We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is situated a little way from York but is very conveniently located if touring and is a relative short drive from several interesting locations such as Harrogate and Castle Howard. The rooms are very comfortable with good size beds. The restaurant is welcoming and the food good. Service was prompt and staff attentive and friendly. The towel supply was not overgenerous but was sufficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848Happilyretired848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, in addition to all the areas you have highlighted in your feedback. Our sincerest aim is to ensure that your guest journey is a memorable one, and we trust that all the other aspects of your stay was thoroughly enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    395
    188
    77
    36
See reviews for
192
539
11
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harrow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Arrival was met with a scowl but room was fine. Grounds were excellent and lobby well maintained. On the two nights there the breakfast was the let down. Whilst the staff were good, when you could find them, the food was dried out and a waste of good food. Just about acceptable. No one around at check out ! Having said that I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at our hotel. Your comments have been duly noted, and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked our wedding reception at the Mecure, 6/6/2014 which thanks to Leanne the wedding coordinator was lovely. We had over 40 guests staying at the hotel who had booked well in advance to ensure rooms were available as they were travelling from all over the country. Days prior to the wedding the Mecure rang quite a number of guests to say due to flooding of some of the rooms they were wanting to cacel their accommodation!! Most refused but my close friend was told someone had to go and basically it was them. Furious, I was informed they would sort it and make amends, but no that didn't happen. One guest was in a room with a pull down bed! My daughter in law travelling from Brighton rang the hotel to ensure the room would be ready as the 2 children needed to go straight to bed, 11.30 pm and it was not ready. I have complained to head office but they haven't even had the courtesy to reply. The wedding events side is amazing but the accomodation side is appalling, so I would certainly not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We booked well in advance but if they want to move you, or cancel your booking then it doesn't m...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about the experience you have recently had at our hotel. It is rather unfortunate that you have been inconvenienced under these circumstances, but we would like to assure you that decisions were made with no malicious intent, and in the best interest of ensuring that the comfort of the guests in question were a priority. We would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback, and would like to extend our apologies for any inconvenience you may have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wonderful hotel in beautiful parkland. Just a few minutes from a "Park &t Ride" which makes it easily accessible York City Centre. Staff very accomodating and pleasant. Breakfast was varied and scrumptious

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comments are certainly appreciated by all the staff of the hotel, and we would like to echo your sentiments that York is a beautiful place to visit. We are pleased that you found the location of the hotel to your liking, and look forward to a return visit from you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I understand York is a expensive destination however I feel this hotel is grossly overpriced.

When we arrived at the hotel it looked impressive, the gardens were well manicured and check in was quick and efficient, however it went downhill when we were allocated our 'preferred room' that looked out on to a brick wall and had no welcome gift.

Our room was large with the bathroom and wardrobe being on split-level, this was the best thing about it! The TV was tiny for a start, not what you would expect from a modern 4* hotel however this was not a huge problem, our main issue was the room appeared to be full of dust! It could clearly be seen when shining a light in the dark! All night doors in the building slamming shut waked us! The room was terribly stuffy and when we opened the window all we could hear was the road outside! Can I just add i had rang and emailed the hotel before hand stating it was a special occasion and requested a garden view room away from the noise of the road.

Breakfast was equally as disappointing with staff discussing there previous nights out! The cereals were not labelled up so my partner could not have any due to allergies, the eggs were swimming in grease, the whole room felt hot and stuffy and smelt unclean! The second morning i stuck with cold / burnt toast!

The young bar man who served us in the bar mid afternoon was very professional in his roll and we found him to be very helpful.

To summarise we would not come back to this hotel, especailly for the prices they are charging.

I feel charging £60 a night not £120 we would be much close to the mark!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are naturally disappointed by some of the obvious concerns you have listed in your feedback, and endeavour to act upon all the areas which are essential to the well being and comfort of all our guests. Thank you for providing us with your feedback, and we sincerely hope that you will be returning to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came to this hotel after walking out of nearby hotel the sidings as it was terrible. This hotel receptionist was very sympathetic to our previous bad experience and as it was our anniversary gave us an upgrade. The barman was also very amenable and we had a most enjoyable breakfast. There was noise from the busy road traffic but this didn't effect our stay. Thank you for rescuing us!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very commendable comments, which are thoroughly appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south of 65N
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped here in early June 2014 for just one night.
The accommodation was good, very clean and comfortable although there had was some water staining and plaster flaking to the ceiling from a previous roof leak. The view from the windows was over the hotel grounds which were well maintained. Perhaps the only annoying feature of the room was the water supply to the bathroom as it seemed impossible to get the water temperature above "luke warm" certainly not warm enough to shave with.
The Hotel is situated some 2 miles outside the city and only about 500yds from a "Park and Ride"
facility which proved an excellent method for sight seeing in the city

Room Tip: A significant cost discount can be obtained by early booking and pre-payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbcpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, as York is indeed a beautiful place to visit, and we would like to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing