We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, friendly staff, good nearby pub (watch out for the layby though!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having decided to stay here for a lads weekend away we were not disappointed. The hotel, whilst grand itself, was basic in facilities and nothing special. The staff were attentive and helpful and always willing to go the extra mile.

We had a room only rate so ventured the short walk down the road to The Navigation pub for meals - Hungry Horse chain and really good quality, value for money food.

One note : there is a layby very close to the hotel on the A19 - we walked back via the layby (as this is a shortcut) and despite the time being 11.30pm the layby was full. All I will say is that the vehicles were not parked having a picnic. Next time I will not be taking the shortcut. However, the hotel cannot be held to answer for that!

Last tip : On a warm weekend we found the fan in the wardrobe and this helped in the room. In winter would be really snug - on one of the few warm days we get the room was stuffy and difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the train line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the hotel. We are very grateful for your positive remarks about the staff and the facilities on offer, and would like to ensure you that the concern you have highlighted is one which is not within our control, and is currently being addressed by the local authority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CoolblondeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a ground floor room which was clean and tidy. Towels were changed daily even though we didn't need them changed.
All staff encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was extremely good and set us up for the day ahead. I am probably easy to please - two fried eggs, bacon, fried bread and beans will always get my vote.
Having said that the vegetarian sausages which my wife had were exceptional.
Staying in York? - look no further.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank DREWRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed all the culinary delights on offer, and trust that this was further enhanced by an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is located a few miles outside of York. If you have a bit of time you can follow a cycle way into the center of York. The hotel has plenty of parking and is in a quiet setting. The reception staff were pleasant and efficient. Bedroom was ok but the pillows are hard. The showers are primitive with nasty shower curtains. What really got my wife and I was the fact that there was only one towel in the bathroom!!! When we asked a maid about this she said that there was another towel in the wardrobe. Now I have stayed in many hotels of all grades but never in one where towels are kept in the wardrobe. This is obviously just an egregious and annoying wheeze by some bean-counter to save a few bucks on the laundry bill. Oh yes and the towels are hard and could do with replacing. So message to Accor. 'Big fluffy towels are not a luxury to be rationed but a basic requirement of any half-decent hotel' Got it? Another failure of this hotel is that the rooms don't have air-conditioning but you can't open the windows properly. Nanny Accor apparently doesn't trust its guests not to fall out of its windows. So poor!
Breakfast is a an okish, unimaginative buffet but why doesn't someone chop the fruit pieces to a sensible size? A transport cafe style hot buffet provides the usual elements of an English breakfast. Coffee isn't bad.
We had a night cap in the bar which was faintly dispiriting in the way hotel bars can be.
The hotel is kept very clean and the reception rooms are quite smart.
So all in all this place is low on charm and doesn't really provide the basic comforts of a basic hotel in a satisfactory fashion.

Room Tip: I suspect that this hotel might be popular with groups so I would seek a room that is away from lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the positive comments you have provided in your recent review. In addition, you have listed a few recommendations which we are happy to take into account and address, with a view to improve in the areas where we can. We would like to thank you for your review, and sincerely appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff members polite without going out of their way.

The main gripes are perhaps minor but:
1) the wifi is infuriating, and we couldn't get it to work at all on the first evening.
2) there was only one towel in the bathroom. Now I travel a lot but in a double room I cannot recall ever only having one towel. The second one was apparently in a plastic bag in the top of the wardrobe behind a door that wouldn't open
3) a query about how we could get some laundry done seemed to come as a complete surprise much as if I had asked how I could get my spaceship serviced. I can handle that they don't have a guest laundry on site, however I would have expected a hotel in this chain and at this price to have a standing arrangement with a laundry and know prices, times etc. We were originally told that they would give us a number but we would have to ring it ourself. Another receptionist did ring the number for us but there was no answer. Really not good enough.
4) last might we tried to ring reception about 11pm and there was no answer.
5) and a minor point but on the first morning at breakfast we were left quite sometime without coffee or toast

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. Needless to say, the concerns which you have raised have been looked into, and we would like to assure you that they will be addressed. Your feedback is extremely vital to us in ensuring that we attain the highest levels of service, and trust that all the other aspects of your stay was satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is located near to the city centre, 10 min walk to park and ride then a further 10/15 mins on a bus (depending on traffic) the grounds are loverly. we stayed for two nights, the first night being a friends wedding ceromony. The wedding room was done out nice and the bar staff that serve us throughout the day was very polite and addressed you as sir or madem which was a nice touch. the wedding breakfast was good but the soup starter was a bit bland but nothing a bit of salt and pepper didnt fix so it wasnt an issue.
The room that we ate in was really nice :-)
The room was quite big and the bed was HUGE and very comfortable, I thought I had lost my girlfriend half way through the night.The room was hot but the outside temerature was in the twenty's so it was expected, there was a fan to help cool things down, if that wasn't there then it would of been a different review.
I would recommend staying here and I would use this hotel again. :-)

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room overlooking the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and the very kind comments you have provided regarding the hotel and it's facilities. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us, and would like to thank you for your kind recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked this for location and due to work commitments didn't arrive until 10pm. Receptionist not very welcoming and gave us very little information which resulted in my having to go back and ask for information. Room was comfy and clean and we both slept well. Grounds of hotel looked quite nice with plenty of areas to suit and relax. Breakfast was very disappointing, quite expensive for the range available. No skimmed milk, small choice of fruits but cooked breakfast looked ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We would like to thank you for complimenting the size and cleanliness of the bedroom and the facilities of the hotel in general. Additionally, we would like to thank you for bringing our incomplete welcome to our attention, and look forward to your return to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,127 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £58 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing