We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came to this hotel after walking out of nearby hotel the sidings as it was terrible. This hotel receptionist was very sympathetic to our previous bad experience and as it was our anniversary gave us an upgrade. The barman was also very amenable and we had a most enjoyable breakfast. There was noise from the busy road traffic but this didn't effect our stay. Thank you for rescuing us!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very commendable comments, which are thoroughly appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped here in early June 2014 for just one night.
The accommodation was good, very clean and comfortable although there had was some water staining and plaster flaking to the ceiling from a previous roof leak. The view from the windows was over the hotel grounds which were well maintained. Perhaps the only annoying feature of the room was the water supply to the bathroom as it seemed impossible to get the water temperature above "luke warm" certainly not warm enough to shave with.
The Hotel is situated some 2 miles outside the city and only about 500yds from a "Park and Ride"
facility which proved an excellent method for sight seeing in the city

Room Tip: A significant cost discount can be obtained by early booking and pre-payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbcpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, as York is indeed a beautiful place to visit, and we would like to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I will never be coming back to this hotel again and I will make sure I tell everyone I know the name and location and the issues we had. The noise from the main road was awful, even with the window shut the noise was still intolerable and then the heat in the room was awful because of this, the tea tray facilities were next to nothing and after one coffee had to ask for replacements, the bathroom was dirty and mouldy and fan location terrible for anyone over 5ft5. The TV stopped working if you tried to change channels and had to turn it off every time it froze to reset. The next morning I made a complaint (the first time I have ever done this in any hotel in my life) and the Manager seemed disinterested, smug and really not bothered that we had a bad experience. He said he would call me back after investigating and 5 days later I am still waiting. To say it ruined our weekend in York is an understatement, we left feeling deflated, irritated, let down and I felt I had wasted my breath speaking to the Manager. I was clearly right. Absolute worst hotel and overnight stay I have ever had. Massive contrast to the night before where we stayed at the Hazelwood in York Centre, £95 for the room and such a pity they were booked up on our second night and we had to stay at Fawlty Towers or as my partner called it Truckers Haven... I don't expect to hear back from this but wouldn't it be nice if someone did take notice for once and did the decent thing and respond. I won't hold my breath!!

Room Tip: Don't bother, book somewhere else - however if you do stay here make sure you're not in a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is truly disappointing to have read that certain elements of your stay were not to your desired expectation. It is our sincerest intention to correct the shortcomings you have mentioned in your review, and we would like to assure you that your comments have earnestly been taken into account, and will be reviewed as a matter of urgency. We would like to thank you for the valuable feedback you have provided us with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stopped here after a long day in the car but it was very welcome. The check in was very efficient and friendly with all the relevant points highlighted. I got room service for dinner as I had some work to catch up on but it was very good. There was a bit of noise as they had a party of travelling teenagers in that night - when they delivered the food he had the wherewithal to ask if they were too loud which was appreciated.
The room was comfortable and cosy so no complaints there. Breakfast in the morning was very good and had plenty of options.
Would return next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChapmanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to your return to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in May. The check-in staff were friendly and efficient.
The room was large and clean and appears to have been recently refurbished. The TV remote took some time to sort out and there was no information about the hotel in the room.
The bar area is small but there are plenty of other areas to sit in if required. Drinks are expensive but all hotels seem to be the same.
The only problem we had was on the last night of our stay, we had pre-booked and paid for an evening meal when making our reservation but the restaurant staff had not been made aware of this. It took a number of phone calls to sort.
The hotel is a few miles outside York but there is a Park & Ride about a mile away. There is also a Hungry Horse Pub about half mile away.
This is our fourth visit to this hotel and can recommend it .

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We would like to assure you that every effort is made to ensure that the guest experience is a seamless one, and would like to apologise for the breakdown in communication. We trust that you have enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay, and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Friendly front of house staff ,clean large room with a lovely large bed.TV remote was difficult to use as the buttons kept sticking, room hot & could not work the air con .
Gardens are in need of TLC very bland & the small non babbling brook down by the two bridges is full of litter / dirty - put some flower beds in !.
Little over priced £120 for a standard room for one night with no breakfast incl .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We would like to thank you for your comments about the quality of the service experienced, as well as the service of the staff, and look forward to your return to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found our room very comfortable (if a bit of a trek to get to!) shower was pleasant and a good temperature. TV was a little temperamental at times! There was a lack of a information pack in our room and we ended up heading to the bar at 9.50pm for some food as we had no idea what room service was on offer. However we would definitely stay again as the location was perfect and enjoyed visiting the Roko Gym which works in partnership with the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you found your stay to be a pleasant one, and look forward to your reurn to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £54 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing