We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just incredible - staff are wonderful”
Review of Roman Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Balapitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Was reluctant even to write the review as I wanted to keep this hotel to myself, but with only 8 rooms it's never going to be overrun. To be honest the location is remote and difficult to find. Balipitaya is a typical small town and an undeveloped beach. There is little or nothing to do, walk to the local temple or a lagoon ride that's about it, but if your looking for peach and tranquility after a hectic trip this is a great place. Rooms are new , clean , good AC, TV , good pillows , really nice. Superior rooms have an outside bath with jets, and hot water, they are clean and very useable unlike many which are often cold or dirty. This is a great little hotel next to the lake for wildlife it's amazing, we watched monkeys, birds of paradise, mongoose, monitor lizards, eagle , kingfisher all from the sun bed of the spotless infinity pool. Great staff, great value. Loved it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SnowdropLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

100% recommend this hotel. It is am amazing little retreat overlooking the lake. All staff are extremely nice and make you feel very comfortable. Rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable. It was amazing feeding the monkeys from our balcony and enjoying the hot tub in the evenings. The food was a little pricey but very nice. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Sri Lanka and can't speak anymore highly of it. We hope it wins he award from trip advisor for 2014 as well.

Room Tip: Emperor room is really nice. We stayed in Augustus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We have been travellig a lot around Sri Lanka and tried lots of different hotels, both high-end and budget and this was by far the best one! We didnt want to leave!! The staff was super friendly and very attentive, the location is fantastic and the food was great. It was one of the modt relaxibg places we been to. we also enjoyed the wild life around the hotel. Every morning there were lots of monkeys in the trees around the hotel. Already planning to go back next time we are in sri lanka.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank amariaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived at the Roman Lake on 3rd January for 3 nights. From the moment we walked through the front door and were greeted by the spectacular view that opened up in front of us, we were speechless.
And it only got better from there.
This Hotel was designed by a professional Architect and it shows, every little detail in the style and design of the building was exceptional. We were given a ground floor room named Julius. Inside it was just beautiful. The room had 12 foot high ceilings, a set of French doors opened onto our own patio with views of the gardens and lake beyond.
The best bit was seeing the bathroom...........incredible. To say it was large would be understating a fact. the same high ceiling as the bedroom, but the best part was in front of the amazing shower and the toilet. The room was open to an outside space which was your own small walled garden. Taking a shower looking up at Blue skies of star studded skies was fantastic.
When you arrive at the Roman Lake you are assigned your own waiter who looks after all you needs at every meal. We were fortunate to get Ishan who looked after us perfectly, we could not have asked for more from him. He even went out on his bike to re-stock our beer and wine needs while we were out on a boat trip around the lake. (This is the one thing you need to be aware of, because of the Hotels close location to a Temple they are not allowed an alcohol licence. A 5 minute Tuk Tuk ride gets you to a local wine shop were you can purchase what you need, and the Hotel will keep it in their fridge or you can use the small fridge in your room. A bottle of wine is 4000 Rupees and beer 400 Rupees per bottle)
While at the Hotel we both celebrated birthdays. My partners being a milestone one. The Hotel provided a lovely Birthday cake and a few fireworks that were compliments of the Management. We ate on that evening at the end of the pier on the lake which was a perfect spot for the occasion.
Lastly I have to say how impressive the food was here. Both the never ending Breakfast and the evening 3 course meal. The local Sri Lankan dishes were beautiful.
To finish I will add that this is without doubt one of the very best hotels I have been fortunate to stay in over my lifetime. I do hope I get an opportunity to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: They are all outstanding rooms so you do not need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveJPMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just got back from a wonderful holiday at Roman Lake.
The boutique hotel is designed cleverly ensuring that there is a view of the lake from most rooms. The suites on the upper floor are absolutely luxurious while the only room we saw in the ground floor(next to reception) was lovely too.

The view is phenomenal and you can stare at the lake for hours as it's simply breathtaking.

The service is good, although I must say that there is room for improvement.

We felt that the food was average for such an excellent place, so I guess it would be good if the management looks into this aspect!

The Spaghetti served for dinner was nothing to write home about and we were not offered fruit/dessert after breakfast which is quite standard in a boutique hotel. No tea and coffee either :(

We will definitely visit again soon as the place is stunning, and if the quality of the food improves it will definitely among the top boutique hotels in the country!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Oshani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hospitality by the staff was excellent. We were greeted by the staff with welcome drinks in the roman style lobby overlooking the pool and the lake. The rooms were highly hygienic and clean adding to the private jacuzzi. Food was excellent and dinner was prepared at a location we chose, on a jetty. The service and hospitality was unmatched to that of any other hotels I've been to in Sri Lanka. Arranges tour of the lake to visit small islands nearby via speed boat. Provides with a fish massage which was a totally new experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank n4xmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

i keep going back and forth whether to recommend this place to a friend cause I would not want to ruin the sanctity of this place by screaming it out to the world.

Roman Lake is indeed a gem. This hotel is a dream and ideal destination. Spacious rooms, huge balconies with attached Jacuzzi, huge bathrooms, fantastic restaurant, awesome ambiance and very dedicated and friendly caretakers.

I am glad this place is hidden and thats the beauty of this place. it is hidden away from the noise pollution and the craziness the real world has to offer. I slept well after a really long time. I ate well after months. I rested. I could not have done that anywhere else.

i will keep coming back. I will.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
2.5 mi away
The River House
The River House
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Michelle Boutique Hotel
Michelle Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Balapitiya
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Calamansi Cove Villas by Jetwing
12.9 mi away
Roman Beach
Roman Beach
#1 of 199 in Hikkaduwa
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Lake Hotel

Address: Godagedara, Pathegama Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Balapitiya
Price Range: £93 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROMAN LAKE - Balapitiya. The luxury, the comforts and the elegance this place offers is nothing short of a premium boutique hotel by any standards and sets it way above the rest. Very elegantly designed by a famous architect to capture the essence of the location by cleverly blending into the environment with all the luxuries that one could think of and yet again tastefully aging this brand-new hotel to have a ’ look & feel’ of the passing of time. In essence this place is a ‘shabby-chic’ wonder! Set in a picturesque location over-looking the waters of Maduganga estuary which is famous for its mangroves and many endemic flora & fauna, is probably the best place for you to have a tranquil deep relaxing holiday of your life. This place is ideal for you to spend your special moments such as your Honeymoon or Anniversary or to simply get away from the stresses of city life & rejuvenate in the lap of luxury. Having a candle lit dinner on the floating platoon with millions of stars to illuminate the night sky or at dusk to simply immerse yourself in the open air Jacuzzi almost touching the tree tops of the engulfing rain forests and to stare at the waters or the distant flickering lights coming off the many crab traps laid by the fisherman, is simply a magical experience and the memories you would no-doubt will savor through your entire life time. The closest town Balapitiya ( 1 km) is a small fishing hamlet nestled between the famous Bantota and Hikkaduwa on the southern coast of Sri Lanka is famous for its world renowned Ceylon cinnamon and fishing. ROMAN LAKE would be an ideal base for you to explore Bentota, Hikkaduwa and Galle the better known tourist destinations in Sri Lanka which is just half hour's drive away. This Boutique Hotel offers 8 (5 Emperor + 3 Caesar) very spacious elegantly furnished rooms each with equally large Bath rooms some open to the sky line. Each room offers a large sit out/ balcony facing the lake, flat screen TV, IPod doc with speakers, vast selection In- House movies and Song Data Base and free Internet. The 5 Emperor rooms all located in the first floor each has a private open air Jacuzzi bath over-looking the lake as an additional feature. And the 3 Caesar rooms are on the Ground Floor with a large private sit-out. At the Roman Chain we take food very seriously. Keeping in line with the opulence and indulgence that was once famous during the period of Roman Empire we offer a large variety of cuisine with authentic flavors. Our chef takes pride not only satisfying your taste buds, for him presentation is a passion and a work of art. Hence we have no doubt that your memories of Roman Lake would be mostly coupled with the food experience that you will encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roman Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Lake Hotel Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing