We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad property to choose with poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Michelle Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I am currently staying in this hotel and am forced to write this review to prevent others from getting cheated.

Rooms, balconies, corridoors, staircases, all flooded with water, toilet seats blocked, electricity problems, internet down, tv channels not available due to non-payment of dues, chaos everywhere, jacuzzi/toilets without hot water, compulsory shift of rooms due to floods in the room, no quilts, rain showers with low water pressure, no space for accommodating drivers, ac non-friendly rooms, badly designed toilet flooring, rooms full of architectural problems!

This is all I have paid such a huge sum for. Staff is helpless and unable to resolve these problems and the MD/manager seems to be too busy and happy with the money already in his bank account as the full payment was made in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank varun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjaka D, Owner at Michelle Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

It is with deep shock and regret I read the two negative reviews posted by two guests from the same family, currently staying with us.
At the outset I wish to state with responsibility most of the allegations and adverse comments made by theses two guests are false and
highly exaggerated.

Last morning the southern coastal belt of Sri Lanka experienced extreme cyclonic weather conditions effecting many parts including Balapitiya.
It is a fact that two of our suites had rainwater beating in with the heavy wind experienced. We were prompt in taking immediate remedial measures
to ensure the comfort of our guests who were inconvenienced and they are they are happily continuing their stay with us.

I do not wish to go into detail and embarrass these valued guests of ours but just to have the record straight, after having invested US$ 5 million on this
small property, we are not going to default our cable TV dues and compromise on standards. It is hilarious as to how he came to the conclusion that some
of our satellite channels have been disconnected due to nonpayment of dues. Any sensible person would know at once that it is fabricated and if that was the case we would not have had access to 22 channels which we have always had, in addition to the Blu Ray Home theatre system provided in every single suite with a movie library. His grouse was non availability of five Indian channels they requested in addition to the Indian channels we already have.

They claim to have paid an exorbitant price for their stay at ‘Michelle’ but I would like to emphasize on the fact, that they were lucky to get a 40% promotional discount which he has deliberately not mentioned. We have had several Indian guests staying with us who have been extremely satisfied with the overall standards of the property and these false allegations would certainly not be an obstacle
to our journey. Michelle is a place for those who know and appreciate simple but refine living.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

I used to live in Thailand...so I am spoiled by thailand hotel quality. Since I started travelling in Sri Lanka, I was disappointed multiple times.

But Michelle boutique hotel is outstanding facility. There are not many review about this property, so I was a little worried what I was going to get. But after 8 hrs of driving from Nuwara Eliya, WOW...the minute my family walked into the lobby. everybody says simply WOW !!

Fantastic view from our room, lobby, restaurant.

I stay at infinite suite which is huge room 150 square meters with private pool. So If you are travelling with kids, this room gives you some space.

Hotel has only 16 rooms. I guess now is low season with rough ocean. Not so many guests staying in this week. So I feel like I own the whole property.

Restaurant menu is not extensive, but chef makes exquisite food. There's no children's menu, but if you order anything for your child, they will make.

Many tourist attraction nearby...we went to turtle research center, river rafting, moonstone mine, mask museum etc.

Hotel just opened 6 months ago, so brand new....that's very important in Sri Lanka. Most hotels are still quite funky but Michelle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elmama4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you want to relax, enjoy the stunning view, listen to the wonderful sound of the waves of the Indian ocean, and enjoy a really superb service this is the place.
This is a small boutique hotel with all the facilities of a true 5 star resort, offering privacy, amazing view, superb service.
We stayed with my wife for 3 nights and simply enjoyed every minute of our stay. It is not a cheap or bargain place to stay, but we got rewarded by the total relaxation that the hotel offers.
The service is simply excellent. The staff is so professional and nice that when we left we felt that we left behind some good friends that served us with such an exceptional manner.
The food and the menu is very good overall, having a chef with with an ability of creation and execution of a variety of local and international recipes that could cover all tastes. The food prices are very reasonable for the hotel standards. It has a short but exceptional wine list from the best wine producing countries around the globe. The prices of wine are a bit expensive, as it is everywhere in Sri Lanka.
The hotel has also an almost private beach next to it. If there was a negative point, was that we could not swim at the beach because the sea during August was quite rough and it was quite dangerous to enter. The hotel also provides a certified lifeguard that would be likely to join you at the beach and have an eye upon you.
We wish we can visit again this wonderful resort.
Thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetrosHalkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at Michelle Boutique hotel on 18/05/2013 with our three kids i(ncluding a seven months old infant) and I must say our stay was memorable.

The views were stunning , all rooms having amazing breathtaking views of the indian ocean,beautifully decorated in white giving you the impression of purity with openness, vastness and spaciousness. The modern interior decor with the "shell and the sea " theme is well presented and you could see the amazing lightings in the night confirms it. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms with attic where kids can sleep. The Floor area is massive with a double bed downstairs and two singles in the attic where there is LCD TV with all the satellite channels, tea ,coffee making facilities, and there is a divan you could rest.bath room is massive with a rain shower.The other rooms had their own plunge pools and baths etc.every room has a lovely balcony with a view to kill for where you can have even a romantic dinner under the starry night.
They provide us with a free baby cot and waived off the charges for my four year old eventhough we stayed full board and their child policy was breached.
Our two sons enjoyed the large pool to the maximum.
Food was very delicious and very well presnted and all the staff were very couteous with genuine hospitality. They wanted to make us happy and our stay memorable . We sincerely thank Mr.Ranjuka de Mel,and all his team for their wonderful service and we will love to come back! One little suggestion is that you could add some closet space.

Room Tip: All the rooms have stunning views, but try Rose petal although we didn't due to kids needing spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TWODOCS_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We arrived at Michelle for two nights and because it was so difficult to leave we landed up coming back for another two at the end of our trip. The hotel is truly amazing with beautiful rooms and unbelievable views! As has been mentioned by other guests the staff could not have been more amazing and absolutely nothing was too much of a problem for them! The food was made with love and care and the chef was more than willing to deliciously accommodate any special requests. What we loved the most about Michele was it's size, with it's 16 rooms making you feel truly special in a boutique surrounding. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Rose Petal rooms are amazing! Specifically room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdvaLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms are well appointed and the view from the rooms is stunning. The staff bent backwards to make this holiday a memorable experience. The Executive Chef bent backwards to meet our strict requirement of vegetarian food I have had five or six holidays in Sri Lanka in the last 15 years and this was undoubtedly the best holiday we have had.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajanS988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed at the Michelle Boutique Hotel during their pre-opening, and I have to say what a great concept, the Hotel appears very bright and open spaced, the view is stunning and its located direct on the Indian Ocean, it’s easy to find and they have ample space for parking. The rooms are well appointed. Pre-openings are used to refine the operations to a level which makes you feel at home and with every pre-opening there are some minor tweaks which are well taken care of by the GM and his team.

Thank you for having me and I definitely will return and recommend the same to my friends..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Horst1659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
1.9 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
10.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,536 reviews
12.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelle Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelle Boutique Hotel

Address: 432 Galle Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Price Range: £77 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michelle Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelle is the latest addition to the high end Boutique hotel collection in the country and is a true star in the making. Nestled amongst palm fringed surroundings on the golden sandy beach with a spectacular view of the horizon, It certainly is a hideout for those who seek absolute peace, tranquility and ultra modern comfort.Michelle will enchant you with its exquisitely designed maze of stunning suites refined by the extravagance of the matchless ocean view and manicured gardens. Its sixteen luxuriously styled suites with contemporary finishes, premium facilities and separate lounge / living are an indulgent `new’ to her mind and body concept which stands to reason why “Michelle” is passionately committed to allure her guests to the finest in decadent hospitality. One could reach the hotel in one hour along the southern Expressway from the Kottawa entry point in Colombo.The primary objective of Michelle is to provide good value for money "In a home away from home" setting and make dream holidays a reality. Indulge in barefoot luxury in a world of your own, the tranquil atmosphere, with luxurious comforts that will pamper you to an infinity holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelle Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelle Boutique Hotel Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing