We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruswarp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chainbridge Riverside Retreats
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed in the hollyhock cottage with my boyfriend and baby.It was the perfect location, so peaceful and relaxing.The steam train passing by was a wonderful site.There is plenty to do,like fishing,canoeing and feeding the ducks. They also have their very own mini railway which my son loved!The cottage was spotless and cosy and was home from home.We will deinately be returning with all 5 kids in tow as I know they will love it.Well done Neil and Jeanette!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just back from spending a relaxing and chilling out week staying in the Boat Loft. What can I say - it deserves more than 5*, absolutely superb accommodation! They have thought of everything, added bonus was exclusive use of the hot-tub on the riverside just behind the boat loft. Beutiful setting, you are in your own little haven here. A great place for a romantic weekend or if you want to relax and chill out . Would thoroughly recommend the Boat Loft to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank findhorn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed there recently for a couple of nights for the wifes birthday, only wish it could have been longer.
We stayed in the Jasmine cottage which was well equipped spacious and spotlessly clean.This is a great location for exploring North Yorkshire or if you wish relax in the beautiful surroundings of Chainbridge and watch the Steam train go by.Whitby is a short journey away by car or hop on the train the station is a few minutes walk away.We will be staying again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricard885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and 2 year old. She loved the ducks and geese visiting the back door every morning! So quiet and peaceful, lovely clean well kept apartment, comfy beds, all the kitchen equipment you need (but don't forget to take your own teabags!).
Great location too, we went boating round the corner, miniture railway across the road, softplay we didn't try, local pub for tea and only a very short (3 min) drive to Whitby. Definitly go back and definietly recomment for a short break.

Room Tip: Very openplan inside, so if you're travelling with more than one couple, make sure you know them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarlyle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I previously reviewed these cottages Sept. 2010 and awarded 2/5 back then. I gladly give 5/5 now! My good experience this time started before even starting the holiday. I telephoned the owners (under different ownership than previous) and stated I wanted 4 cottages for a family get together. Jeanette was most helpful and gave me the end 4 cottages so we could be together, even though one was far bigger than we needed. A thoughtful touch.
Upon arrival each cottage was immaculately presented and it was obvious that a major upgrade had occurred. The setting of all the Retreats is superb, directly on the bank of the Esk. Each cottage is very well decorated and furnished, with all essentials. The showers are hot and powerful, the beds comfy with good bedlinen, the 32inch Sony T.V has FreeSat HD, excellent Cental Heating with up to 30 degree thermostat!
If you want a little of the good life with peace and quiet and great surroundings, if you like steam trains, wildlife, and the best fish and chips in the world, then you should stay here.

Room Tip: The Boat Loft is the Ultimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tadleyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here in Jasmine Cottage back in October 2011. Our newborn son was 3 months old, and we also had a daft springer spaniel just over a year old, and we wanted somewhere nice and quiet away from all the hustle and bustle of the town.

Our cottage was immaculate, clean and spacous, with a lovely view of the River Esk and the railway, providing an ideal spot to wave to the steam trains going by! Wildlife in abundance, and we even got sunshine!

With family being from Whitby we needed no introduction, but they provide each cottage with plenty of local information including handy numbers for local doctors etc.

Lovely family owned properties, we had such a nice welcome from all.

Our only 'complaint' was that the bed was a double and not a kingsize. My hubby being over 6 foot 2 he struggled to get comfy during the stay, but we were assured this is being looked into, and they are replacing doubles for kingsizes soon. So that is good enough for us!
Will definately be back, and have recommended to family and friends - although on two occasions they have been fully booked - but this just proves our recommendation was spot on!

Room Tip: Jasmine Cottage is the first cottage in the row (apart from Boat Loft which is set out on its own) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_LALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

These cottages were taken over by new management in early 2011 and Neil & Jeanette have really pulled the stops out to make these exclusive contemporay and comfortable with new furnishings & fittings. It is located on the river bank of the River Esk facing south and and there is abundant wild life. On the opposite bank is the rail line for the steam locomotives from Grosmont to Whitby which is fabulous. There are a selection of cottages for varying numbers and we stayed in the Boat Loft which accoommodates one couple in an open plan layout with private bathroom. There is a shower & lovely deep bath so take candles and lots of bath products. There is a DVD player and free Wi-Fi. It is very peacefull & private . They provide slippers, bathrobes and plastic glasses for thee jaccuzi. Every thing is immaculate and very clean. It takes about 40 mins to walk into Whitby. A taxi into Whitby costs £6. We had a fantastic stay and would highly reccomend this for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank renshaw_gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chainbridge Riverside Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Riverside Retreats

Address: The Carrs, Ruswarp, Whitby YO21 1RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Ruswarp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ruswarp
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and secluded site, with seven cottages, is located on the River Esk at Ruswarp, adjacent to the North Yorkshire Moors National Park an area of outstanding natural beauty.Only two miles from the historic fishing port of Whitby and a 60 minute drive to the lovely city of York.Tucked away next to the river and on our private grounds, are Chainbridge Riverside Retreats.Take time out with your family or friends to enjoy this peaceful lifestyle.Wildlife abounds, nature is on your doorstep, you can feed the ducks and swans, watch the fish jump and catch a glimpse of the kingfisher.We invite you to share a genuinely relaxing way of life. Calm prevails.Also on site our own miniature steam railway and cafe, Ruswarp Riverside Cafe (both seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chainbridge Riverside Retreats Hotel Ruswarp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing