We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Calm and Relaxing"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Balapitiya Beach
Reviewed 14 July 2012

A good break from the busy schedule. Our stay was in the 2 bedroom Villa. Nalinda, the host was friendly and polite. The food was good and tasty. The place was clean and tidy. The dampening factor was the bad weather in the night, that made us a bit uncomfortable with no power and the A/C not functioning that made our sleep a bit restless. Otherwise it is a nice and calm place to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmain s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

I just needed an escape from my professional life wich awefully drained my energy. you know what i mean. although Sri Lanka is best to chill allround, i didn't think much about a special place, just found Villa Balapitya with a good package. from the begenning the communication and customer support was simply amazing which i think more important. my host and the Managing director Mr Nalinda was so easygoing and was so helpfull with tips and advices which saved a lot of my time. about the place, the Villa was spacious and equipped with all modern facilities and tidy allround, so quiet and peacefull which i needed,food is fresh and great here, tried some local food too, spicy and delicous, the beach is just in front of the Villa across the main road to Galle, this sandy beach is tidy and not much crouded ideal if you need undisturbed, felt like myprivate beach. it was a good base for me i could travel so easily to many of the attractions, the Sea turtle sanctuary was great, i also took the boat trip of "Madu" river was amazing, great scenery, birds, fishermen, trees ideal for nature photography. hired a scooter from villa, and was so fun to ride around and people are friendly and helpful,relaxed here, spent a quality time and would love to be there soon.Highly recommended to anyone who needs a good place to relax . and thanks Nalinda..

Room Tip: The beach is not crouded if you like undisturbed,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It was a great time we had at Villa Balapitiya Beach and the host Nalinda was friendly and helpful from the time of confirmation to the time we checked out. We occupied the A/C room and it was equipped with a TV and a DVD player. The apartment has a fully equipped kitchen area and a balcony with a hammock, which was great for afternoon/evening relaxing with the sea breeze coning through the coconut garden towards the front.

There is a natural pool at the beach which is great for kids - even though the rest of the area is rocky. The food supplied was great and Nalinda was prompt to check everything beforehand and prepare the meals according to what we liked.

It was a really good place to have a break and relax with my family and I think it would be a great place for friends and even couples.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asanka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I spent 2 nights here in a 2 bedroomed apartment which was an annexe of the main Colonial Dutch house dating back to 1901. Wonderful and spacious, both bedrooms were spotlessly clean with ceiling fans and T.V. One bedroom also had A/C. The living/kitchen area was also very spacious with a huge outside balcony with chairs and a hammock overlooking the large garden and some views of the sea. We ordered breakfast each day, which was brought upto our room by Nalinda and his family.... nothing was too much trouble for them!! And what a breakfast! Full English, as I've been away from home for so long and fancied a treat! We also had a wonderful meal one night, cooked by their chef.... delicious. Nalinda also organised a wonderful 2 hour boat ride for us on the Balapitiya River. 2500 rupees each and highly recommended. A great guesthouse...I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judypoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelmicimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Вита Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank horsthausleitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balapitiya hotels
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
0.7 mi away
The River House
The River House
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
188 reviews
0 mi away
Leelawathi Beach Guest House
Leelawathi Beach Guest House
#8 of 11 in Balapitiya
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sheen Home Stay
Sheen Home Stay
#4 of 11 in Balapitiya
9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Calamansi Cove Villas by Jetwing
0.4 mi away
Michelle Boutique Hotel
Michelle Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Balapitiya
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Balapitiya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Balapitiya Beach

Address: 517 Galle Road | Walagedara, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Balapitiya
Price Range: £67 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 year old mansion built in 1901 according to Dutch Architecture now open for guests tastefully blend its original colonial outlook with modern amenities. Guests do have choice between either of its two apartments depending on their individual needs and preferences and for the larger groups can reserve the whole villa able to accommodate up to 10 guests at a time ideal for family /friends reunion. Throughout the year the weather is sunny and warm. The sea is delight all of its own; calm, clear, and ideal for swimming, diving or snorkeling. Trademark natural rock pool is paradise for kids swim and play. Sweet water lagoons and the Maadu river with their amazing flora and fauna are making Villa Balapitiya Beach also attractive for ECO tourists and bird watchers. A great destination for those who are looking for the "real Sri Lanka", away from the main-stream tourist resorts. Here, amidst the splendour of nature and the opulence of modernity, "Villa Balapitiya Beach" extends the warm welcome to a traditional Sri Lankan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Balapitiya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Balapitiya Beach Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing