We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruswarp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chainbridge Riverside Retreats
Reviewed 4 April 2013

we spent the easter break here in the jasmine cottage and had a fantastic time. The cottage was very clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the river from our window. We could sit and watch the wildlife as we ate our breakfast. We had a 6 year old and a 3 year old with us and they loved the place there is a little steam train which is run by neil one of the owners of the property.lots of information in the cottage for ideas of what to do and see. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners and nothing seemed too much trouble. Jeanett and Neil do deserve to do well. We will definitley be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at The Boat Loft, can only say "we want to go back and stay but for longer". Idyllic setting in superb surroundings. Five star accomodation and truly feel like we have actually had a break. Facilities are second to none and the hot tub was just perfection !! Furnished to the highest standard and spotlessly clean. The owners have definitely done justice to this place.

Room Tip: The Boat Loft has the added facility of the hot tub outdoors in its own setting/grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We booked the Boat Loft for a three night stay when our usual choice of accommodation in Robin Hood's Bay was unavailable and what a good choice it was. The Boat Loft offers accommodation over two floors but it is basically a studio apartment. It is tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The king sized bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a long time. We have often found that the seating in holiday rentals can be very uncomfortable but the reclining sofas in the Boat Loft were very relaxing. There is private use of a large hot tub just outside and we made full use of this during our stay- wonderful! We have stayed in accommodation with hot tubs before and this was definitely the biggest. It had enough room for six. It didn't seem like all the other cottages were occupied and it was very quiet. This is a lovely location, right by the river. It must be glorious in the summer. The only gripe I would have is the limited toiletries provided in the bathroom. I would have expected more than a Lidl hand wash. We have visited a number of rentals of this quality and have always been provided with a reasonable selection of toiletries. However, this is a minor point and I would not hesitate to recommend the Boat Loft for a relaxing stay.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shawlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

If you are looking for an idyllic setting, outstanding, clean and superb accommodation, you cannot afford to pass this opportunity up. The hosts Jeanette and Neil are superb, nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation caters for the most discerning guests and leaves you wanting for nothing. The only downfall is the geese who are an unruly bunch!!! Truly a haven of tranquility and for those who enjoy running the views are superb. We stayed in the Boat Loft, accommodation for two and the setting and surroundings are magical. We will definitely be staying again and an added bonus the hot tub. Thanks for a superb weekend xx

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Returned today from a four day short break spent in Honeysuckel Cottage.
A lovely spot that is peaceful with lovely views of the river and wildlife but just close enough to the huslte and bustle of Whitby for when you want to visit.
A lovely clean, well laid out cottage with great friendly hosts who are always happy to help.
The cafe bar with the garden onto the river is a perfect spot to watch the world go by and a little jewel in the crown.
A dog friendly place - we had our own dog with us and in the cottages either side they also had a dog with them so it was a really friendly neighbourhood for us all.
I can't say enough good stuff about this lovely little spot - well worth a visit and very much worth the money.
If I had any critisism it would be about the fishing. Whilst there are three private fishing spots at Chainbridge they are not in very good condition unfortunately, in fact they are actually quite dangerous and the small hire boats can be a pain. However with proper fishing platforms the hire boats would be able to see you fishing which would make it much easier and more enjoyable.
That doesn't mean we didn't have a good time, we certainly did and would be happy to go back to this lovely little part of the world, however good fishing would definately make me go for longer!
Thanks to Neil & Jeanette for making us so welcome and I'm sure we will be back.
Kevin & Sheila Huggins + Mollydog.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheilaHuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We've just returned from a week at "Hollyhock" - one of seven cottages that form part of Chainbridge Riverside Retreats. The location was lovely - next to the river and a cafe, with a tiny narrow gauge railway behind and a big railway (complete with steam trains!) in front.
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable, and we would certainly return. There are, however, a few things which could be done to make it even better - it needs a cabinet in the bathroom for example, and there's no space to store any food in the kitchen (we ended up storing packets, jars etc in a bedroom!). An extra cupboard there would be useful. It's also missing a cheese grater!

If you have young children, be aware that the gardens are communal and not secure, so keep an eye on them. Also, the stairs up to the mezzanine sleeping area are VERY steep and narrow, so perhaps unsuitable for older people, young children, pregnant women etc.

All that said, this is still a lovely place to stay.

Ruswarp is a great little village with plenty to do - boats and canoes for hire, an excellent soft play centre (Mini Monsterz), a little petting farm, a tiny steam train, plus a riverside pub and a couple of small shops. Whitby is only a couple of miles away, though if you're driving you need to get there early if you want a parking space!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Foodielexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearson17, Owner at Chainbridge Riverside Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Since we took over the cottages 18 months ago we have been continually refurbishing and upgrading them.
The kitchen in Hollyhock is being renewed next month and this will provide extra cupboard space.
There is a baby gate on the stairs to stop young children climbing up and there are bunk beds downstairs to accommodate young children.
Since we took over the cottages, we have put up fences on the riverside to make the gardens as safe as communal gardens can be.
I am glad you enjoyed our miniature steam railway and our newly opened onsite cafe on the riverside.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here Jan 2012 and we were in the Clematis Cottage.... We had a lovely peaceful break, the cottage was spotless with everything you need it just felt like home..There is a small pub a few minutes walk along with a shop and butchers also the train station opposite the pub where you can get the train into Whitby which take less then 5 minutes...Wish we stayed longer...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganspicex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chainbridge Riverside Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Riverside Retreats

Address: The Carrs, Ruswarp, Whitby YO21 1RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Ruswarp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ruswarp
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and secluded site, with seven cottages, is located on the River Esk at Ruswarp, adjacent to the North Yorkshire Moors National Park an area of outstanding natural beauty.Only two miles from the historic fishing port of Whitby and a 60 minute drive to the lovely city of York.Tucked away next to the river and on our private grounds, are Chainbridge Riverside Retreats.Take time out with your family or friends to enjoy this peaceful lifestyle.Wildlife abounds, nature is on your doorstep, you can feed the ducks and swans, watch the fish jump and catch a glimpse of the kingfisher.We invite you to share a genuinely relaxing way of life. Calm prevails.Also on site our own miniature steam railway and cafe, Ruswarp Riverside Cafe (both seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chainbridge Riverside Retreats Hotel Ruswarp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing