We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, relaxing place to stay”
Review of A l'Ombre Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A l'Ombre Bleue
Ranked #1 of 1 Mittainville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed with Catherine at A l'Ombre Bleu for three nights in November. The room we had was beautiful, the bed large and comfortable. Catherine goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. She has decorated the rooms with incredible attention to detail, lots of pretty touches, lovely pictures on the walls, all sorts of books on the shelves. Catherine is a delightful host, kind and fun! We had dinner twice with her, once with her family who were visiting. Her cooking is superb and generous and when we went to Versailles for the day she made us a delicious picnic lunch with fantastic bread, salmon, cheese, duck rillettes, fruit and the most delicious chocolate dessert. A l'Ombre Bleu is quiet, private and incredibly relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoTravellers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

In a very quiet location, right by the side of a park with a lovely pond where ducks gather, is the a l'ombre bleue.
Carherine, the landlady, will welcome you with a drink in the large garden.
Clearly, Catherine is one of those people who do her job for pleasure and enjoys it.
She decorated all the large rooms and the house with vintage French farmlands items that my grandmother would have been using in her youth. The attention to detail is incredible, everywhere you look, you discover something new.
Her cooking is also fantastic and she will adapt the menu to your particular taste, she even cooked a pie with the fruits my mom brought from her garden.
Everything from the bread to the steaks are top quality; she sources all of her ingredients from neighbouring farmers, organic butchers... and her cooking beats the vast majority of the restaurants (she gives cooking classes).
The room's fridge is filled with water, juices and beers at no charge.
She does not just 'go the extra mile', she sets new standards !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Katherine has created a quiet retreat away from the noise and stress of the city. Not far from the great forests is a small hamlet with Katherine's fine cottages. Her table de hotes and traditional cuisine with good company around the table is a wonderful way to relax and enjoy the countryside.
The rooms are cosy, romantic and whimsical.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Superb as ever- i have been lucky enough to have stayed here many times over the past few years and each time is a different delight. I have been able to bring and introduce my family and friends into '' Catherine's wonderful world.'' The rooms are an insight into the world of Chic design and the food is just....... sublime every time . A world of Kaleidoscope colours of the individually mixed Aperitifs onto gorgeous yummy fantastic food- all tastes are catered for - my vegetarian daughter was spoilt for choice of dishes .
Catherine and son, Jerome, who we met for the first time this year, are totally entertaining and enthralling company for all of us...........how did midnight come so fast? Thank You Catherine and i do hope to book my next trip to you soon .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine46100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed with Catherine overnight on the first day of our holiday. We had a lovely reception from her and also earlier from her friends in the village when we were looking for the house! We shared a wonderful convivial evening meal around the table in the farmhouse kitchen with Catherine and the other guests. From aperitives to a marvellous oozy chocolate cake, everything was brilliant. We will certainly revisit, especially if I can't make that cake as Catherine does!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquelinesjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have stayed here several times as an overnight accommodation and we are never disappointed. Caterine is a wonderful hostess and nothing is too much trouble for her in fact she goes out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The room we stayed in was fantastic with good views over the lake and decorated in her own unique style. Caterine is an excellent cook and on each visit we always enjoy her meals including apertifs, hor d'hourves, wine. Our younger daughter is always catered for even if it means she has to cook a separate meal for her, which we greatly appreciate.
Our stay this year was even more exceptional in that we were included in a birthday party for her friends together with other guests, her son Jerome and his girlfriend who went out of their way to make us welcome, as our french is very limited.
Breakfast is always good with freshly made orange juice, home-made jams etc and she will always ensure there is plenty to eat even offering us to take foodstuffs for our onward journey.
We have stayed several times here and will always return when ever we are in France.
Thank you Caterine

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was better than a boutique hotel and nothing like a B&B in England. The accommodation was 5 star, uniquely decorated with great flair, comfort and luxury. My husband and I occupied one of the 2 ground floor rooms which was chic, and well thought out. My sister occupied the 1st floor, which had a single bed and a day bed, and a little table and chairs and a doll's pram etc for children, but done in our hostess's unique style. The 3 rooms were served by an entrance room with fridge and bar, again decorated and accessorised with shabby chic/antique/unusual bits and pieces by our hostess Caterine, a woman of great taste. We had our evening meal and breakfast with her in her dining/kitchen in the main house, with other guests. The food was exceptional, and she managed to make a delicious meal that also catered for my husband, who is vegetarian. We sat down at 8pm and were the first to retire, reluctantly at 11 30pm , before the other guests, as we had an early start next day. Excellent value 4 course evening meal including aperatifs and wine . The atmosphere was great and we felt at home and comfortable. Breakfast followed the next day and was just as generous and delicious. We shall visit Caterine again as she was the perfect hostess, and with her little bit of English and our little bit of French, and the other guests little bits of English and Italian, we all managed to talk and laugh with each other round her table. A lovely, unique and very enjoyable end to our holiday in France.Thank you Caterine. Evelynne and Sydney Forrester

Room Tip: All equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evensyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittainville
6.0 mi away
Le Castel Maintenon
Le Castel Maintenon
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
283 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
14.3 mi away
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cernay-la-Ville
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mercure Rambouillet
Mercure Rambouillet
#1 of 5 in Rambouillet
427 reviews
17.4 mi away
Les Chambres de Beynes
4.7 mi away
Le Colombier de Hanches
Le Colombier de Hanches
#1 of 1 in Hanches
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Ombre Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Ombre Bleue

Address: 22 rue de la Mare, 78125 Mittainville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Mittainville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mittainville
Price Range: £92 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 hour from the heart of Paris and 30 minutes from Chartres, the Ombre Bleue is a charming B&B having 3 rooms fully equipped one of which is a private little house named literally in English: "The Little House Above the Clouds." This old farm possesses a flowered tree climbing on its main wall and a nice little garden full of different types of roses. The hostess cooks and serves some delicious French cuisine cooked either in her hearth or in her old Godin cooker. For those who want to remain connected with the external world, the home has a wireless internet plus a computer free of use. A magic place close to the nature, ideal to have a few days break! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A l'Ombre Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing