We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A l'Ombre Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A l'Ombre Bleue
Ranked #1 of 1 Mittainville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A haven from the bland tyranny of minimalism! Everywhere you look there is something interesting to see, to read or to wonder at even if it is only the beautiful hand-painted frieze in la Chambres des Muses. It would be impossible to be bored here.
There is everything you need in the fridge and no disgusting instant coffee- Catherine has provided a proper coffee machine. What luxury for a non tea drinker.
Catherine is so wonderfully welcoming that we instantly felt at home and loved.
Her breakfasts were excellent and so relaxing, a perfect start to the day and her dinners a delight, the company superb and the food delicious.
We bought some Creme de Rose on the way home and toasted you last night Catherine.
Thank you for a perfect few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
59
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for just one night at Catherine's beautiful chambre d'hote. We wish we had known how lovely it was as we would have stayed longer.
The setting is beautiful, with a lovely enclosed garden and a green with a duck pond just outside.
The family room was perfect for the four of us; really it's a two room apartment, with a sofa bed in the living room and a delightful bedroom upstairs with a view over the pond.

We had dinner with Catherine and two other guests, and her cooking class was there too, so it was a very sociable evening.

We were in no rush to leave the next day and had a lovely walk from the door up into the woods. Catherine was a great hostess and made sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

A wonderful welcome. Super room. So many facilities (fridge of soft drinks, to which were added beers for me), coffee making facilities, snacks/nibbles. Incredible dinner beginning with aperitifs, many courses, good wine. I took myself off to bed some three hours later after coffee. Friendly proprietress (Catherine) who couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0ldDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed with Catherine at A l'Ombre Bleu for three nights in November. The room we had was beautiful, the bed large and comfortable. Catherine goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. She has decorated the rooms with incredible attention to detail, lots of pretty touches, lovely pictures on the walls, all sorts of books on the shelves. Catherine is a delightful host, kind and fun! We had dinner twice with her, once with her family who were visiting. Her cooking is superb and generous and when we went to Versailles for the day she made us a delicious picnic lunch with fantastic bread, salmon, cheese, duck rillettes, fruit and the most delicious chocolate dessert. A l'Ombre Bleu is quiet, private and incredibly relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

In a very quiet location, right by the side of a park with a lovely pond where ducks gather, is the a l'ombre bleue.
Carherine, the landlady, will welcome you with a drink in the large garden.
Clearly, Catherine is one of those people who do her job for pleasure and enjoys it.
She decorated all the large rooms and the house with vintage French farmlands items that my grandmother would have been using in her youth. The attention to detail is incredible, everywhere you look, you discover something new.
Her cooking is also fantastic and she will adapt the menu to your particular taste, she even cooked a pie with the fruits my mom brought from her garden.
Everything from the bread to the steaks are top quality; she sources all of her ingredients from neighbouring farmers, organic butchers... and her cooking beats the vast majority of the restaurants (she gives cooking classes).
The room's fridge is filled with water, juices and beers at no charge.
She does not just 'go the extra mile', she sets new standards !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Katherine has created a quiet retreat away from the noise and stress of the city. Not far from the great forests is a small hamlet with Katherine's fine cottages. Her table de hotes and traditional cuisine with good company around the table is a wonderful way to relax and enjoy the countryside.
The rooms are cosy, romantic and whimsical.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Superb as ever- i have been lucky enough to have stayed here many times over the past few years and each time is a different delight. I have been able to bring and introduce my family and friends into '' Catherine's wonderful world.'' The rooms are an insight into the world of Chic design and the food is just....... sublime every time . A world of Kaleidoscope colours of the individually mixed Aperitifs onto gorgeous yummy fantastic food- all tastes are catered for - my vegetarian daughter was spoilt for choice of dishes .
Catherine and son, Jerome, who we met for the first time this year, are totally entertaining and enthralling company for all of us...........how did midnight come so fast? Thank You Catherine and i do hope to book my next trip to you soon .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine46100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittainville
5.1 mi away
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
Le Castel Maintenon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maintenon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Rambouillet
Mercure Rambouillet
#1 of 5 in Rambouillet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
14.3 mi away
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cernay-la-Ville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Le Manoir De Sauvegrain
Le Manoir De Sauvegrain
#1 of 2 in Saint-Lambert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Grange de la Guesle
La Grange de la Guesle
#1 of 1 in Hermeray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
17.4 mi away
Les Chambres de Beynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Ombre Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Ombre Bleue

Property: A l'Ombre Bleue
Address: 22 rue de la Mare, 78125 Mittainville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Mittainville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mittainville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 hour from the heart of Paris and 30 minutes from Chartres, the Ombre Bleue is a charming B&B having 3 rooms fully equipped one of which is a private little house named literally in English: "The Little House Above the Clouds." This old farm possesses a flowered tree climbing on its main wall and a nice little garden full of different types of roses. The hostess cooks and serves some delicious French cuisine cooked either in her hearth or in her old Godin cooker. For those who want to remain connected with the external world, the home has a wireless internet plus a computer free of use. A magic place close to the nature, ideal to have a few days break! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your A l'Ombre Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing