with a disco on the night, that we could hear in the lounge so we ended up going back to our room rather than hanging out there like we wanted to.
We would stay again but it probably would not be our first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank velvetbrownova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the comments you have provided us in your recent review. We have taken your feedback into consideration, and look to build on the positives you have mentioned in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Located just outside the outer ring road of York with easy access to the A! (except in rush hours) this hotel provides a good base for visiting towns and country houses in the area. There is plenty of car parking. Sited by a main road some rooms (though not ours) may experience traffic noise.

We stayed 3 nights with breakfast and had 2 evening meals in the restaurant. Our room was a good size with an excellent large comfortable double bed. The en suite had a bath with shower over. The fittings were worn and one tap dripped. All was clean. We found the room warm and the luxurious quilt therefore far too thick for comfort. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided as is room service (not used).

We found, with one exception (a manager), all the staff to be courteous, friendly and helpful notably Wayne on reception and Wendy and Ben in the restaurant.

We did not enjoy our evening meals in the restaurant, the menu did not suit us and the first night our vegetables had all the appearance of being re-cooked from much earlier. The wine was expensive and the white we ordered not chilled to temperature.

Breakfast was better, with a reasonable range of cold and cooked items and others (fish, poached eggs) to special order. Bacon and croissants were particularly nice while orange juice was poor (from concentrate), Hot items were regularly renewed.

We found the hotel pleasantly quiet, though it was not full during our stay and when they host partys or large groups it may be different. Overall, a convenient location and good value if you manage a deal/special offer.

Room Tip: If traffic noise worries you, request a room shielded from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charnwood-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay at York, and we are very grateful for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,140 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £58 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing