We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun time”

Ruswarp Pleasure Boats
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ruswarp
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“fun time”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

my son asked me to go canoeing with him while I was on a visit - as an older person I was somewhat concerned but had a wonderful time and will do it again next visit. what fun it was and reasonably priced. The river is calm and slow flowing so no real currents to worry about, lovely scenery and not deep if you did fall out. life jackets were provided. Rowing boats are available in different sizes for those not wanting to us a canoe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boring and Noisy”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Thought this would be a good way to spend a few hours with the family, I was wrong!! We stayed on for around 40 minutes and we were bored. There was works going on too which were very loud. All in all it was not very nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Dangerous”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I went here with the grandchildren on a recent holiday in Whitby. The river and its surroundings are beautiful and Ruswarp itself is a quaint little village. We went on two rowing boats. It worked out a little expensive as we were charged per person and not per boat. Unfortunately there had been a lot of rain and the river was running very fast. Once we started rowing we found that we couldn't get the boat to move because of the undercurrents. We decided that it was too risky to go any further and went back to shore. The owner would not refund us our money even though we had only been on the boat for less than five minutes and it was dangerous for us to stay on the river. I was very disappointed with his attitude and found him rude and obnoxious. This is such a shame as we may have returned when the conditions were better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Take a rowing boat out on the River Esk you will not be dissappointed an hour of peace and tranqulity.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise189149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Messing about on the River”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A great way to spend a sunny afternoon, rowing along the river. Dont forget the awesome pies from Jackson the butcher at the bottom of Ruswarp Bank.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank City-Sights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruswarp Pleasure Boats also viewed

 

Been to Ruswarp Pleasure Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing