We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream Holiday Home!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ruswarp, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hazel613
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dream Holiday Home!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Waterloo Cottage Annexe is an absolute wonderful dream of a cottage! We travelled from Cheshire by train alighting at Ruswarp (Or Russop! As we were told it was pronounced by the locals) Station just across the river which was short walk over the bridge to the cottage - fantastic!
The cottage had everything! Everything you could possibly need was there, and everything was of a very high standard. It was beautifully clean, and decorated in a pleasant and peaceful manner. We were amazed when we entered to discover that it was like The Tardis of Dr. Who! It appeared small and neat from the outside, but inside it was very large. The lounge is large enough to accommodate large round dining table and four very comfy dining chairs as well as two comfy sofas one which converts to the extra bed.
There is an extra bonus of a conservatory with comfortable chairs and a table where we ate our breakfast every day enabling us to watch wildlife or the occasional canoeists.
It was wonderful seeing the Kingfishers glinting in the sun and the ducks were fun to watch as they made a bee-line across to the cottage every time you walked out on the garden or patio expecting a feed! There were lovely easy walks into Whitby from the cottage and were easy enough for us two oldies (75 & 85) to enjoy! There was a choice of buses from Whitby up and down the coast.
All in all, it was a wonderful holiday in a wonderful cottage and also, for which we were grateful - Wonderful weather! Although I think we would have enjoyed ourselves just as much anyway in such delightful surroundings!
A very big 'Thank you!' to Nicola and Dave for making us so very welcome and also Jill who kept the place pristine!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davetaylo...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Loved it"”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I visited this cottage with my 6 year old daughter and apart from a couple of niggling things enjoyed every minute. It's position is fantastic, garden is lovely and the cottage itself is well equipped and an excellent place to explore North Yorkshire from. The steam trains can be seen across the river and the river itself has many ducks, swans, cormorants plus a seal apparently. My daughter loved feeding the ducks every morning and night, there is no fence between the garden and the river but this is noted in the details but I think it would spoil the garden doing this so just have to keep an eye on youngsters as it is a steep drop. Ruswarp itself is lovely, we have been to North Yorkshire many times but not here before, the steam train from Goathland to Whitby is as good as ever, plenty to entertain children with Monks Farm and Playdale being particular favourites for my daughter. We visited the new aqua park in Scarborough, slides aren't really suitable for young children but worth a visit but expect it to be expensive with parking and extra charges if you stay over 4 hours. The niggling things were the TV volume shot up and down depending which channel you were watching plus it would have been nice to have some control over the heating.....being next to a river and the week was mixed so first thing in the morning my daughter said she was cold but apart from that it was brilliant and I would fully recommend it......we have already booked for next year so I had better start collecting that bread for the ducks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Never have I found such a gem of a cottage. It was so well equipped, comfy and wwelcoming I almost cried on leaving. The wildlife was amazing,sitting in bed watching the kingfisher darting up the river was a real bonus. The log burner was fantastic at this time of year, the welcome pack of logs, wine and chocolates was a lovely touch. Can't wait to book again,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Parking on the grass at this time of year was muddy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajorWood...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“absolutely blissful”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

absolutely blissful. ideal for Whitby Scarborough Pickering, Sleights in fact anywhere on this stretch of coast.the setting is beautiful right on the very shores of the Esk with sheep fields opposite and ducks and ravens in the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frostyrob...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a find, its a dream of a place. Lovely comfortable cottage with views to die for. It is set right on the river bank, when you are inside you feel as thoughyou are on a boat. The garden is part of the river bank fenced off, where you can sit and watch the great wild life, we saw the seal every day and herons , swans etc. Ruswarp is a lovely village with a good food pub which is dog friendly.On the other side of the river is a footpath which is one and a half miles to whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position of the cottage
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rotherham
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing