We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet hide-away from the hustle and bustle”
Review of Roman Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Balapitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice quiet hide-away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

A very nice small boutique hotel with all comforts and facilities. Very tastefully done. Excellent staff who provide great personalised service.

The location and the surroundings lend itself to a very relaxing holiday.

Located on the banks of Maduganga (a river in Southern Sri Lanka) amid lush greenery, the hotel blends itself very well in to the natural surroundings.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    21
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was first trip down the southern free to Balapitiya and the first highway with a Toll charge in Sri Lankan. Travelling takes around 45 minutes from the Kottawa entry to the Ambalangoda exit and to Balapitiya our destinations for two nights.When we arrived at the door ( a huge door like entering the kings palace) was opened by the gardner. We were warmly greeted with a fresh welcome drink by the whole team at Roman Lake Including the GM Chamara, the Two Ex chefs Mangala & the chef on site Upu & the rest of the guysl. As it was just past 1PM it was time for lunch & the chef inquired and made the a traditional Sri lankan rice & curry which was excellent.The rooms were huge and beyond my expectation. A large Bedroom with all the facilities a your own balcony over looking the lake (Madu)& an open dbl spa on the balcony. We all fell in love with the room which was our home for the next two days.Chef Upul took our diner order of our liking with out any hesitation. Chef Upul's cooking was excellent food for thought.On the 2nd day we were dinning by the river with a small fire works display for the party of six of us. As my daughter had traveled to sri lanka after 11 years said this was amazing & cool.Chef Upul also ordered a Pot of freshly made curd (made out of Buffalo milk) to take to colombo. Over all excellent service from the GM to the Gardner & the waiting staff and the chick at reception. All staff from the local area. A quite place to relax & unwind all all the luxurious at your feet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Roman lake is under rated property. It offers some of the best rooms i have stayed in along time. The food & service and excellent. The staff is very accommodating.
I have had the best rice and meal at Roman Lake. The property is ideal to chill out or a super place to get together with a few families

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, hence you got to experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
252 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Roman Lake hotel in Balapitiya is a wonderful get away place. It is located in the Balapitiya wetland, classified under the Ramsar Convention. One of the pristine mangroves in Sri Lanka where there are more than hundred islets.
The rooms are quite comfortable, facing the mangroves with a large balcony. Kept very clean. Service is exceptionally good. Food is quite good though there is no much varieties or choice. There is no bar. There is a large well kept lawn up to the lake side where there is a wooden pier, where one can relax for hours. A variety of birds can be found like orioles, barbets, Cormorants, Green pigeons King fishers, Minivets and so on.
There is a boat service which one can avail for couple of hours to see around the mangroves and enjoy the "fish foot massage" where one can sit on a wooden plank with legs dipped in to the lake water to feel hundreds of fish swarming and nipping the toes....
Nice place> we will visit again.

Room Tip: Take the room facing the lake with the open jaccuzi - Claudius
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Roman Lake is a beautiful extension of the Roman family... amazing location overlooking the Madu Ganga. Peaceful and very relaxing ambience with warm and curteous staff who are very helpful and quite an asset. Thusitha and Asela who served and attended deserve special mention. The rooms are very comfortable and tastfully decorated... A great place to unwind and destress.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have a good view of the lake, pier and temple at a distance... gives one a peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I can't say enough about what a beautifully laid out place this is.the rooms are gorgeous and absolutely comfortable..our toilet was lovely, an open sky shower!!! We couldn't get enough of the soothing aroma of cinnamon oil vapour ....so relaxing. Chef Mangala and Thushara went to great lengths to get us a bottle to take home. I highly recommend a boat ride on the madu ganga and the fish spa experience....you won't regret it.Thushara truly did everything possible to meet our every need and it was wonderful that the head chef Mangala, inspite of overlooking 2 hotels, found the time to speak to us and ensure all our dining needs were met. It was a truly wonderful holiday.my only concern was that in the event the hotel is fully booked, would the dining room staff be able to cope as we felt they were shorthanded. Other than that , it's a pretty much faultless setting. A true slice of paradise!!!! Keep up the wonderful standard!

Room Tip: Although we stayed in one of the upstairs jacuzzi rooms I think the rooms downstairs are also equall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Nicely built hotel, bordering the Madu River. 1st floor rooms are provided with Jacuzzi Bath in the balcony, and it is good for a romantic bath. We booked a ground floor room and it's upgraded in to a room in the 1st floor. Thanks for that nice gift! Nice pool for a relaxing swim. Room is equipped with all required amenities.
Attentive staff provides cozy environment in each moment. No words about food, chef got talent for the Sri Lankan menu. Outdoor setting for dinner/lunch was great. Boat ride was arranged by the hotel in the Madu river upon our request. This was an awesome experience in Balapitiya.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rasikacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
0.7 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
2.5 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
117 reviews
23.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Lake Hotel

Property: Roman Lake Hotel
Address: Godagedara, Pathegama Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Balapitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROMAN LAKE - Balapitiya. The luxury, the comforts and the elegance this place offers is nothing short of a premium boutique hotel by any standards and sets it way above the rest. Very elegantly designed by a famous architect to capture the essence of the location by cleverly blending into the environment with all the luxuries that one could think of and yet again tastefully aging this brand-new hotel to have a ’ look & feel’ of the passing of time. In essence this place is a ‘shabby-chic’ wonder! Set in a picturesque location over-looking the waters of Maduganga estuary which is famous for its mangroves and many endemic flora & fauna, is probably the best place for you to have a tranquil deep relaxing holiday of your life. This place is ideal for you to spend your special moments such as your Honeymoon or Anniversary or to simply get away from the stresses of city life & rejuvenate in the lap of luxury. Having a candle lit dinner on the floating platoon with millions of stars to illuminate the night sky or at dusk to simply immerse yourself in the open air Jacuzzi almost touching the tree tops of the engulfing rain forests and to stare at the waters or the distant flickering lights coming off the many crab traps laid by the fisherman, is simply a magical experience and the memories you would no-doubt will savor through your entire life time. The closest town Balapitiya ( 1 km) is a small fishing hamlet nestled between the famous Bantota and Hikkaduwa on the southern coast of Sri Lanka is famous for its world renowned Ceylon cinnamon and fishing. ROMAN LAKE would be an ideal base for you to explore Bentota, Hikkaduwa and Galle the better known tourist destinations in Sri Lanka which is just half hour's drive away. This Boutique Hotel offers 8 (5 Emperor + 3 Caesar) very spacious elegantly furnished rooms each with equally large Bath rooms some open to the sky line. Each room offers a large sit out/ balcony facing the lake, flat screen TV, IPod doc with speakers, vast selection In- House movies and Song Data Base and free Internet. The 5 Emperor rooms all located in the first floor each has a private open air Jacuzzi bath over-looking the lake as an additional feature. And the 3 Caesar rooms are on the Ground Floor with a large private sit-out. At the Roman Chain we take food very seriously. Keeping in line with the opulence and indulgence that was once famous during the period of Roman Empire we offer a large variety of cuisine with authentic flavors. Our chef takes pride not only satisfying your taste buds, for him presentation is a passion and a work of art. Hence we have no doubt that your memories of Roman Lake would be mostly coupled with the food experience that you will encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roman Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Lake Hotel Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing