We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique lovely holiday home.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ruswarp, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicky N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“saved by location”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As stated in other reviews, fantastic if you are a steam train fan, obviously why people book. Hated the spiral staircase, freezer compartment in fridge was not efficient. There is only 1 window that opens, this is in the form of a sky light in the bedroom area, which, unless you are 6ft plus [ which we are not] you have to take a chair upstairs and stand on it in order to open the window. The water in the shower was usually cold, at best, luke warm. There is a switch downstairs to turn on landing light, but no switch upstairs. The bed was difficult to get in and out of, like sleeping in a cupboard. Parking can be awkward, when we arrived, our space was being used by people from Station House next door, took a while to find drivers for cars to be moved. We would not return, left on Friday afternoon, so did not encounter 'silent' cleaners.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham W
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Saved by it's location.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I'm a massive (6'5") rail fan and selected this cottage largely cos of this. The location is fantastic. The downstairs of the property is nice but retains little of the original detail. The spiral stair looks OK but is not great for a big man.
Upstairs.........Well, no pics I notice.
The bed....Very comfy when you can get in but rubbish covers. We swapped around so that we could get in/out easily.
The bathroom....No room for me to get clean after the loo. Power points upstairs impossible.
Obviously done on the cheap. Next door is massive and some room should have been given to the Ticket Office.
Ms Jones the owner was cold on the phone (they have 5 properties) Cleaning staff turn up early of the Saturday leaving day and don't speak.
Totall unsuitable for elderly/disabled folk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: trains
Liked least: Upstairs. Bet the owner has never stayed here.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A unique lovely holiday home.”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The ticket office gives a beautiful glimpse into the past. The accommodation has been cleverly created in the old ticket office on Ruswarp station platform on the North Esk Railway line.
The ticket office is accurately described by the owner, it is small but has all a couple need to enjoy a break in a lovely unusual location.
The accommodation is very well equipped, it has a real flame gas fire and electric radiators so despite the freezing weather outside we were warm and cozy.
The sleeping quarters have been created in the roof space, headroom is an issue but it works fine, the small shower is piping hot, the small double bed can only be accessed from one side so it is necessary to disturb the person nearest to the opening if the other person needs to get up in the night.a sense of humour helps!
There is a designated parking space, regrettably this was initially not available to us as the people renting the attached station house had denied access by parking in front of it, this was soon addressed without problem.
All in all the ticket office was a great base for our short break, we loved seeing the trains going past the window, the accommodation was equipped to a high standard and although being very small was quaint and fun.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Royston
Reviewed 7 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Zealand
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rotherham
Reviewed 28 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing