We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired rooms let down overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in a large family room. The room was sparsely furnished, the kettle had a crack in it which allowed water to leak out onto the plug and the water pressure in the shower was intermittent. This let down an otherwise positive experience at the hotel - we thought the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. We didn't think the quality of the room was consistent with the higher standard of other Mercure's we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floating_goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, and for a very honest assessment of your time in our hotel. We appreciate the lovely feedback regarding the service of the staff, as well as the quality of the food provided, and would like to assure you that the concerns which you have raised, have been addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I've had quite a bit of time on my hands after booking this room and finding that the title York is very misleading. During that time I've read the other reviews of this place and seen that the manager has simply referred any negative comments onto more positive reviews and has failed to address any of the problems raised by precious guests so with that in mind I would suggest to any future guests you will probably find the same issues. Firstly the service of Zoe and Jordan cannot be faulted- I feel really sorry for then working in a place which is so under resources that it is practically falling down around their ears- my advice to them would be to go and find an establishment which is actually properly maintained so you don't have to put up with complaints from customers. A brief overview- don't be fooled by the fancy facade and nice lobby- the rooms are disgusting. Don't be fooled by positive reviews either- I would say they were written by people who had a car and briefly stopped here, being at the mercy of public transport requiring a 15 minute walk before you even get to the park and ride to even pick up a bottle of water has allowed me to see a lot I may not have noticed.
The first room we were given 424 stank of mould but with the window open was bearable- just. The bathroom is old- the fittings are appalling and the room flooded due to shower position and the employment of a really wet rank shower curtain. The room was very large but the tv was laughable- a 20 inch in the corner that you couldn't even view from the bed. Seriously mercure- why scrimp on something like that- there is very little price difference these days between TVs of small and large sizes and the tv in the room was better suited to a small child's set in a tiny bedroom. After three nights in this too floor room which required walking up several flights if steep stairs- no lift as heritage listed the rain overnight meant the room must have suffered some kind of leak as after a day out we returned and I just about vomited with the overpowering stench of mould. Thankfully we were moved to room 419- again with a disgusting bathroom which stank but at least not so mouldy. This room too had it's problems- the beds were rock hard and very uncomfortable- the sheets and duvets were too small for the bed meaning your feet stuck out at the end and the last 30cms were slept in a mattress protector. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was in the shower section and it was seriously filthy- I don't think it had been cleaned for years, there was dust an inch thick. The plumbing in both rooms was appalling- no water pressure. The toilet barely flushed and when it did it ran for ages after.
Housekeeping in this place is appalling. I actually don't think they use cleaning products in the bathrooms- just wipe down with a sponge as there was never the smell of cleaner- just damp mildew and mould from the shower curtains. In the 6 days here not once did I see anyone vacuum either room- probably can't be bothered lugging the vacuum up the flights of stairs and this was very noticeable by the grit and grime underfoot on the carpets in each of the rooms. Another gripe is the lack of a fridge- if you don't have transport and can't afford to back exorbitant prices for in hotel dining then you are stuck literally eating pot noodles or crisps for dinner. The rooms were hot and the only temperature control was an archaic desk fan looking like a relic from the 70s. Every morning the pipes were so loud it was like and explosion and the noise of people banging doors is unbelievable. I actually think the building is very unsafe, particularly the top rooms as there is only one access point- in a fire you would have no chance and with the poor maintenance and provision of ancient fans and dust covered exhaust fans combined with obviously very poor building maintenance I wouldn't be surprised if the chance if an electrical fire weren't higher than most.
Overall I have stayed in plenty of backpackers which were cleaner and better maintained than this- one last note-- I had to traipse round york looking to buy pillows as the ones provided were rock hard and when I enquiries at reception if they had softer pillows I was advised they were all the same- cleanliness, comfort and convenience are all seriously lacking in this hotel - and management has clearly not taken any feedback on board about ways to improve- like the ridiculous cost cutting measure of hiding the towel in the cupboard or the shameful tiny supplies of tea and coffee in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gwenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Whilst we certainly appreciate feedback, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the hotel to discuss the matter further, as we deem it unfair to discuss any issues on this platform. We would nevertheless like to thank you for your feedback and for your recent custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a friends birthday. Room was an end room and was HUGE has tea and coffee in rooms and tv which we used for the radio. Also free wifi. Beds were very comfy and the man on the desk (wayne) very helpful and accomadating.
There is easy access to york centre by short bus journey for a very good price on a return ticket and bus stops just outside the hotel. There is also a hungry horse eatery in walking distance with amazing prices and superb food. Also has a huge play area there for kids.
Overall a very pleasant stay thank you :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank dandazmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, and for your wonderful comments about our staff. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the spacious advantages of one of our bedrooms, and would like to thank you for taking the time in writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd visit to this hotel for a 2 night stay this time, after a one night stop over 2 years ago.

Breakfasts are buffet style and a decent choice, with coffee/tea and toast offered as you come in.

We didn't dine there in the evening, but the bar was efficiently served, and reasonably priced.

This hotel is outside of York, however the city is only a 10 minute drive away, with the designer outlet park and ride close by too.

Would recommend the Fairfield Manor hotel, and will definitely try and stay there again next time we visit York for a atop over.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. It is always pleasing when positive reviews are received, and we would like to thank you for writing such a kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at this Hotel and from the moment we walked into Reception on 31 July until we left on 2 August we had top class service. Each and every member of staff we spoke to were courteous and willing to help. Breakfast was great with everything you could possibly want. The room we stayed in was spotless clean although the furniture was a little tired but clean white bedding on a comfy bed well that is the main thing I look for. Bathroom again spotless with lots of clean soft white towels. My husband me and the grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed our stay so I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Your wonderful comments will certainly be shared with all the staff of the hotel. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for sharing the experience on this website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Reception and lounges good. Rooms are basic and matteresses need replacing. Toiletries, teas and coffee in room supplies were minimal. Breakfast average. Bar prices expensive £8.40 for a large glass of wine and £4 for a large coke. No ac in rooms but efficient fans are provided. Receptionist very helpful organising taxis, ironing board and giving directions to avoid York's horrendous traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback and for taking the time in writing a review. Like any business, we are constantly reviewing our prices and competitive offering to our guests, and would like to assure you that we offer a plethora of drinks which are very competitively priced. Hitherto, we have invested a significat amount of funds in the majority of our bedrooms, and trust that you will enjoy the benefits and advantages of these upgrades with your next stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Arrival everything seemed ok pleasant staff nice setting... Out of town but only about 3 miles ish. Free and ample parking.

Aircon didn't work (thermostat set to 15) room was like a blast furnace. Couldn't open the window due to generator or something causing a lot of noise. So it was a sweaty night.
Morning shower resulted in flooding the bathroom due to the shower head squirting in all angles and I just thought it was lack of pressure.
Breakfast... Small but ample choice was offered tea and toast I'd still be waiting now for it as it never arrived in the 25 mins I had breakfast.


Shocked at the hotel since I've stayed in at least 10 of the Le Accor brand and have been highly impressed with them. Shan't be staying here next time.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank D11EVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. It is naturally disappointing that certain areas which you have highlighted were not satisfactory, and have been considered for immediate address. We would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: £59 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing